Tags

, , , ,

The Writing Process Blog Tour offers an opportunity for readers to get to know more what goes on behind the scenes while us authors headdesk our way to creating our respective masterpieces. (Okay, so I’m facing a deadline…I’m guessing not everyone is headdesking right now, LOL.) If you want a very scary look at my process, you’re in the right spot. If you’d rather run screaming in the opposite direction, well, that’s your cue. Still with me? Let’s get started.

1) What am I working on?

I am currently finishing up book three in the Sins of Salem series of historical romance novels available from Entangled Scandalous. It’s called THE SINS OF A FEW and explores the aftermath of the witch trials and how forgiveness–or the lack thereof–shapes my characters and the decisions they make.

2) How does my work differ from others of its genre?

Frankly, there’s not a lot of Salem witch trials romance out there. What I’ve done differently (at least as far as I know, lol) is to shape the series around different stages of the trials. In doing so I explore a unique aspect with each book. In HER WICKED SIN, the trials were just beginning and the consequences of being accused weren’t fully understood. In AN UNEXPECTED SIN, readers see how the reality of what we now call hysteria–and the very fear it instilled in everyone–affected the paths of two young lives. The final book, THE SINS OF A FEW, tackles the aftermath, and while the stories all stand alone, I think readers of all three will find this an especially satisfying end as a few characters you’ve loved to hate will get what’s coming to them.🙂

3) Why do I write what I do?

My foray into historical romance–which is comprised entirely of my Salem series–was an accident. I’ve always been fascinated by the Salem witch trials. I mentioned that to my editor, she mentioned it to Scandalous, and the next thing I knew I was sending in a proposal. I was contracted on the basis of the only three chapters of historical romance I’d ever written in my life!

 

4) How does my writing process work? 

I hide in my bedroom with my laptop and threaten the kids if they come near my door. No…really. (Okay, so that’s only near a deadline.) I used to write as a “panster” which means I let the story and characters determine the path. Now, however, my books are contracted before I even write them. I have to present a synopsis and more or less follow it, and in many ways that’s easier. Fortunately there’s some flexibility for those times the characters write their own stories, but in the meantime I always know where I’m headed AND I know the book has a home when I’m finished. Of course, sometimes the deadlines sneak up on me, which takes us right back to the beginning of this paragraph. LOL.

Next week, swing by Melissa MacKinnon’s blog to see what her process is all about. Melissa enjoys writing everything from sexy, sword-toting heroes to spit-out-your coffee funny romantic comedies. Her passion lies within the ancient walls of fantasy and historical romance, where anything is possible.