Tags

, , , , , , ,

Feel the pull? Learn more about MIDNIGHT BECKONING by clicking the image!

I met Robin Badillo through Twitter and was immediately drawn to her. Then, when I stalked her bio for this interview, I figured it must have been something in the radar because her rowdy household full of kids and stray gray hairs sounds *so* much like mine, it feels good just to know her, LOL. At any rate, I think you guys are really going to like her and I’m so pleased to introduce you to her today. She came bearing gifts, too, as there’s an e-copy of MIDNIGHT BECKONING up for grabs. Details follow the interview, so let’s get to it!

**Giveaway Closed** Congratulations to Tammy R!

Robin, you may not know it yet, but we’ve totally bonded. We each have a *whole* lotta kids who give us gray hair and we write to escape the madness that is life. Isn’t it SUBLIME? *grins* Okay, that’s not the real question, lol. Let’s go with this: What triggered your writing career?

My writing career stemmed from a need to have the ‘happily ever afters’ I always imagined for other books that didn’t deliver. After complaining to a friend of mine that I wished certain stories would have gone in other directions, she agreed and told me the only way to remedy it would be to write my own. The rest is history.

What a cool story! Do you write in a particular genre or do you write across several? Can you tell us about your backlist?

Initially, I started with paranormal romance, which led to southern contemporary stories and, believe it or not, I’ve just christened my alter ego, Tyler Robbins, and will soon have a M/M erotic story published. I suppose you could say I’m dipping my proverbial quill in several ink wells and loving every minute of it.

Oooh, I love the way you think! ;c) What about our featured title? Can you introduce us to the book? Give us a scoop we won’t find in the blurb!

Midnight Beckoning offers a particular situation I have a soft spot for…love triangles. Temptation is a true test and when the chemistry is there as well as good intentions, it’s so much fun to see what fate decides for the hero and heroine.

This tasty story has it all:  Vampires, Damphyr, Incubi, legends and folklore and a couple other surprises along the way.

As far as a scoop? As with most of my books, paranormal or not, there is always a twist and of I did my job, you won’t see it coming.

You had me at “love triangle,” LOL! But what a fascinating line-up of  Let’s have some fun with MIDNIGHT BECKONING. What’s the first sentence?

The first sentence of chapter one:

The deafening sound of shattering glass yielded to an eerie silence and clouds of settling dust and debris.

Excellent hook! I can’t imagine anyone not wanting to read what comes after that. Let’s reel ’em in with an excerpt … three sentences long! Yep, that’s it. Three!

This excerpt is said by Ford, the hero, to Lauren, the object of his affection:

“You make me insane, furious and every intense emotion left in the dictionary.” He kissed her softly. “But you also make me feel weak, clumsy and useless.”

Oh, gosh, isn’t that how we all want our men? (Maybe not verbatim “useless”—we don’t want the guys out there taking this too literally, LOL.) Which scene of MIDNIGHT BECKONING was most difficult for you to write? Why?

The final battle scene was the most difficult. It was hard because I never take the loss of a character easy and goodbyes are never fun. I hope that isn’t a spoiler.

It’s intriguing is what it is, LOL! Which scene would you most like to experience for yourself? From whose POV?

I would love to experience the opening scene in chapter one from Lauren’s point of view. All heck is breaking loose and the hero, Ford, rushes in to save the day. Who wouldn’t want some tall dark and menacing Damphyr King to bust in and whisk you away on his back to keep flying hell demons from killing you? Very sexy!

Sexy indeed! What inspired the title of MIDNIGHT BECKONING?

In this story the main Damphyr have a gift of connecting to one another in their dreams. After all, in this story, human women are impregnated by incubi in their sleep and awaken thinking it was all just a dream.

Ford is able to find Lauren when she comes to him in her own dreams, beckoning him to find her, even though they have never met.

What a great plot thread! (And since my husband and I were surprised by our sixth child *after* I had my tubes tied, I bet he’d love this as an excuse so I can stop blaming him, LOL.) Okay, Robin, before we go, can you tell us what’s next for you?

I have a release coming very soon from Evernight Publishing. This will be published under my pen name, Tyler Robbins. “Beyond Honor” is a M/M erotic romance based on the repeal of the “don’t ask, don’t tell” policy of the US military and takes place in Texas.

As far as current works in progress, I have a paranormal /vampire story and another southern romance involving undercover police officers and a serial killer. I like to keep y’all guessing. You’ll never know what I’ll come up with next.

I love serial killers! (Well, in terms of plottage, LOL.) It sounds like your readers are treated to a huge variety from you. On that note, here’s a closer look at MIDNIGHT BECKONING.

MIDNIGHT BECKONING | blurb

Damphyr, Ford Lenox had waited three hundred years for an ancient prophecy to be fulfilled allowing his destined mate to assume her rightful place at his side.

And that day has come…

Lauren Neil had no idea that the damphyr lurking beneath her human surface was about to be unleashed, and no idea that her greatest enemy would be the incubus who sired her.

Even a match made in heaven, may have to go through hell to survive!

MORE INFO & BUY @ eXtasy Books | Amazon

ROBIN BADILLO | bio & linkage

Robin Badillo, who lives in a small Texas town and is the mother of four nearly grown kids, two boys and two girls.

Although not the stereotypical writer with a stubborn, fluffy cat, who listens adamantly to her ramblings, she does have two pups named Maxie and Chino who provide tons of comical relief.

Robin enjoys stepping out of her comfort zone and pushes the envelope on the stories she writes every chance she gets. She hopes her readers are just as thrilled as she is with the chances she’s taking.

Always the optimist, Robin is a firm believer that grey hair is merely God’s graffiti!

LINKAGE @ Website/Blog |Publisher Author Page |Amazon Author Page

Facebook Fan Page | Twitter | Goodreads

**Giveaway**

As promised, Robin brought an ecopy of MIDNIGHT BECKONING to give to one lucky reader. The winner will be chosen at random—just be sure to leave your email address when you comment—but for fun, since Robin and I both have a bunch of kids, let us know how many kids you have or how many brothers and sisters you grew up with. I’m an only child and my husband has one sister (seven years younger) and we ended up with six kids—I wonder if the generations normally flipflop like that? LOL. Thank you all so much for being here. Robin, it’s been a blast! Have a wonderful day, everyone!