Tags

, , , , , ,

Please welcome author and dear friend Charmaine Gordon, who seriously has one amazing backstory. If you don’t follow her blog I highly recommend you do so, for she shares heartwarming slices of her own life and some truly interesting anecdotes about the celebrities with whom she has worked. She also writes a unique, oft-overlooked genre…and for more on that – as well as for the details of her giveaway – you’ll have to read on. Welcome, Charmaine!

Say No CVR AReCharmaine Gordon

Once upon a time, long ago when dinosaurs roamed the earth, I was a little girl who planned to tap dance my way to fame. Fate stepped in because girls were supposed to be good daughters, good wives and good mothers. I did all the expected things except what I secretly wanted to do. Years passed. I married my high school sweetie, became an Air Force wife, raised a batch of kids and acted in community theater. Ultimately, we left service life and moved to NY. A professional actor suggested I go to the city, learn the crafts of television, movie and commercial acting so I did. Before long I was a small fish in a large pond with all three unions to my credit. Finally in my mid years I had a career.

What does this have to do with writing? Hmm. A lot. While reading a zillion scripts and learning dialogue and setting, I absorbed the written words of fine playwrights. When my voice failed I quit show business and decided to write a book. Got super lucky to hook up with Vanilla Heart Publishing four years ago and now eleven published stories later, I’m an author with a platform and a following.

Great things happen when you least expect it. To Be Continued, my first novel published by Vanilla Heart Publishing attracted the attention of a production company. They offered an option for a television movie. My first Happy Dance and I didn’t need tap shoes for this one.

Last year I wrote a long/short story titled Instant Grandpa. Instead of writing The End, I typed The Beginning. . .Not The End. The story with sexy seniors called for more as if they said to me, “It’s not over ‘til it’s over, we’re just beginning.” Since then I’ve written five more long/short stories, each one a stand-alone available in eformat or paperback in two volumes.

One of my favorite’s is She Didn’t Say No.

Say No CVR AReBlurb:

Grace didn’t say no to the Big Man On Campus, Scott Dwyer. And then her life changed… Years later, a too-close encounter of an unpleasant kind with a skunk and Scott’s German Shepherd reunites the former lovers. What happens in between are their stories of beginnings and endings and love lost, then found.

The story begins in 1960 and takes the reader right up to today. Grace is a nineteen year old virgin in college. A short excerpt from an innocent time:

We went to Nyack about a half hour north of school and parked at the hiking section. “There’s a small beach a little way up over some boulders. The Hudson River is darn cold right now but beautiful.” He gave me another half grin, grabbed a blanket from the trunk and we climbed a short way.

Goose bumps rose on my arms from the breeze blowing across the water. No jacket and I’m shaking. What an impression to make on this guy. And suddenly Scott wrapped his arms and the blanket around us and we were all alone. Body heat warmed and overwhelmed me with a yearning I’d never experienced before.

“Better?” His voice had deepened. He rubbed my arms.

“Yes. Much better. I should’ve worn a jacket.”

The kiss, tentative at first, made me tingle all over. I’d never had a boyfriend before. This feeling was new to me. Too busy being the obedient daughter appeasing my parents demands on  time to experiment at being a kid, a teenager. So here I am at nineteen not knowing what to do with a first kiss, for God sake.

“Well, uh hi Scott. You’re a um, good kisser.”

Laughing, he hugged me tight. “Only good? I can do better than that.” This time the kiss curled my socks and knocked me for a loop.

 ***

Charmaine -10 sATURATED_pp8x10g-72yThanks for inviting me to be your guest, Sarah. We’ve been friends for a few years and watched each other grow as writers.

An ecopy to a commenter who spills the beans about her ambition before writing or reading. Let me hear from you, my friends.

http://www.amazon.com/She-Didnt-Say-Beginning-Not/dp/0615959865

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00I1MRP9S

https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-shedidn039tsayno-1404960-149.html

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/400933

http://youtu.be/fdBbIVdBXXo