Tags

, , ,

Welcome, readers! Today we welcome Samantha Holt with her amazing new release Borderland Bride. She’s a bestselling author of medieval romance, so you can bet her new Borderland Legacy series is absolutely made of awesome. Grab a pint of something tasty and let’s check it out!

Welcome, Samantha, and congratulations on the recent release of Borderline Bride. What was your most memorable moment in writing the story?

Thanks for having me, Sarah. Oh there are so many, but for me the first moment between the two brothers will always stick with me. I’ve never written a strong secondary male character before and the banter between them was so fun and easy. I fell in love instantly with them both! It’s very difficult falling in love with two men at the same time, you know!

LOL! I can only imagine the fun you had with THAT! *grins* This is the first book in your Borderland Legacy Series. Can you offer a sneak peek of the series arc and how future books will connect to this one?

The next book, Borderland Beauty, is Dominic’s story – the other brother. I knew early on that he was going to miss out on his happy ending and I thought he deserved one. Here is the blurb:

Dominic of Thornewall has already lost out on one bride. Will he succeed in charming is way into the heart of a second?

Lord Dominic is in need of a wife. With the reivers, the wild and dangerous criminals that haunt the borderlands, breathing down his neck and his brother now married, he needs a strong woman by his side. So when he finds out about an old marriage contract between him and his neighbour’s daughter, he vows to give the mysterious woman a chance. Upon meeting the beautiful, feisty maiden, he vows to make her his wife.

Lucy Montgomery wants nothing to do with the arrogant lord. She doesn’t understand his interest in her. Surely a man like Dominic could never fall for a woman like her? Hurt by the past, she refuses to believe that she is anything more than a game to him. If only she didn’t find him quite so charming.

Can Dominic persuade Lucy that she is more than just another woman to him? And with the reivers growing bolder, are there worse dangers than Lucy saying ‘Nay’?

Oh, I love how the second book ties in with the first, and the premise sounds fantastic! What might readers be surprised to learn about the plot or characters of Borderland Bride?

I wrote the ending almost as soon as I started writing the book! I typically don’t write in order, usually jumping from whichever scene is freshest in my mind, although I always have a vague plan. I had the beginning written and pretty soon after I skipped to the end. I like to have the end sorted as it means I know exactly what I’m aiming for and what character developments I need to make, and it also means I don’t rush the ending in my eagerness to finish the book.

That’s a great point! I wrote the ending first exactly one time and it was awesome. I just tried that with my WIP and had a <headdesk> moment, lol. I love the points you made, though, and should probably revisit the concept. ;c) Okay, let’s have some fun with Borderland Bride. What’s the first sentence?

Inhaling deeply, Jake clutched at the reins of his mount, slowly releasing his grip as the forest stilled around him.

Wow. Great atmosphere! What’s your favorite line in the book?

This bit gets me every time: “What would you have me say?” He faced her abruptly. “That I cannot stay, for how can I watch you wed my brother when I would wish to have you for myself? That it tears at my heart just to think of you in the arms of another man? Or that I…I regret every harsh word I ever spoke to you? I shall never meet another lass as fine as you.”

OMGosh, I just dissolved into a pile of mush. That was a-MAZE-ing! How about a brief excerpt? 

“Just…look after her. And cease your philandering,” he added with a scowl.

A burst of laughter erupted from Dominic. “Aye, fear not. Izzy is not the sort of woman to trifle with. I will be good to her, I promise you.”

Nodding slowly, Jake rested a hand on Dominic’s shoulder. “Aye, aye, you will. This is how it should be.”

Aye, what could be more fitting? The two people he loved most in the world would find happiness together. And Jake…he would go back to Greycroft and bury his love for Isabel, once and for all.

Okay, I am SO hooked right now. Just … wow. Which scene of Borderland Bride was most difficult for you to write? Why?

Many of the early scenes were very difficult, mostly because Isabel can’t talk so I had to concentrate on the actions between them. She does ‘mouth’ stuff but obviously there’s a limit to what you can ‘mouth’ to someone. I had a lot of fun when Jake and Isabel play chess together but it was tough to get everything I wanted to across.

Another intriguing answer. You’re killing me, Samantha! LOL. What inspired the title of Borderland Bride?

Who knows? I’m terrible at titles and this was something that came up after bandying some around with a couple of beta readers. It just seemed right so I went with it.

It does seem to fit so well. Yay for beta readers! LOL. Before we take a closer look at Borderland Bride, tell us what’s next for you.

Well Borderland Beauty has just been through edits and is now in the hands of my publisher but while I’m waiting on a release date for that, I’m working on my first ever fantasy romance. It’s still set in a medeivally themed world but that’s where the similarities end with my other books. It’s fun and very freeing. Later on this year, I’ll be working on the third Borderland Legacy book which will feature Captain James – a character that pops up frequently in the first two books.

Sounds like you’re going to keep your readers busy! Let’s get them started right now, shall we? *grin*

Borderland Bride

In the wilderness of 14th century Northumbria, Lady Isabel discovers just how dangerous the borderlands can be. With the loss of her voice and her hearing, there is little hope left for her. But when a brooding knight rescues her, she vows never to become a victim again and buries the secrets of her past in the hope that those hunting her will never find her in the borderlands.

Jake is astonished to come across the beautiful Isabel, near to death, on his brother’s lands. Bringing her back to his brother’s home, he finds himself longing for something more from the courageous woman, something that he thought he would never want again. Isabel works her way into his scarred heart and opens Jake up to loving once more. But will Isabel’s secrets destroy their bond? And with his charismatic brother, Dominic, charming her, does he even stand a chance?

Find BORDERLAND BRIDE @

Samantha Holt

Samantha resides in Warwickshire, England with her twin girls and occasionally her husband, who works abroad. She admits that his long absences often help to get the creative juices flowing. She’s a romance addict and has been devouring all kinds of romance for as long as she can remember.

A huge history buff, Samantha likes to blend her love of the past with her love of romance and create thrilling and passionate tales set to medieval backdrops. She thinks there’s nothing sexier than a rugged warrior and a feisty maiden falling head over heels for each other.

Find Samantha @ Facebook | Website

Samantha, it’s been a pleasure. I’m so excited you’ve shared this book with us and I hope the series is another bestseller for you! Readers, thank you for joining us. Please feel free to pelt Samantha with your questions and comments and do send a warm welcome her way! (It gives me a chance to refill my pint. *grins*)