Tags

, , ,

Today I welcome back one of my dear friends, although she seems to be up to no good. *cough* Christine Warner, apparently, is Two-Timing the Boss and — what’s this? — she’s here to tell us all about it. (Yeah, I thought that might get your attention. *grin*) Let’s move to the edge of our seats for the torrid details, shall we?

Welcome back, Christine, and congrats on the release of Two-Timing the Boss. *raises an eyebrow* Do tell what this one is about!

Hey Sarah, thanks for having me back J Your blog is always a fun place to be. Two-Timing the Boss is a sexy, contemporary romance that I had a great time writing.  Here’s a blurb:

Farah Smith is on a mission: secure the funds for her twin sister’s surgery.  She’ll do whatever it takes to succeed.  Even if that means putting her values aside to work for a man she finds morally bankrupt.  But when the real Farah meets her new boss, she wonders if she’ll be able to resist his sexy advances long enough to help her sister.

From the blonde wig, to the stilettos strapped around her ankles, Farah’s a clone of Keller Donovan’s harem of past assistants.  She can’t believe she’s let herself be talked into the disguise, let alone working for the man planning to demolish the hospital her sister so desperately needs, but the salary he offers is the only way she’ll be able to afford her sister’s surgery.  The moment Farah meets Keller she realizes her most daunting task isn’t typing, spreadsheets or organizing travel arrangements, but fighting the growing attraction toward a man whose ruthlessness is legendary in the boardroom as well as the bedroom.

Determined not to end up in a disastrous marriage like his divorced parents, Keller believes all relationships should have a shelf life of sixth months or less.  But when he meets Farah, all bets are off.  He not only wants her to continue as his personal assistant, but his own private bed warmer.  Unfortunately, his offer of an affair doesn’t sit well with her fairytale dreams or the strangled hold gripping his heart.

Oooh, that sounds deliciously intense. Love the high stakes! What was your single greatest inspiration for the story?

I’m not sure I really had one single inspiring moment. Basically, I was driving into work one morning and a title popped into my head. That is how I come up a with a lot of my story ideas J And from that title I came up with a storyline involving twin sisters who would do just about anything they could for the other.

I love how this happens on your way to work, LOL. What might readers be surprised to learn about the plot or characters of Two-Timing the Boss?

That I based a lot of the relationship between Farah and her sister Karah on my own sister and I. And, coincidentally, my sister’s name is Cara J

I wonder what your sister thinks about her role in this story? I’ll save that one for another day, LOL. Let’s have some fun with Two-Timing the Boss. What’s the first sentence?

“He’s ready to see you, Miss Smith.”

Now that conjures up all types of possibilities doesn’t it?  lol

It most certainly does! ;c) What’s your favorite line in the book?

Hmm…that is so hard. I like so many lines and paragraphs and scenes.  J I do really like this sentence because it’s from a scene that was very fun to write. A scene where Farah is on a business trip with her boss, but in her hotel room thinking she’s in the clear and able to remove her disguise.  But when Keller comes knocking, she has a race around the room to put herself back together and when he enters, he seems a bit nervous and she has a bit of fun with him.

“You look like you expect me to drag you into the bathroom to paint your nails and share secrets.”

I can just imagine the urgency and panic she’d feel in that moment, LOL. How about an excerpt … three sentences long! Yep, that’s it. Three!

LOL…you make this so tough on me!  Here’s a little snippet that might give you a taste of what Farah faces.

Her ankles shook with the effort of staying upright when she stepped inside the room.  Damn heels.  She didn’t know how women wore these all day without earning frequent flyer miles on their emergency room VIP cards.

I heartily agree (says the person who got married barefoot to avoid the shoes), LOL! Which scene of Two-Timing the Boss was most difficult for you to write? Why?

The most difficult scene for me to write was the steamy love scene that took place in the back seat of a car. I rewrote it at least six times. My main problem was making sure body parts were in the right places and able to really do what they were doing!  lol

Love scenes are the very bane of my existence. I’m glad I’m not the only one, although I do have to say now I will be paying *very* close attention during that scene of the book. Muahaahaaaahaa! Oh, erm … Which scene would you most like to experience for yourself? From whose POV?

There’s a scene in Las  Vegas where Farah and Keller each face their fears. One of Farah’s is a fear of heights and they go on a ride atop a building. I would love to try that, because I’m afraid of heights to the extreme. But if I did it in Farah’s POV, with hot and hunky Keller by my side, it’d be doable…YUMJ

Yeah, I bet! LOL. (I’m still trying to decide about that ride, but if I can get my husband to Vegas there’s no telling what will happen. Literally.) I love how you wrote that into your story. That’s awesome! Now, what inspired the title of Two-Timing the Boss?

Actually, when I was writing Two-Timing the Boss, the working title was Fakin- It with Farah, but when The Wild Rose Press contracted it they asked if I could come up with another title. So, after brainstorming with my wonderful editor and a couple of cp’s we came up with Two-Timing the Boss.

It’s a fantastic title. Hard not to want to know more when you see it! Before we take a closer look at the story, can you tell us what’s next for you?

I have a book coming out with Entangled Publishing but I don’t have a release date yet. I’m also working on the sequel to Some Like it in Handcuffs which is titled Some Like it on the Run and I have 2 other stories I’m preparing to send into Entangled Publishing as proposals J

(Sneaking in a SQUEEE! before we get to the excerpt. SQUEEEE!) 

Two-Timing the Boss: Excerpt

Keller’s lungs fought for air.  As of late, whenever they were in the same room there wasn’t enough oxygen to go around.  Her eyes glazed over as she stared into his and he realized just what an ass he’d been.

Sure, he needed to keep his distance, but he didn’t need to disrespect her and make her fear she’d done something wrong.

The little bit of jealousy that kept surfacing whenever he thought of her with another man—the man on the phone—was wreaking havoc on his professional life at the office and also his personal life.  But he couldn’t continue to blame his lack of manners and jealous streak on his sleep deprivation.

No way did he want her to feel like she did a bad job, or failed.  From the start he knew Farah prided herself on being a hard and loyal worker.

He ran his hands through his hair.  “You’re right.  Robin made a similar comment, but I didn’t realize how unfair I was being until just now.”

Farah stepped back.  Her eyes circled and her mouth hung open.  “Are you apologizing?  Just like that?”

He nodded.  “I don’t want you to leave, Farah.  Please don’t doubt your abilities as my assistant.  You’ve exceeded even my expectations.”  Keller rubbed the back of his neck.  “The way I’ve been treating you, it’s wrong.  It’s an issue, personal, and I need to learn to deal with it.”  He fumbled over his words, but he didn’t want to reveal too much.  Farah was smart and if he said anything more she might just figure out he had started to think of her in another light besides an employee.

Blurb

Farah Smith is on a mission: secure the funds for her twin sister’s surgery.  She’ll do whatever it takes to succeed.  Even if that means putting her values aside to work for a man she finds morally bankrupt.  But when the real Farah meets her new boss, she wonders if she’ll be able to resist his sexy advances long enough to help her sister.

From the blonde wig, to the stilettos strapped around her ankles, Farah’s a clone of Keller Donovan’s harem of past assistants.  She can’t believe she’s let herself be talked into the disguise, let alone working for the man planning to demolish the hospital her sister so desperately needs, but the salary he offers is the only way she’ll be able to afford her sister’s surgery.  The moment Farah meets Keller she realizes her most daunting task isn’t typing, spreadsheets or organizing travel arrangements, but fighting the growing attraction toward a man whose ruthlessness is legendary in the boardroom as well as the bedroom.

Determined not to end up in a disastrous marriage like his divorced parents, Keller believes all relationships should have a shelf life of sixth months or less.  But when he meets Farah, all bets are off.  He not only wants her to continue as his personal assistant, but his own private bed warmer.  Unfortunately, his offer of an affair doesn’t sit well with her fairytale dreams or the strangled hold gripping his heart.

Find it @ The Wild Rose Press (paperback) | Amazon

Christine Warner

Christine Warner is living her dream in rural Michigan along with her husband, three children, one laptop and a much loved assortment of furry friends.

Besides laughing and a good round of humor, she enjoys spending time with her family, cooking, reading, writing but no arithmitic.  A confessed people watcher, she finds inspiration for her stories in everyday activities.  She loves to read and write about strong heroes and determined, sometimes sassy, heroines.

A girl gone wild, at least where social media is concerned, she enjoys meeting other avid readers and writers on facebook, twitter and her website at christine-warner.com.

And you can find me at:

My blog/website | Twitter @ ChristinesWords | My Facebook page…stop by and give it a LIKE to informed of what I have in the works: click here | Goodreads

If I hadn’t already found you, I’d totally be looking you up, Christine! Thanks so much for coming by today. I hope the book simply explodes for you (in the good way, lol). Congratulations! And thanks to all the readers who stopped by today. I hope you’ll say hello to Christine — maybe have a little word with her about Two-Timing the Boss. *grin*