Tags

, , ,

This book was INSANELY good. Before I tell you how good, let me just say it’s totally okay with me if you leave my blog RIGHT NOW to go to the buy links. Two reasons. (You’re still here? Mkay). First, the book is only 99 cents for a limited time. Second, because it is THAT DARN GOOD. Because…

My Review

OH EM GEE. Ms. Reid just shot to the top of my auto-buy list. Phillipa Pippiwell may be the ice queen, but all that cold turns to blistering HAWT steam when the delicious Anthony Thornton gets his hands in all the right places. The writing here is exquisite–and I don’t mean overwritten, but with each word beautifully placed on the page. The plot is fresh and original, with definite twists on the usual scenarios of the era making for a truly exciting read. I found I held my breath more than once. I tensed. I happy-sighed. And yes, I swooned. The big moment at the end was amazeballs and I don’t want to spoil it for anyone, so I’ll just say my breath caught and I wanted to yell at a bunch of parlor-dwellers and my heart broke…THEN THE THING HAPPENED and I’m pretty sure a bug flew in my eye or something because I *may have cried* and ERMAGERD was it ever beautiful. I’m hooked, Ms. Reid. Freaking HOOKED. Amazing work.

ARC received in trade for an honest review…then I bought the book anyway. So there.

The Irresistible Miss Peppiwell

With a longing for adventure, the last thing Phillipa Peppiwell wants is to marry. After a painful betrayal by a man she trusted, she is wary when she unwittingly catches the attention of roguishly handsome – and sinfully tempting – Lord Anthony Thornton. Forbidden desires she secretly yearns for threaten to crumble her icy facade and reveal a past scandal best kept buried.

Dissatisfied with his empty life, Lord Anthony seeks a deep and lasting connection… and finds himself intrigued by the Ice Maiden of the haute monde. Undaunted by Phillipa’s aloof nature and her distaste for the idea of matrimony, he sets out to thaw the bewitching beauty by enticing her with adventures of the most sensual type. But he, too, hides a scandalous secret… and if it’s discovered it could rip them apart.

Title: The Irresistible Miss Peppiwell
Author: Stacy Reid
Genre: Historical Romance
Length: 231 pages
Release Date: August 11, 2014
ISBN: 978-1-63375-049-4
Imprint: Scandalous