Tags

, ,

I adore Jenna Jaxon. I’ve followed her work through Six Sentence Sunday and Sweet Saturday Samples for some time, and it’s exquisite. Her voice and characters never fail to sweep me away, and I’m so happy today to have her here with an awesome book which you most certainly may judge by its cover. (Isn’t it gorgeous?) Y’all play nice with Jenna (or maybe she prefers it naughty?) and don’t forget to leave a comment at the end because someone is going home with a swag pack. Let’s meet her!

*Giveaway Closed* Congrats to Denice Mae, random.org’s choice for the prize!

Welcome, Jenna, and congratulations on the release of Only Scandal Will Do! I’ve followed this (er . . . maddeningly delicious) book on your blog and I’m so excited it’s out. Can you share snippets from some of your favorite reviews?

Thank you so much, Sarah, for having me on your blog today!  Wow!  I’ve gotten so many wonderful reviews so far for Scandal.  But here are a couple of my favorite quotes:

“The characters are well-developed and sympathetic, and Duncan, with the care and gallantry he exhibits toward his reluctant wife, is quite a dish. The writing and plotting are excellent. If you enjoy Regency romance, this one should be at the top of your reading list.”

Only Scandal Will Do is a fantastic book! I say run, don’t walk, run, get it!”

“The writing was excellent, just the right amount of detail that I could decide for myself how to picture scenery and characters, fast-paced with awesome sword fights and an intriguing plot that will keep you guessing.”

“The historical accuracy is flawless and the prose is like eating a rich dessert.”

Those are uber-fab reviews! I am dying to crack it open, but for those who aren’t familiar, will you tell us about the book? 

Kidnapped and sold at auction in a London brothel, Lady Katarina Fitzwilliam squelches an undeniable attraction to the masked stranger who purchased her, pits her wits against him, and escapes him and the scandal that would ruin her life.

Unable to resist temptation in a London brothel, Duncan Ferrers, Marquess of Dalbury, purchases a fiery beauty. She claims she’s a lady, but how can she be? No lady of his acquaintance in polite society is anything like her. Then he discovers she is who she says, and that this latest romp has compromised her reputation. He knows how that is. One more scandal and he’ll be cast out of London society, but he needs a wife who’ll provide an heir to carry on his illustrious family’s name. He seeks out Katarina, intending only to scotch the scandal, but instead finds his heart ensnared. He’s betting their future he’ll capture her heart, but does he have what it takes to win the wager?

*Swoon.* Okay, scoop us. What might readers be surprised to learn about the plot or characters of Only Scandal Will Do?

Most surprising, as I revealed in a previous post, is that the plot started out with a rape scene that quickly changed to seduction.  And I had to make Katarina like Duncan sooner; she really didn’t want to at all. LOL

Seductions are delicious, and I’m certainly glad that one took a turn for the better. (Eeep!) Let’s have some fun with Only Scandal Will Do.  What’s the first sentence?

 “Put her back in the carriage, now!” Her assailant snarled the brusque command, sending a shiver of fear through Lady Katarina Fitzwilliam.

Wow, what an entrance! LOL. What’s your favorite line in the book?

That’s hard because I have a bunch I love.  But this one comes first to mind:

“I can swear to you that I would not marry you if I were in Hell and you were my only hope of Heaven.” And Duncan’s rejoinder, “Is there nothing that would entice you to leave your Hell for my Heaven?”

I LOVE that! Tease us some more? How about an excerpt … three sentences long! Yep, that’s it. Three!

Wow.  You drive a hard bargain!  Okay.  How about this, from the same scene as the above quotes:

 His tone was soft, the sensuous, cajoling one he had used to seduce her that night in the House of Pleasure.

Kat trembled, recalling the incredible sensations of his hands, his mouth on her body. Damn it, he could not do this to her again–not just with his voice.

Oh, I’m sorry. Was I drooling? *sigh* While I try to make myself presentable, share with us which scene was most difficult for you to write. Why? 

The scene in Kat’s bedroom just after their wedding.  I re-wrote and re-wrote, trying to achieve a balance between the characters.  I needed to show vulnerability in both, yet the strength that kept each one stubbornly believing they were right. Thank goodness, with the help of my crit partners, it finally achieved that delicate balance.

I love how they’re both “stubbornly right” in the bedroom after the wedding. Buahahaha! Which scene would you most like to experience for yourself? From whose POV?

Oh, now that’s just wicked, Sarah!  There are several, but I really must admit the first love scene would probably be my choice, from Kat’s POV, of course.*fans self*

Yeah. I’m wicked. *nudges person to my left* LOL. I love the title. What inspired it?

That is an interesting story, because the title, up until I began to query the book, was The Marquess Makes A Mistake.  I had the good sense to realize this was NOT a winning title. LOL  So I sat down and started making lists of titles.  I knew I wanted this to be a series, so I had in mind I’d like a repeated word or phrase, like Mary Balogh’s Simply or Slightly series.  I wanted to focus on what the core issue of the book was, and I decided scandal was possibly the key.  A great word for the title of a period romance.  And thinking about how the threat of scandal is the catalyst for each of them, I came up with the phrase “Only scandal will do to bring them together,” and that was it.  Search over.  It works well for the rest of the series too. J

I love it. LOVE it! (Can I have it? No? Okay.) On what are you currently working?

I have several projects I’m working on at the moment, including revisions to the next book in the House of Pleasure (Scandal) series, Only Marriage Will Do.  It’s Duncan’s sister, Juliet’s, story. But my next release, in edits right now, will be an erotic contemporary called 7 Days of Seduction.  And in mid-October I’m hoping to release the first book of my medieval trilogy, Time Enough to Love.  This novella is called Betrothal, and the remaining two books will be released in the following months–Betrayal in November and Beleaguered in December.  That’s the plan, anyway. And my Victorian romance, As Long As You’re Mine, is currently out to agents.

*fell over in awe*

Only Scandal Will Do

Kidnapped and sold at auction in a London brothel, Lady Katarina Fitzwilliam squelches an undeniable attraction to the masked stranger who purchased her, pits her wits against him, and escapes him and the scandal that would ruin her life.

Unable to resist temptation in a London brothel, Duncan Ferrers, Marquess of Dalbury, purchases a fiery beauty. She claims she’s a lady, but how can she be? No lady of his acquaintance in polite society is anything like her. Then he discovers she is who she says, and that this latest romp has compromised her reputation. He knows how that is. One more scandal and he’ll be cast out of London society, but he needs a wife who’ll provide an heir to carry on his illustrious family’s name. He seeks out Katarina, intending only to scotch the scandal, but instead finds his heart ensnared. He’s betting their future he’ll capture her heart, but does he have what it takes to win the wager?

Find it @ Amazon | Lyrical Press | ARe | iTunes

Jenna Jaxon

Jenna Jaxon is a newly published author of historical  and contemporary romance who has been reading and writing historical romance since she was a teenager.  A romantic herself, Jenna has always loved a dark side to the genre, a twist, suspense, a surprise.  She tries to incorporate all of these elements into her own writing.

Jenna lives in Virginia with her family and a small menagerie of pets.  When not reading or writing, she indulges her passion for the theatre, working with local theatres as a director.  She often feels she is directing her characters on their own private stage.

She has equated her writing to an addiction to chocolate because once she starts she just can’t stop.

Stalk @ Blog | Facebook | Twitter @ Jenna_Jaxon

Giveaway

Yep, that’s right! I didn’t forget you. Jenna is kind enough to give away a rockin’ Scandal Swag Pack to one of you lovely people. Now, I don’t know exactly what’s in it, but I can almost promise there will be no bail money included so don’t take this “scandal” thing any further than you can handle. But I digress. Wanna win it? Leave a comment with your email address! Yep, that’s all. (International peeps are eligible. She’s awesome like that, isn’t she?)

Thank you all so very much for spending a part of your day with us. Jenna, I wish you all the success in the world this one!