Tags

, , , , , ,

Today I’m thrilled to welcome the Scottish Seduction Blog Tour with works by Margaret Mallory and Sue-Ellen Welfonder. Please note this post features TWO INTERVIEWS – one for each author – so be sure to read all the way through to the giveaway details at the end. Now, if we’re all ready for some Scottish Seduction . . . (*ahem*).

**Giveaway Closed** Thank you for your wonderful comments. Congratulations to Cathy P. who was chosen by random.org as our winner!

The Chieftan

In THE CHIEFTAIN, Connor, chieftain of the MacDonalds of Sleat, holds the fate of his people in his hands. Rival clans are plotting to take over his lands, and duty determines whom he will fight, trust . . . even marry. Beautiful Ilysa dresses plainly, speaks softly, and loves her chieftain from afar. Yet when Connor finally stokes the embers of desire that have so long burned within her, Ilysa feels bliss unlike any she’s ever known.Can she find a way to prove she is the woman he needs by his side?

THE CHIEFTAIN
PUBLICATION DATE: February 26, 2013
ISBN: 9780446583114
FOR MORE INFORMATION click here

Seduction of a Highland Warrior

In SEDUCTION OF A HIGHLAND WARRIOR, Chieftain Alasdair MacDonald has sworn to preserve the peace in the Glen of Many Legends. Though he’s handsome and fearless, his warrior’s heart belongs only to his beloved land-until the fair sister of his oldest enemy shatters his defenses. Lady Marjory Mackintosh will do anything to unite the warring clans, even seduce Alasdair MacDonald. She has loved the rugged Highlander since she first saw him and now, as temptation leads to surrender, Marjory dares to possess him, body and soul.

SEDUCTION OF A HIGHLAND WARRIOR
PUBLICATION DATE: January 29, 2013
ISBN: 9780446561792
FOR MORE INFORMATION click here

Margaret Mallory

Welcome, Margaret! I’m so pleased to have you here today. Let’s dig a little into THE CHIEFTAN. Which part of the story was most challenging for you to write?

The first few chapters are always the hardest for me to write. Always. I need to capture the reader’s attention and immerse her in my story very quickly. I can’t bog things down with backstory, yet I must provide enough information about the characters, setting, and conflict so that it’s both understandable and compelling. Every word counts so much. I end up doing a lot of revising to make those first chapters work well and flow smoothly. Even deciding where to start is hard—a good book doesn’t start at the logical beginning, but at a high dramatic point, with one or both main characters on the cusp of change. Adding to my troubles, I don’t know my characters as well as I will later in the book.

As a reader, I really appreciate your attention to this point. As an author, I know how *very* difficult it can be, so you get double props from me for this answer! *grin* Which moment of THE CHIEFTAN would you most like to experience for yourself? 

I’m married, so it is probably wrong for me to say the love scenes with Connor… Oh, to be young and in love! J There is something special about that first phase of love, which is the reason we write stories about it.

I couldn’t agree with you more! And no worries . . . I won’t tell. *grin* Before we let you out of the hot seat, please tell readers something they might be surprised to know about the plot and/or characters. 

Connor, the hero of THE CHIEFTAIN, is mostly fictional, but his family was real. His grandfather, the first chieftain of the MacDonalds of Sleat, had six sons by six different high-born women. This was not a blended family that got along well. In fact, the hatred among the six half-brothers led to multiple murders over two generations.

Wow, that’s pretty amazing! Thanks so much for offering an insider’s glimpse of THE CHIEFTAIN. I’m excited you are so generously offering readers a copy today, and we’ll definitely see more on that in just a moment. First, let’s meet Sue-Ellen Welfonder.

Sue-Ellen Welfonder

Welcome, Sue-Ellen! I’m enamored of your writing desk. (It’s in the bio, folks. Keep reading!)

I’m delighted to be here to celebrate Seduction of a Highland Warrior’s recent release.  Having a new book on the shelves is always exciting and you’ve asked very insightful questions.  I appreciate the chance to share a bit of the book’s background.

I’m so excited to indulge in your responses, so let’s get to it. Which part of SEDUCTION OF A HIGHLAND WARRIOR was most challenging for you to write?

Without question, chapter four.  This entire chapter is a powerful scene where the heroine, Marjory, has a disturbing encounter with Vikings.  For reasons you’ll see in my answer to the third question, this scene was meaningful to me.  My editor wanted the scene changed.  She felt I should write it in a totally different way and I disagreed, preferring the scene as it stood.  A writing career being what it is, an editor usually wins in such situations.  I had to rewrite the scene.  I was not happy.  It was a terrible struggle because I felt so strongly about the scene.  It’s a dream sequence (the heroine is dreaming) and I’d written it so that the reader is immediately aware that Marjory is experiencing the happenings in a dream.  My editor wished for me to launch into the scene as if ‘if was really happening’ and only reveal the scene as a dream at the chapter’s end.  I did not like this spin on the scene.  But I wrote it that way.  Then, as usually happens when an editor insists a writer make changes, after the scene was re-written, it was much stronger than my original version.  My editor was right (as usual) and her changes made a powerful scene even more gripping.  Moral of the story: there’s a reason writers need editors.  And they are usually right.  Remember that and you’ll save yourself teeth gnashing and headaches during revisions.

LOL. I’m sure editors everywhere are cheering upon reading that! It does sound like a deeply emotional change for you, so I’m curious if it will come up in your answer to the next question, which is this: which moment would you most like to experience for yourself?

The epilogue.  It unfolds in a very special place.  (I’m not saying where to avoid spoilers)  Having worked with the characters of Highland Warriors through three books, it was a joy to bring them all together, tie up loose ends, and even give them a few lovely surprises.  Those last few pages were written not just in ink, but with my ‘writer’s blood and tears.’  It’s hard to say goodbye to characters who, throughout the deadlines, have become so real to you.  Yet it’s also such a stellar moment to see them triumphant and happy.

So if I could join them at any point in Seduction of a Highland Warrior, I’d love to be with them in the epilogue.

Oh, wow. The emotion you poured into that answer leaves no doubt as to the depth of the book itself. Before we go, a sneak peek for the reader: please tell readers something they might be surprised to know about the plot and/or characters.

I’m smiling, because of Q&A nr. 1.  (see above)  The Viking dream sequence was so important to me because I dreamed that scene.  In its entirety.  Everything that happens to Marjory in that scene was experienced by me in a dream.  If you’ve read the scene, you can imagine how terrifying the dream was.  It was incredibly vivid and very real.  I awoke from the dream at up about 3 a.m. and was truly shaken.  I also knew the dream would fit perfectly into the book.  So I wrote it into the story.  And I wrote the dream exactly as it happened.  That’s why I balked so fervently at being told to make changes.  Thankfully, I wasn’t asked to alter what happens, only to make it seem as if the scene was real and not a dream, revealing later that the heroine had dreamt everything.  The Viking encounter remained untouched, exactly as I dream it.  I can close my eyes now and relive it all again.  So that scene stands out in this book for me.  And is unusual because I lived the scene myself, if only in a dream.

WOW! That’s pretty amazing, Sue-Ellen! Thank you for sharing your story. ;c)

Thank you so much for having me here today.  It was a pleasure to receive such different questions.  I enjoyed the opportunity to share a few tidbits that make this book special.

I’m glad you enjoyed them. I try to stay off the beaten track a little, and speaking of which, it’s time to scoop readers on that desk of yours. *grin* Readers, you know their books . . . now let’s get to know the authors. (And stay tuned for giveaway details!)

About the Authors

Margaret Mallory abandoned a career as a lawyer to become a romance novelist. Why this surprised everyone, she doesn’t know. Who wouldn’t rather have thrilling adventures with handsome Highlanders than write briefs and memos? Margaret lives in the beautiful Pacific Northwest with her husband, a goofy dog, and a crabby cat.

Sue-Ellen Welfonder is a Scotophile whose burning wish to make frequent trips to the land of her dreams led her to a twenty-year career with the airlines. Now a full-time writer, she’s quick to admit that she much prefers wielding a pen to pushing tea and coffee. She never watches television, loves haggis, and writes at a 450-year-old desk that once stood in a Bavarian castle.

Giveaway

Please note this giveaway is for US addresses only – *NO* P.O. Boxes! Readers, if you’d like a chance to win a copy of BOTH BOOKS please leave a comment with your email address. And while not required, I think we’d all love to know what might be your ideal Scottish Seduction. A highland warrior? A quaint home in the countryside? A pint of ale? Copies of both of these books? *raises eyebrow* I’m SO looking forward to your replies! Thanks for reading along and helping spread the hospitality to our guests. Margaret and Sue-Ellen, it’s both an honor and a pleasure to have you here. Thank you!