Tags

, , , , ,

Have a little RENDEZVOUS of your own! Click image for more information.

Ready to kick off another week? Today we’re joined by Lynne Connolly and her erotic romance novella RENDEZVOUS AT MIDNIGHT. Y’all, I saw the blurb for this story and I was hooked. Anything that starts with “A haunted ocean liner” is sooo on my wish list, and I think after you read this guest blog you’ll agree this sounds like a fascinating story. Lynne, welcome, and take it away!

Lynn Connolly: A Haunted Ocean Liner – how ridiculous!

Q: Lynne, what inspired you to write “Rendezvous at Midnight”?

My inspiration for “Rendezvous at Midnight” came from a real life example!

Years ago I saw a TV program called “Most Haunted,” a UK program where the participants went to a reputedly haunted location and had a tour, and then a séance. The program usually ended with a lot of screaming, and towards the end was more about sensationalism than true investigation.

However, it was amusing, and occasionally thought-provoking. One of these took place on the old “Queen Mary” and in particular, they claimed to have discovered wet footprints on the site of the old plunge pool. That remained with me, and when I wanted to write a ghost story, I finally got to use it.

Q: But you put the child of a vampire into the story! Where did he come from?

I’ve written about vampires for years, and created a world that is consistent over all my paranormals. “Rendezvous at Midnight” gave me a chance to write about an aspect I’d wanted to cover for years – ghosts and what the children of vampires who aren’t vampires themselves do. In my world, there are no hybrids, so if a vampire makes love to a mortal, they could have a vampire child, or a mortal one. Michael is a non-vampire, but the children of vampires have another gift, which some claim is a curse—they can see and communicate with ghosts.

Q: Do you believe in ghosts?

I certainly do! As a child, I lived in a haunted house!

Q: How chilling! Tell us more!

We had a shop in the city of Leicester that was made of three houses, and was across the road from St. Margaret’s Church, a fifteenth century church that had a lot of influence at one time. We used to hear footsteps where there was nobody, and hear noises. In our bathroom, a converted bedroom, a strange light used to appear on the wall. I hated that light, and I used to have very fast baths!

Q: So you used your knowledge of ghosts in the book?

Not really. I decided to incorporate ghosts into my paranormal world, so I decided that ghosts are sometimes restless spirits who needed closure. Michael Scott is a medium who helps them get that closure, but he needs to earn a living, so he works for a TV franchise, “Ghosts at Home,” which visits haunted locations and compiles an hour long TV program on them. There are several teams of camera, presenter and mediums. Lisa Perez is the presenter, and someone Michael has wanted for a long time. Once she has ended her current relationship, Michael sees his chance, and moves in.

Q: How does Lisa fit in to the story?

Her mother died aboard the “Gem of The Sea” and Lisa wants to find out what happened, as she was never happy about the outcome, which involved a prominent politician. She’s always suspected a coverup. However, she doesn’t suspect that her mother is one of the ghosts!

Q: So the story is ghosts, vampire children, and…?

Hot sex. Yes, there is some coming together in this book. Quite a lot, really. Michael has wanted Lisa for a long time, and Lisa has been thinking and fantasizing guiltily about Michael, so when they finally get it on, it’s action all the way!

RENDEZVOUS AT MIDNIGHT | blurb

A haunted ocean liner, a woman with a family mystery to solve, and a man who can talk to ghosts—what do they have in common? A timeless love and the very real threat of murder, that’s what.

Lisa, a host for the TV program Ghost at Home, and Michael, a medium also for the program, share a past together. But it remains to be seen if they have a future….

When the program gets offered to spend a weekend of ghost-hunting on The Gem of the Sea, Lisa sees her chance to discover what really happened to her mother the day she died on the great ocean liner. But over the course of one passion-filled weekend, Lisa and Michael must fight a malevolence the likes of which neither has encountered before.

Will they win or become two more of the unquiet spirits haunting the old ship?

Rendezvous at Midnight is published by Decadent Publishing, and is available from Amazon UK, Amazon US, All Romance eBooks and all other good eBook retailers.

LYNNE CONNOLLY | about the author

I was born in Leicester, England, and lived in our cobbler’s shop with my parents and sister. It was an old house and most definitely haunted, but I didn’t find out until I left that my great uncle had hung himself in the living room! But I think our ghost might have been older than that. It was built on the site of the old Roman cemetery, and the land had been constantly inhabited, being in the centre of town. Then, when the council bought the house from us to build a road, my grandfather retired and my father went and worked for the Post Office. My mother was a sample machinist; that is, she worked with designers on the prototypes (models or samples) of garments. So I was very well dressed! We bought a relatively modern house in the country, and my mother was blissfully happy. It’s all very well living in a large old house, but it’s a dreadful task to keep it clean and warm!

My mother’s side of the family are Romany gypsies, although sadly we haven’t any of the old trailers that are so astonishingly beautiful. I was taught to read the Tarot cards, and I usually use two packs; the Rider pack for simple readings and the Crowley Thoth pack for the complex stuff.

I’ve always had an interest in the paranormal and it’s been a delight to be able to put some of this into my novels.

Website: http://lynneconnolly.com

Sarah here: Lynne, what a fantastic post! Thanks so much for visiting and sharing this story with us. (And I wasn’t kidding … you had me at “haunted ocean liner,” LOL!) Readers, I hope you’ll welcome Lynne with your comments. *grin* Have a wonderful day, everyone!