Tags

, , , ,

Welcome, readers! You all are in for a treat today. Debbie Gould and L.J. Garland have so much energy I’m seriously trying to think of a way to pilfer a little of it before they head for the back exit. (Why the back exit? The papparazzi are out front, a’course.)

Sarah: Welcome, and congratulations on the publication of SINS OF THE MIND.

DEBBIE GOULD: Thanks for inviting us, I’m excited.

LJ GARLAND: Yes, thanks so much for having us today!

Sarah: ‘Tis a pleasure! Before we dig into the book, can you tell readers about your working relationship? How do you co-write?

DEBBIE GOULD: We probably work differently than other writing teams. It’s hard to explain how we do it, but it works for us.

LJ GARLAND: Yeah, I would have to say that we’re talking about everything as we go along. We don’t divide anything up really. We do it all together. And for stuff like research, we take turns…well, more like whoever gets to it first. <g>

DEBBIE GOULD: LOL, whatever it is, it works well for us. The chapters end up being a blend of our voices. When my mother read Sins of the Mind, she said there were definite spots she could pick out my voice, and spots she could tell were Laura’s but the majority was a blend of both.

LJ GARLAND: Love it! :o)

Sarah: Okay, I’m uber impressed. I can’t even write by myself without arguing with the voices in my head. While I pout, can you tell us about Sins of the Mind?

LJ GARLAND: This is our first co-authored release…and it’s also the first book from the Red River series. It’s a romantic suspense from Decadent Publishing. Basically, it’s a story of Love, Obsession, and Murder.

DEBBIE GOULD: And secrets.

LJ GARLAND: Oh yes!! Lots of secrets…deep and dark. It seem that almost every character has one. LOL

DEBBIE GOULD: Don’t we all? Mwahahahaha.

Sarah: *Looks around, whistling.* Did you ever disagree about significant plot points? If so, how did you come to a meeting of the minds?

DEBBIE GOULD: No, I don’t think so, and even the small stuff, I wouldn’t call it disagreeing. If one of us saw the story going one way or a character doing something different, we would talk back and forth to make sure we were eventually both seeing the same thing and agreeing on it.

LJ GARLAND: Yep. We talk all the time while we’re writing a story. Back and forth, IMing and emailing. As far as significant plot points, we’d planned those all out ahead of time, so we were already on the same page. And even then we saw the story unfolding the same way.

Sarah: I can totally see you selling books just so people can see you two in action. *grin* Let’s have some fun with Sins of the Mind. What’s the first sentence?

Detective Ethan Parker stepped from his Chevy Tahoe, ice-cold air biting every inch of unprotected skin.

Sarah: That one gave me a chill. ;c) What’s your favorite line in the book?

LJ GARLAND: Wow, that’s a tough question. Deb?

DEBBIE GOULD: That is really hard to answer. I think we have a lot of great lines in there. Most of my favorite, though, are the ones between Ethan and Abby.

LJ GARLAND: Yeah, I guess I’d have to go with the scene where Ethan is grilling Elliot at the station…
The lawyer’s eyes widened, intrigue dancing in their depths. “Are and you. Like a question. Are you the killer? Or are you guilty?”

Sarah: LOL! That’s a great line (and an equally great discussion getting there). I love what I’m seeing of this story, so gimme some more. How about an excerpt … three sentences long! Yep, that’s it. Three!

Trailing his hand up her arm, he twisted his fingers through her hair. Lust arrowed through him, hot and intense. More than anything, he wanted to lay her down on the rug in front of the fire and make love to her.

Sarah: Oh, dear. That’s amazing. Which scene of Sins of the Mind was most difficult for you to write? Why? (And clearly that last one wasn’t it!)

DEBBIE GOULD: I’d have to say the climax at the end. I wanted to make sure it read fast and would have the reader flipping pages to find out what happens.

LJ GARLAND: Yeah…while the opening is tough because you have to hook the reader, the end of the story has to satisfy as well. Debbie and I both like to have the reader gripping the book…or ebook reader…as they read the end. lol

Sarah: So which of you do I approach after I crack my Kindle? *cough* Okay, the real question is this: Which scene would you most like to experience for yourself? From whose POV?

DEBBIE GOULD: HAHAHA! I wouldn’t turn down a date with Ethan.

LJ GARLAND: I think it’d be cool to drive Ethan’s police cruiser through town. lol

Sarah: Ethan, things might get interesting for you, buddy. Just a heads up. ;c) What inspired the title Sins of the Mind?

LJ GARLAND: I think you already had the title, didn’t you, Debbie?

DEBBIE GOULD: Yup. We had been brainstorming a plot in one of the books I was writing (still unfinished, lol) and I showed her the first chapter of another story—Sins of the Mind—that had been screaming in my brain at me. She liked it, and I asked her if she wanted to co-write it.

LJ GARLAND: That’s right! And I was excited because the story was really interesting. Romance and murder, what’s not to like? So, we spent several days brainstorming ideas and things got pretty intense and…what’s the word I’m looking for?

DEBBIE GOULD: Twisted.

LJ GARLAND: That’s it! Twisted is exactly how this story went. Lol

DEBBIE GOULD: From there, came the town of Red River.

LJ GARLAND: Yes. We both loved the town and the characters that survived the first book. And voilà, Sins of the Mind and the Red River series!

DEBBIE GOULD: It was a big joint effort.

LJ GARLAND: Yep. Debbie and I work great together. We get to talking and the ideas just flow. It amazes me how “on-track” we are with each other. We’re both very open…listen to each other’s thoughts and ideas…whining, complaining… *cough*, um, laughing and giggling.

DEBBIE: Definitely. We have great brainstorming sessions on all our stories, and it’s amazing the things we come up with. I also think we share a brain, lol.

LAURA: Yeah! A lot of times, I’m IMing something to Deb, and by the time I hit SEND, BAM – she’s IMd me the same thing! LOL

Sarah: You are totally making me smile. It’s almost like young love, although it’s authors who are . . . twisted. In a like-minded sort of way. (I’m guessing there are now offers to act as your publicist in my future, LOL.) Now, before we exit this love-in (*giggle*), can you tell us what you’re currently working on?

DEBBIE GOULD: We’re actually working on three stories right now.

LJ GARLAND: Oh gosh, yes…we are! We keep tossing these chapters back and forth and sometimes I forget which character goes with which story. LOL

DEBBIE GOULD: I try to keep her straight, but it’s difficult at times. Especially if Laura hasn’t had her coffee.

LJ GARLAND: (glances down at coffee cup) Oh wait. I need a refill. Back in a sec.

DEBBIE GOULD: (sigh) We are working on the next book in the Red River Series, yup more murder, mayhem, and romance, lol.

LJ GARLAND: Back. Now, Red River series? Yep, we’ll be torturing the next characters even more than the first. Though, I think Sins of the Mind had several unexpected twists…and the characters got banged up pretty good.

DEBBIE GOULD: Think we should tease?

LJ GARLAND: Why not? LOL

Sarah: I think it’s too late to ask, LOL.

DEBBIE GOULD: Okay. So, the next story in the Red River series is Will Donovan’s story. Here’s a little bit of our latest WIP….

FBI Agent Will Donovan jogged down the platform toward the train. Each step jolted the flashlight in his hand, sending the beam of light dashing over the concrete in front of him. Would he be too late?

Rows of light illuminated the abandoned trains, left in an old offshoot line of Boston’s Boylston Street Station. He rushed past a wall decorated with graffiti and cobwebs, his footsteps ringing hollow in the old concrete-lined tunnel. Behind him his partner, Kate Yarbrough followed.

“Will,” she called, her voice a harsh whisper filled with warning.

He slowed up. Kate was right. Rushing in could get them both killed. Just because the psycho bastard hadn’t set traps before didn’t mean there weren’t any this time. With both hands, he swept his flashlight beam and Glock 23 across the area, searching out the monster who’d murdered so many women. But only dirt, gravel, and rusted tracks were revealed.

He twisted back to his partner, who tilted her head toward the train car. Get on the train, Will. Find the girl. He nodded.

Sarah: I so love that. You guys have a new fan — I’m hooked!

DEBBIE GOULD: We’re just contracted a suspense short story for Decadent’s 1Night Stand series.

LJ GARLAND: Oh, yeah…In My Sights, with those hottie pararescue guys.

DEBBIE GOULD: Oh, my they are sooo hot and a great bunch of guys.

LJ GARLAND: In My Sights is a romantic suspense. And we’re hoping to build a string of stories about these amazing guys.

DEBBIE GOULD: Did I mention they are hot!

LJ GARLAND: LOL Yes, Debbie. The guys are hot. But they’re more than that, too. Right? They have their own set of issues/baggage. The third story we’re working on is a short paranormal romantic suspense.

DEBBIE GOULD: Oh, yeah. The tat story.

LJ GARLAND: Another twisty tale…or it should be by the time we’re finished.

DEBBIE GOULD: No doubt, lol. If one of our minds doesn’t think of it, the other does.

LJ GARLAND: So, hopefully, we’ll have more releases soon. Some shorts and a longer story or two.

Sarah: Sounds AMAZING, you two! I’m looking forward to hearing more. ;c) In the mean time, let’s take a closer look at Sins of the Mind.

Sins of the Mind

Seven years ago, Abby Montgomery survived a brutal attack. Now she is ready to put her pain in the past and move on with her life. The problem is, one by one the men in her life are being viciously murdered.

The detective assigned to the case, Ethan Parker, has demons of his own to hide. As the danger gets closer to Abby, so does Ethan. But can they get past his secrets before the killer gets to them? Sometimes the sins of the mind are more depraved than the sins of the heart.

Find it @ Decadent | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Author Linkage

Website
L.J. Garland – www.lj-garland.com
Debbie Gould – http://www.authordebbiegould.com/

Blog
Garland & Gould blog – http://www.garland-and-gould.blogspot.com/

Amazon Author Page
L.J. Garland – http://www.amazon.com/L.J.-Garland/e/B007R4U57K/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

Twitter
L.J. Garland – @LJ_Garland1
Debbie Gould – @DebbieGould

Email
L.J. Garland – mail@lj-garland.com
Debbie Gould – mountecho2006@yahoo.com

LJ GARLAND: Thank you so much for having us here today!
DEBBIE GOULD: Yes, thanks! We had a wonderful time!

Sarah: Thank you! You guys have totally inspired me, and that’s hard to do with my kids running pell mell around my house. (I don’t know what that means, exactly, but my grandma said it when my cousins and I were getting on her nerves, so I’m assuming it’s appropriate. Ha.) Thanks for being here, and happy, happy writing. You guys rock!

Readers, as always it’s a thrill to have you hang out. Thank you for your time!