Tags

, ,

Exciting, laugh-out-loud contemporary romantic suspense – click image for more information.

Christine Warner is back with a guest blog you guys are going to love, so I’m going to get out of her way — not just so you can see what she has to say, but also because she’s taking ice out of her drink to throw at me.

Christine Warner: Just Breathe…or is it Breath?

We all have words that make us stop mid key-board stroke and wonder (or is it wander) if we are making the write—oops, I mean right—choice.

I notice when I write there are certain words that trip me up and stop me in my tracks (or do I mean treks?).  Don’t you think everyone (or should I say every one with a space between the words?) has words that give them cause to pause?  As a writer I work hard to choose words which will convey my characters moods and feelings, set the scene, bring my story to life for my reader.  Sometimes it’s hard to accept (except) that I have to stop and double check myself from time to time to make sure I’m choosing the right word to get my point across the way I mean.

This brings me to those awesome people who help me get it right.  Critique partners.  As a writer, you have to love your critiquers.  (I know I don’t mean you’re right?  You’re is the contraction for you are).  These awesome sticklers of the written word catch many a mistake, not just with plot holes or inconsistencies, but grammar and spelling.  They are amazing and know—not no, as if in a negative response—their stuff.  Each partner is different in what they notice or catch, but they all have a flair (which means a conspicuous talent, whereas flare is either a noun meaning flame or a verb meaning to blaze or to burst in anger.) on finding those pesky mistakes and helping to make this woman get it right.  (Not women, which is a mistake my partners have caught for me hundreds of times, don’t know why, but I always seem to type the wrong one, even though I know the meaning…applause to the critique ladies).

The next time your fingers are flying across the keyboard at warp speed and your muse is talking so fast you can hardly manage to keep up, then one of those words jump out at you and your mind falls flat and your fingers curl, remember to not to let those mistakes bother you to the point where you lose sleep…*gulp*, I hope I don’t mean loose.  Trust in yourself and the eagle eyes of your cp’s.

After you get that first draft or tentative chapter out to your critiquers, you’ll be able to sit back and just breathe (I hope I don’t mean breath).

Author or not, please feel free to share any of those trip-up words that overtake your writing from time to time—or invade your thoughts.  I’d love to hear them.  And fingers crossed that I didn’t mess any of them up in my blog today…lol…now how funny would that be?

And while I’m here, I’d love to share a blurb and excerpt from my debut release, Some Like it in Handcuffs.

Sunny Kennedy, the only female in a family of blue blood male detectives, is determined to prove testosterone isn’t the only qualification required to solve a cold case. Handcuffed while undercover then taken to the precinct by an attractive detective, her domineering family demands she work with Detective Judson Blackwolf, or she’s off the case.

Judson Blackwolf thinks women in law enforcement should work behind the scenes. The prospect of working with his Captain’s sexy daughter doesn’t thrill him. He only agrees in hopes of solving the murder of his one time mentor’s daughter. Once the case is over, he’s moving to Montana to heal his wounds from the loss of his last partner.

But when their investigation takes a dangerous turn, Sunny and Jud soon realize their feelings for each other cannot be denied.

Judson soaked in her appearance, but controlled his grin. A pair of baggy sweatpants and a stretched out blue sweatshirt which matched the color of her eyes looked sexy as hell on Sunny. She’d pulled her hair into a pony tail and her small feet were hidden in a pair of girlish, fluffy, pink slippers. With her tomboyish ways, he never considered she’d own anything girly, fluffy, and especially pink. The black framed glasses perched on the tip of her nose almost caused him to come undone. He didn’t usually go for the brainy look, but the whole effect had him rethink his prejudice. Nerdy looked great from this view.

He looked around her small, homey apartment. Antique wooden tables accented the array of bright colored leather furniture. Neon red, green, yellow and blue leather filled the room. Somehow the quirky furnishings matched her personality, and the way she’d arranged the old and new pieces brought the room together nicely. Pictures of her family were visible on every available surface, and unexpected piles of romance novels covered a corner of the floor to his right. He smiled at the discovery. He’d have guessed she’d be more interested in true crime or mysteries.

He cleared his throat. “Nice place.”

“I like it.”

The way she slid her heart shaped pendant back and forth along the chain of her necklace betrayed her agitation. She hid her gaze beneath the fluttery fan of her lashes.

“Surprised to see me?”

He waited until she’d taken a seat on the yellow sofa before he claimed a spot on the red chair across from her.

“You could say that. I hoped you’d drop it and leave me to work alone.” The smile on her lips didn’t reach her eyes. “Your tough skin must’ve deflected the message I sent through my powers of mental telepathy.”

He laughed outright before he could stop himself. Her outspoken sense of humor and girl-next-door-look were a lethal combination since she was off limits. Only an idiot would mess with the boss’s daughter.

Some Like it in Handcuffs is available in print and digital format at:

http://thewildrosepress.com/

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/

http://www.amazon.com/

And you can find me at:

My blog/website:  http://christine-warner.com/

Twitter under ChristinesWords: https://twitter.com/#!/ChristinesWords

My Facebook page…stop by and give it a LIKE to keep up on what I have coming up: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Christine-Warner/143430882396013

I love to hear from readers and other authors J