Tags

, ,

This October my husband and I loaded up the Suburban and packed up our RV travel trailer and hit the road, this time driving cross country to the desert southwest. I’m sharing my favorite pictures on my blog this week, so be sure to visit daily to see some amazing sites! Today we’re on the road headed west.

Road Trip 2014: From East to West

IMG_7504

Early morning in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. I love the “corner” cloud!

IMG_7557

I-64 in West Virginia

IMG_7620

A horse farm visible from I-64 in Kentucky

IMG_7673

Indiana skyscape over I-64

IMG_7685

Illinois farm visible from I-64

IMG_7697

Illinois sunset

IMG_7734

Crossing the Mississipi River into St. Louis, Missouri

IMG_7787

You just don’t see these like you used to.

IMG_7984

Folks, this is a grainery–one of many–in Kansas. We’re farmers and have seen plenty, but nothing on this scale. The capacity here is unfathomable.

IMG_7996

A broken windmill visible from I-70 in Kansas.

IMG_8071

Wide-open Kansas and the makings of a storm that nearly blew us off the road.

IMG_8086

The approach of a weather front in Kansas. You’re looking west down I-70 and the front is approaching from the north.

IMG_8104

When this front hit us, the digital temperature readout on my vehicle dropped 20 degrees almost instantly. Traffic that had been going 70mph slowed to a crawl as the  midday sky turned black and sudden wind gusts hit us broadside and nearly knocked us off the road. Fortunately it was a short lived event that resulted in…

IMG_8129

Gorgeous rainbow after a freak Kansas storm. It was actually a double rainbow, but the second one didn’t show up in the pictures.

IMG_8133

Another shot of the rainbow with the storm behind it.

IMG_8190Colorado sunset. Next up, the stunning snow-covered peaks of Vail bathed in early morning light. Be sure to come back tomorrow for that and much more!