Tags

, ,

Discover the truth within! Click image for more info.

Today I’d like you to meet Kathy Reinhart. She’s an author not only celebrated by her readers, but by *accolades,* as she has the honor of adding “award-winning” to her byline. (LILY WHITE LIES is the 2009 winner of Brighid’s Fire Books Fiction Manuscript Contest). She’s as nice as she can be and really goes out of her way to extend her hand to other authors, and I can’t tell you how happy I am to now call her a friend. I hope you’ll enjoy her as much as I have!

Welcome, Kathy! Your accomplishments amaze me. As an award winning author, you’ve been met with a lot of success in your career. How has this affected your direction as an author?

I believe most of us start out looking at our writing as a desire; we desire to become writers, but aren’t sure we have it in us. It quickly becomes a hobby with hope; we hope it will become more. Although our far-reaching goals vary, once we hook an agent,  woo a publisher and see our words in print, I believe that only then do we see ourselves as ‘working writers’. I think that winning a national fiction contest helped me to take myself more seriously, but hopefully not too seriously.

That speaks so much to your character, Kathy. One of your passions is Ink Drop Interviews, which has a huge following you generously share with other authors. What can readers expect to find there? What drives you to promote your fellow writers in this way?

I truly believe in paying it forward. I think that within this new era of online marketing, many writers – both established and new -  struggle with getting their name and their work out there. My blog grows little by little and I no longer have to put out a call to authors to participate, they are actually coming to me faster than I can publish, so that tells me, that even though my blog is only a tick on the publishing dogs back, it is a sought after service. And I’ve met a lot of nice people through Ink Drop Interviews, so it’s all good.

A tick on a dog’s back. LOL! I love your perspective on this (not just the tick part, lol, but the whole wonderful sentiment.) Let’s take a closer look at your book. What are readers saying about LILY WHITE LIES? Is there a single comment that has stuck with you? Why?

Lily White Lies has a 5-star rating on Amazon, although it only has 7 or so raters. What I do get a lot of is email and what I hear the most from readers is that they loved the characters. Although they like the main character, it is the secondary characters I get the most feedback about. I just mentioned this in a recent interview I gave and actually had a woman write me to say that she could picture Robert DuVall as Joker Ellis and it was an Aha! moment because that is exactly who I envisioned as I wrote him. So, I guess the comment that sticks with me is the one about the characters.

Wow, how AMAZING for your readers to see your characters *exactly* as you do! What might readers be surprised to learn about the plot or characters of LILY WHITE LIES?

Well, the surprise wouldn’t be so much with the characters or the plot as it would be with the book in general. I had written the first 27 chapters over the course of 6 months and then set it aside for almost another 6 months. When I read about the national fiction contest, the postmark deadline was only 2 days away. The last 3 chapters were written at warp speed in order to qualify. I really thought the hurried ending would have hurt my chances, but was told later that ‘they loved the ending’. Who knew… lol

Geez, woman, you were made for deadlines. I need some of your mojo! LOL. Let’s have some fun with LILY WHITE LIES. What’s the first sentence?

I wasn’t in the mood when he slid his hand up my nightie but I was even less in the mood to argue.

LOL! I can’t say I’ve seen that one before. *grin* What’s your favorite line in the book?

Wow, I’ve never been asked that question in an interview and never gave thought as to how hard it would be to answer. There are so many lines I like, but I’ll go with this one…

“…He’d been able to read me like a road sign since our first meeting and now, if there were any particular words that could cause me to melt at his command, he had just said every one of them…”

Oh, wow, what an epic tease. (I am *so* dying to know what words those were!) How about an excerpt … three sentences long! Yep, that’s it. Three!

“Aunt Karen… last night Gram told me about what happened… to you… at the church.” I searched her eyes for a sign of fear or pain to let me know it was time to stop. I had her attention and her expression was one of certainty, as if she were expecting what I was about to say.

What an intriguing excerpt, Kathy. Now I’m so curious as to what happened … and what happens next! Which scene of LILY WHITE LIES was most difficult for you to write? Why?

Probably the goodbye scene between Meg and Brian. He was a domineering egomaniac until that point and I wanted to show him as also being vulnerable. It was a little difficult to find a way to do that within one scene and have it ring true to his character.

That sounds like a powerful moment for both of them. Which scene of LILY WHITE LIES would you most like to experience for yourself? From whose POV?

Would absolutely have to be the cabin scene, after the bachelorette party, and from Meg’s POV. Who doesn’t love authentic, butterflies-in-the-belly romance?

I know *I* love it! Yummy and melt-worthy. *grin* What are you currently working on?

My current WIP is titled, ‘The Red Strokes’.  A little different from ‘Lily White Lies’ or even ‘Missouri in a Suitcase’, it explores the full spectrum of emotions between sisters… and beyond.

Sounds wonderful, Kathy! And speaking of fabulous things, let’s take a look at LILY WHITE LIES.

LILY WHITE LIES | blurb & links

Meg Embry has a closet full of dreams. Her problem is that all of the hangers are empty. A doting granddaughter, a submissive fiance and a struggling business owner, she doesn’t know if who she is is who she wants to be. Will she end up like her kind-hearted but felonious grandfather, her eccentric, vodka-drinking grandmother or her moonstruck aunt? If she’s honest, the best answer is none of the above.

Armed with nothing more than the support of her two closest friends and the forbidden but growing interest in a handsome stranger, Meg learns that what she wants isn’t necessarily what she needs, and that sometimes love, family and betrayal are bound together forever by lily white lies.

MORE INFO & BUY @ Amazon Paperback or Kindle | Barnes & Noble

AUTHOR LINKS @ Website Under HEAVY construction | Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

Kathy, thank you so much for dropping in today to introduce us to your book! It looks fantastic, and I can’t deny being lured in by what I’ve seen here. Readers, I’m so glad you joined us, and I hope you’ll take a moment to say hello. Have a fantastic day, everyone!

 

