Tags

, , ,

Please welcome author Amanda Tru, who is here to talk about the two books in her Yesterday Series!

Welcome, Amanda! I love the look of these books. Can you introduce readers to your series?

Yesterday is a Christian Time Travel Romance.  There are currently 3 books in the series, with more on the way.  Yesterday and The Locket are the first two.  The story itself is very unique with plenty of twists and turns.  Seemingly meaningless details are later shown to have great significance.  It is both a romance and a story of a young woman figuring out who she is as God reveals His love and purpose in her life.  Here is a little teaser for Book 1:

Her yesterday was five years ago. What will her tomorrow bring?

When Hannah Kraeger saves a family injured in a car accident, she has no idea she has changed events in the past. Waking the next morning, Hannah discovers her yesterday was really five years ago.

Each trip Hannah takes through time changes the timeline and her own life. With help from DR. Seth McAllister, Hannah must unravel the mystery of why she time travels and who she actually is before the strange ability costs her future, the man she loves, and even her life.

Yesterday is a thrilling Christian Romantic Suspense filled with unexpected twists, mystery, and romance.

That plot sounds amazing. I just can’t imagine how you kept all those threads straight–I’m incredibly impressed. What inspired you to write time travel?

I write what I like to read.  I love a good time travel story, but you don’t see many with Christian themes.  I am always drawn to the storylines that are different or surprising in some way.  I got the idea for this series when I was trying to figure out a story I could write as a birthday gift for my sister.  She likes the paranormal element in books, so I originally created this story with her tastes in mind.  While driving home one day, the idea suddenly struck me:  what if someone got in the car in one time, and when she reached her destination, she was in another time.  And that’s where Hannah’s story began.

What a great story behind the story! What might readers be surprised to learn about the plot or characters?

Readers would probably never guess that I didn’t have the whole story planned out when I started writing it.  Originally it was a short story that ended after Chapter 2 (minus the cliff-hanger, of course). When a few people read my story, though, they wanted more.  They liked the characters and wanted to know what happened next.  But I didn’t have a clue what happened next, and that drove me crazy. Then I came up with the idea for Books 1 and 2.  But I didn’t anticipate continuing the series.  When I was almost done with The Locket, I had a thought:  what if I did continue the series, what would happen?  But I didn’t know what would happen next, and that drove me crazy.  So now I have very detailed plans for a six book series (with an optional 7th and 8th book).  Someone told me she didn’t think I should ever end the series.  That’s not going to happen.  And no, it will not drive me crazy!😉

LOL! I have to say I’m absolutely fascinated by your responses. Let’s dig in a little. What’s the first sentence?

Red flashed against the bright white of the snow.

I can think of a couple alternatives there and none are good. Intriguing start! What’s your favorite line in the book?

Maybe the very last one.  But I’m a bit biased.  It took me so long and so much work to get to that line at the end of The Locket; it was so fulfilling to finally arrive there.  That final sentence also carries extra special meaning for me because it marked the success of actually finishing something I had always dreamed of doing.

Oh, yes. That last line is swoon-worthy for so many reasons, lol. How about a brief excerpt?

Red flashed against the bright white of the snow.

I slammed on the brakes. The SUV skidded toward the guardrail.

My heart seemed to stop. I couldn’t breathe. My body felt suspended as the mountainous terrain whirled across my vision. I braced for impact. Unexpectedly, the vehicle lurched as the tires found traction and came to a sudden stop

I sucked in air. My eyes frantically searched the heavy snowfall.

What had I seen?

Was it human?

Had I hit something?

Yikes! That’s breathtaking. Which scene of Yesterday or The Locket was most difficult for you to write? Why?

The beginning was by far the most difficult.  I lost track of how many times I rewrote the first chapter.  In my opinion, the two most important parts of a book are the beginning and the end.  I wanted the beginning to really grab the readers’ attention, but since it was such a dramatic scene, I needed to immediately develop Hannah’s character and make her emotions seem very real.  It’s very fast paced, so there needed to be enough detail for the scene to be pictured in the mind, but not too much that it would be cumbersome.  If you don’t have a great beginning, someone won’t want to keep reading.  If you don’t have a great ending, the reader won’t be satisfied enough to remember your book well.  It took a lot of effort to make the beginning of Yesterday great.

Excellent thoughts, and I certainly have a new appreciation for authors who recognize those points. :) Which scene would you most like to experience for yourself? From whose POV?

For the most part, I am very thankful that I am NOT Hannah!  I like my drama in books, not real life!  Much of what happens to Hannah is scary, dangerous, or just unnerving, and I wouldn’t want to experience her life for myself at all!  However, if I had to choose one, the scene in The Locket where Hannah finds herself at the research facility, holds a great fascination for me.  I don’t want to give too much away because the scene holds such a surprise that the reader only figures out later, but writing the part where Hannah is guided by the mysterious lady and then given specific instructions, was a lot of fun.  I would want to experience the scene from the point of view of the mysterious guide.  After all, wouldn’t that be kind of freakishly awesome to meet a certain someone like that?!!!

Ooooh! Anyone else want to see that scene right now? I figured, LOL! What inspired the titles of Yesterday and The Locket?

Yesterday seemed to just fit since, when Hannah first time traveled, what was yesterday for her was five years ago for everyone else.  Initially, I thought to call it “Only Yesterday,” but then I decided to drop the “Only.”  The title for The Locket was much more difficult.  I finally chose it because the origin of Hannah’s locket was that answer to the mystery of why and how Hannah time traveled, which is what Book 2 is about.

Brilliant! Before we take a closer look at your books, can you give us a glimpse at what you’re working on now? 

I have a long list of books in my “To Be Written” pile.  I have so many ideas in just about every genre, I don’t know that my lifetime will ever be long enough to turn them all into books but I’ll do my best!  I just published a romantic suspense novella entitled, The Assumption of Guilt.  Now I’m currently working on Book 4 in the Yesterday series.  It’s called, The Choice.  However, probably the book I’m most looking forward to in my pile is a historical romance set in the Great Depression.  There’s always so much to write and so little time!

Agreed on that point, LOL! You sound like an author to follow, and we can start right here.🙂 Thanks so much for joining us today, Amanda! You’ve given some awesome background and glimpses of your books. This series is on my TBR list for sure!

Yesterday Locket Tour

Tour Schedule

Amanda

Yesterday

Her yesterday was five years ago. What will her tomorrow bring?

When HANNAH KRAEGER saves a family injured in a car accident, she has no idea she has changed events in the past. Waking the next morning, Hannah discovers her yesterday was really five years ago.

Each trip Hannah takes through time changes the timeline and her own life. With help from DR. SETH MCALLISTER, Hannah must unravel the mystery of why she time travels and who she actually is before the strange ability costs her future, the man she loves, and even her life.

YESTERDAY is a thrilling Christian Romantic Suspense filled with unexpected twists, mystery, and romance.

Amazon

The Locket

Hannah suddenly finds that she has time travelled once again, but this time is different. After helping save a woman’s life, Hannah discovers that she has completely altered the timeline and thrown her very existence into jeopardy.

Facing life-threatening effects upon returning to her own time, Hannah is then given a death sentence: if she time travels again, she will die. Now, Hannah must solve the clues to her own identity and find a way to save her own life before she is once again sent spiraling through time.

Will her mother’s locket hold the key to both her past and her future? Has she just found the love of her life only to lose him? Could God have a plan for Hannah amidst the chaos?

Amazon

Excerpt

Rounding the corner of the hallway to the medical offices, I stopped mid-stride.

“What’s wrong?” Seth asked, concerned.

I pointed. “The medical offices should be right there.”

Instead of a hallway that opened up to a reception area surrounded by doctors’ offices, I was pointing to a solid wall.

I turned around in a full circle. I had an awful sinking feeling in the pit of my stomach as I began to notice other differences. The paint on the walls looked dingy, the tile old, and the pictures on the wall cheap.

“Seth, none of this is right,” I mumbled, nervously fingering Mom’s locket clasped around my neck.

The feeling of dread was rapidly transforming into panic. Nothing was as it should be.

Then I knew.

My mind swirled with everything that had just happened. My eyes swung to Seth’s confused gaze and locked. In that instant, I knew two things. The man I loved, loved me back. And, wherever, whenever I was, he had come with me.

amanda tAuthor Amanda Tru

Although I loved my job as an elementary school teacher, I am now very blessed to be mommy to three adorable little boys and living my dream of being an author.
I have a vivid imagination and have always been easily entertained by the stories in my head. Fortunately, I also love to paint those pictures with words. I like writing a wide variety of genres, and my current book list includes everything from a Christian time travel / romance series, to an action-packed suspense, to a romance involving a woman who likes to anonymously play matchmaker.

Although I enjoy historical, Christian, paranormal, suspense, and everything in between, my books all have one thing in common–I love to surprise my readers with the unexpected. I currently have 7 books available for kindle, nook, and paperback.

My family and I live in a small Idaho town where the number of cows outnumbers the number of people.

Blog * Google+ * Twitter

Facebook * Pinterest * Goodreads

Tour Giveaway

$25 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash

Ends 6/17/13 – Click to enter the Rafflecopter giveaway