Tags

, , , , ,

Take a CHANCE on this hot one night stand! Click image for details.

Debbie Gould joins us today with an extra special 1NS title featuring a hero who is US Air Force special ops. I hope you’ll take a minute to visit with this author and her powerful story line, then stay tuned to the end to find out how you can win it. I’d also like you to visit our comment section to tell us about your own military service or that of a loved one. But first, let’s get to know Debbie, shall we?

Welcome, Debbie! I scoped your bio and find it fascinating you only recently found your love of writing. What did you do prior to becoming an author?

I was and am still a nurse working full time in a rural setting family practice.

That sounds amazing. I bet you have a great relationships with your regulars, and rural ROCKS. (I’m a huge fan of country living. *grins*) I’m also a huge fan of romantic suspense. What draws you to write in the genre?

I love a story that combines some good  suspense in it along with romance. I like to be kept on the edge of my seat wondering what will happen next.

Me, too! I love the added tension. Let’s talk SECOND CHANCE. Can you introduce our readers to the story?

The hero, Colin, is in the Air Force. In Special Ops. His wife dies in childbirth while he is away on a mission and he basically shuts down emotionally, living only for the job. His sister-in-law has taken over care of his infant daughter, and his guilt keeps him from them. Two years later, his buddy has had enough of Colin wallowing in his guilt and conspires to help him get his life back.

Wow. Powerful plot! What might readers be surprised to learn about the story?

I think a lot of readers may not understand how Colin could let his grief and guilt affect his so deeply, but unless you are in the military or have a family member in, you just can’t understand what it’s like for them being deployed and away from their loved ones and the adjustment time it takes when they return home.

I live in a military town, and the deployments and homecomings are always all over the local news. Even though I don’t have any loved ones in the military, I always cry *so* much with those folks. I can only imagine how it must be for those families. (Thank you all!) This is such a poignant plot thread — I love it! Let’s have some fun with SECOND CHANCE. What’s the first sentence?

Colin had no idea what to say to her.

Yep, I’d keep reading! LOL. How about an excerpt … three sentences long! Yep, that’s it. Three!

Colin thrust his hand through his hair and glared at his friend. “I’m not hiding, damn it. You of all people know what Tabitha’s death did to me. I’d say I’m functioning pretty damn well.”

Such emotion there. I really feel for Colin just knowing his circumstances, and this furthers that. Which scene of SECOND CHANCE was most difficult for you to write? Why?

The sex is always the hardest for me to write. No idea why, it just really difficult to make it flow and be about emotion and not insert A into slot B.

OMG! ::cling:: Me, too! That is exactly my problem — sex scenes hate me! (*relieved it’s not just me* lol). Which scene of SECOND CHANCE would you most like to experience for yourself? From whose POV?

I would have loved to actually been there when Bobby was telling Colin what a jerk he was. They almost came to blows, but Bobby, Colin’s buddy, was trying to get Colin to realize how stubborn he was being.

Oooh, another powerful moment! (I’m dying to read this book, you know! LOL.) Before we get into the blurb, can you tell us what’s next for you? 

My writing partner, L.J. Garland and I have a Romantic Suspense Sins of the Mind coming out with Decadent Publishing and we are also working on Bobby’s story.

Much to look forward to! But we can start right here with SECOND CHANCE.

SECOND CHANCE | blurb

Lieutenant Colin Beckett, US Air Force special ops, lost his wife in childbirth while off on a mission. Two years later, he’s still trying to come to grips with the guilt that tortures him. And to complicate matters, he finds himself undeniably attracted to his wife’s sister, Emily. Struggling with his desire, he tells himself he doesn’t deserve a second chance with such an amazing woman.

Emily wants Colin in her life and her bed. Enlisting the help of Colin’s teammates and Madame Eve’s 1Night Stand dating service, she plans to prove to Colin he can have everything he lost once again.

Will their one night lead to the happy ending she longs for or the loneliness he thinks he deserves?

MORE INFO & BUY @ DECADENT | AMAZON

DEBBIE GOULD | bio & links

Born in Wichita Falls, Texas, at the age of two Debbie and her mother moved to New Jersey, spending many happy years on her grandparents’ horse farm. You’ll sometimes find this setting as a backdrop in her work.

As a teenager, she and her mother found a new home in Vermont, where she currently resides. With a daughter in the Air Force,  one son in college and the other working for the family business,  Debbie now shuffles her time between a husband and full time job as a nurse, and writing.

About seven years ago, while looking at over three hundred treasured books lining her shelves, she realized there was a multitude of stories of her own clamoring for release. Since then, she’s seriously persevered in keeping the keyboard in constant motion.

With two novels, Mountain’s Echo and Infidelity, and two novellas, November Rain and Second Chance now published, Debbie is now also working with a partner, L.J. Garland. Together the two have written Sins of the Mind and are hard at work on many more manuscripts.

Debbie has been a member of KOD, FTHRW, ELEMENTS and RWA Online.

MORE INFO & FOLLOW @ WEBSITE | BLOG | DECADENT | FACEBOOK @ Debbie Riker Gould

**GIVEAWAY**

One random commenter will be chosen to win an e-copy of SECOND CHANCE. To enter, simple say hello and provide your email address and you will be eligible for the giveaway. But in the spirit of all our military does for us, if you are in the military or know or are part of a military family, please use the comment section to give a shout out, say some thanks, or tell us about your friends and loved ones who serve or have served. They rock, so brag a little about them!

Debbie, I’d like to thank you for coming and introducing us to your story. Readers, thanks so much for allowing us to be a small part of your day. I can’t wait to read your comments!