Tags

, , , , , ,

Happy Friday! Today I’m please to welcome author Taylor Dean, who has to her name a collection of book covers at which I can’t stop staring. She’s giving us an inside look at her paranormal romance LANCASTER HOUSE, and if you stick around to the end one I’ll let you know how you can enter to win an e-copy. But first, let’s meet Taylor, shall we?

**GIVEAWAY CLOSED** Congrats to Cindy B, who was chosen by random.org as the winner!

Welcome, Taylor! It’s great to have you here. I must say, LANCASTER HOUSE looks *amazing*!  Can you introduce our readers to the story?

Here’s the blurb:

Are you ever really alone?

Zoe Grayson needs a change. So, she moves to another state, purchases an old, dilapidated 1920s Victorian Mansion, and sets out to restore it to its former glory. As she begins the restoration, she finds herself falling in love with the old house . . . not to mention its illustrious builder, Mr. Lancaster. Zoe becomes obsessed with the house as she discovers its secrets; hidden rooms, secret passageways . . . and a mysterious man who seems to think the house is his. Who is he? More importantly, how does he live in her home unseen and unheard?

The unexpected answers leave her reeling—and questioning everything she’s ever known. To her dismay, Zoe’s actions land her in the local psychiatric hospital, scheming for ways to return to Lancaster House . . . and the love of her life.

Yep. Totally amazing! From where did you draw inspiration for this story? Do you have any personal ties to the plot?

My inspiration for this story came rather unexpectedly. You see, I’m not really into paranormal! As a matter of fact, other than Twilight, I don’t really read it very often. It all started when my daughter called and challenged me to write a paranormal story. It’s her favorite genre. I promised to think about a plot, knowing in my heart it would never happen. My mind just doesn’t think that way!

Ha! Or so I thought!

About this time I was utterly addicted to American Idol and Adam Lambert! When Adam sang his rendition of Mad World on a fog shrouded stage, dressed in vampire-like garb, I was a goner.  My imagination went wild. It was all the inspiration I needed! From that one visual, the plot of Lancaster House took form in my overactive imagination.

I do have personal ties to the plot. In my childhood, I visited a few creepy mansions in San Jose, California, where I grew up. The experiences of wandering these mansions definitely influenced my writing. The feelings I underwent while exploring were palpable—and unforgettable. One was the Winchester Mystery House and the other was the Hayes Mansion. They, of course, made their way into the story!  The Hayes Mansion has since been restored, but many years ago— back when it was a dilapidated monstrosity under threat of being torn down— my parents considered becoming the caretakers and actually living in the house! My siblings and I actually had our rooms picked out! Can you imagine? I never would’ve slept a wink. My mother admitted to me that the reason they decided to NOT do it was due to the fact that during the day, we’d all be at work or school, and she’d be all alone in the huge house. No, thank you! I don’t blame her one bit!

I am addicted to old houses, and I nearly drooled when you said you’ve been to the Winchester House. And the Hayes Mansion … wow. I just googled it and all I can say is O.o and (!!!!)! How incredible that might have been, but I’m with you – I definitely don’t blame your mom, LOL! What else might readers be surprised to learn about the plot or characters of Lancaster House?

I think most people are a little surprised that Andre was inspired by Adam Lambert. He was my inspiration, but the reader has the pleasure of picturing Andre any way they want! That’s the beauty of reading! Happy imagining!

Awesome perspective, and a fantastic point! Let’s have some fun with Lancaster House. What’s the first sentence?

“9-1-1, what is your emergency, please?”

Right into the action there! What’s your favorite line in the book?

Believe it, know it, accept it.

Intriguing … I can’t wait to find out how you use it in the story. ;c) How about an excerpt … three sentences long! Yep, that’s it. Three!

“I repeat, could you have created him, Zoe? The answer may surprise you.”

Zoe was quiet for several minutes, until she responded in an even tone, “The answer may scare the hell out of you.”

Oh, man. I SO want to read this one! Which scene of Lancaster House was most difficult for you to write? Why?

The most challenging scenes were the ones between Zoe and her psychiatrist. After all, I’m not a psychiatrist and I had no idea what kinds of methods a doctor of mental health would actually use during therapy sessions. However, my ‘recently-graduated-psychology-major-daughter’ was a huge help to me. I constantly asked her, “What would Doctor Channing do in this instance?” She gave me advice every step of the way and I couldn’t have written the book without her expertise!

That’s a pretty awesome source of information, and what fun for you to work together! Which scene would you most like to experience for yourself? From whose POV?

I never once go into the mind of Andre and tell the story through his POV. I’d love to experience the entire story through Andre’s perspective. It would be fascinating.

That’s a really cool thought. What inspired the title of Lancaster House?

I’ve hardly told this to anyone! Since Adam Lambert was my inspiration for Andre, I thought, “A.L., hmmmmm, what name could my main character have that would have the same initials?”

Hence, Andre Lancaster was born!  After that, the title of Lancaster House seemed fitting.  The house became a character in the book without prior planning on my part.

I am honored to have the scoop! And it’s funny how we sometimes figure things out, and how well they work from  the strangest beginnings? LOL. What’s next for you? 

I have been slowly releasing my six completed novels and the endeavor has taken up all of my time! Here’s the release schedule:

  • Lancaster House – June 2012
  • Sierra – June 2012
  • I Have People – Sept. 2012
  • The Middle Aisle – Dec. 2012 (sequel to Lancaster House)
  • Joshua’s Folly – March 2013
  • For Nick – June 2013

Lancaster House

Are you ever really alone?

Zoe Grayson needs a change. So, she moves to another state, purchases an old, dilapidated 1920s Victorian Mansion, and sets out to restore it to its former glory. As she begins the restoration, she finds herself falling in love with the old house . . . not to mention its illustrious builder, Mr. Lancaster. Zoe becomes obsessed with the house as she discovers its secrets; hidden rooms, secret passageways . . . and a mysterious man who seems to think the house is his. Who is he? More importantly, how does he live in her home unseen and unheard?

The unexpected answers leave her reeling—and questioning everything she’s ever known. To her dismay, Zoe’s actions land her in the local psychiatric hospital, scheming for ways to return to Lancaster House . . . and the love of her life.

Find it @ Amazon | Smashwords | Barnes & Noble | Apple

Taylor Dean

Taylor Dean lives in Texas and is the mother of four grown children. Upon finding herself with an empty nest, she began to write the stories that were always wandering around in her head, quickly finding that she had a passion for writing, specifically romance. Whether it’s paranormal, contemporary, or suspense—you’ll find all sub-genres of romance in her line-up.

Learn more @ website facebook | twitter: @taylordeanbooks | goodreads

Giveaway

Clamoring to get a hold of this one? For a chance to win it, please comment with your email address. And if you’ve ever been inside an old or haunted house, tell us about it! Thank you all for being here, and Taylor, it’s been an absolute pleasure. ;c)