Tags

, ,

SOME LIKE IT IN HANDCUFFS ... do you? Find out by scoring a copy of Christine Warner's debut release! Click image for details.

Today I am THRILLED to bring you my good friend Christine Warner, who is here to celebrate RELEASE DAY for her DEBUT NOVEL! I’d like to think she just really likes me and that’s why I get to host the party, but maybe she just wants to get me over with so she can enjoy the newfound revelry of being a *published author!* ;c)  Whatever the reason, I hope you’ll welcome her and make her release day a smashing success.

Christine, I believe huge, HUGE congratulations are in order, as you have officially joined the ranks of published authors (and in style, I might add, as you’ve already scored a rather prestigious contract with Lori Wilde’s Indulgence line with Entangled!) SOME LIKE IT IN HANDCUFFS is your debut release. (SQUEEE!) Give us a glimpse of how it happened for you. What was your first thought when you got the news?

I worked on Some Like in Handcuffs for close to a year.  I learned a lot writing this story and I ended up deleting, adding, switching scenes to polish it up and get it ready to send out.  Well, when I first sent out the story to around five agents, I got five lovely rejections.  After I applied a few more things I learned I sent it out to The Wild Rose Press.  A few months went by and I’d actually resigned myself to the fact that if I heard back from them it’d probably be a rejection too.  Again, I was bummed, because I really like this story and the characters.

I was actually talking to my sister about just filing the story away and revisiting it later, when I got an email from The Wild Rose Press offering me a contract.  Let’s just say a few screams, yells, and jumping up and down followed.  Scared my dogs and cats and then I burned up the phone lines.  LOL

Oh, yeah. It’s bad (or good!) when you run off the dog. (I think cats, on the other hand, practice disdain. But I digress.) Sounds like an epic moment, and the first of many, no doubt. *grin*  Your story features a kick-butt heroine in a world full of testosterone, one man in particular. *Wink* Can you tell our readers a little bit about the book and the dynamics between the hero and heroine?

Sunny Kennedy is a private investigator who is inexperienced in her profession and in matters of the heart.  Judson Blackwolf is a seasoned detective who is leery about getting involved with the sexy daughter of his captain.  Together they learn they have to overcome their differences and prejudices against each other to solve a cold case, and manage it all while they control their growing attraction.

Oh, that sounds yummy. I love that taste of the forbidden in there. What might readers be surprised to learn about the plot or characters of SOME LIKE IT IN HANDCUFFS?

Character-wise, I think that readers will be surprised that though Sunny is sarcastic and prideful, deep down she’s a softy and truly wants to do the right thing and help others.

In regards to plot,  I think some readers will be surprised that this story is actually a sexy, light-hearted romantic suspense with humorous elements (at least I hope you’ll find parts humorous…lol).

I’ve seen your blog. I don’t think you could stifle your humorous side long enough to write an entire book, LOL! Okay, let’s have some fun with SOME LIKE IT IN HANDCUFFS. What’s the first sentence?

“Take it easy. It’s not like I’m going anywhere.” Sunny jerked her arms back hoping to slow the pace of the large-framed detective who continued to drag her from the bar with unwavering force.

Okay, I cheated and gave you the first paragraph…hehehe…I’m so bad J

I’ll let you live, because that just sounds yummy. Unwavering force? Ooooh, my! What’s your favorite line in the book?

Oh, that’s a rough choice.  Hmm….I’m going to cheat again.  I’m giving you a favorite little paragraph from the book…hope that’s okay J

“Get a cotton swab and clean out the wax.” She rested her palms on the counter and met his gaze across the bar. “I’m. Not. Leaving.”

I like that little passage because it shows Sunny’s spunk, sass and determination.

As intense as things are in these excerpts, these two are bound to be HOT together. How about an excerpt … three sentences long! Yep, that’s it. Three!

Okay, this time I’ll follow the rules…lol

Sunny glared through the side window in the backseat, sulking all the way to her apartment. How dare Judson think he could use strong man tactics without her objection. On the other hand, his caveman attitude had excited her sending flames coursing through her body to spots she hadn’t even known could get heated.

Yep, hot. I can’t wait to read this one, Christine! Which scene of SOME LIKE IT IN HANDCUFFS was most difficult for you to write? Why?

The ending chapter was tough.  I think mainly because I had worked on the story for so long, made so many changes…additions, deletions, switches…that I really felt connected to my story and characters and it was sad to say goodbye L

I can relate to that. (And oh, how I wish I could not! LOL.) Which scene would you most like to experience for yourself? From whose POV?

There’s a scene in the book that I had a fun time writing and it just struck my funny bone.  It’s in the last chapter and is a scene where Sunny is walking along the sidewalk, after she’d made a decision.  A weight had been lifted from her shoulder, only to be replaced by a group of 3 cop cars surrounding her to take her into the precinct.  I won’t give you any more details than that.  Her character is sassy and fun and I liked how the scene happened and her reaction.  And I’d definitely want to experience it in her POV.

Nothing like life to give you a sucker punch when you’re finally feeling carefree, huh? Life, or your author, that is. LOL! What are you currently working on? 

I have several new projects in the works.  I’m in the process of finishing up 2 manuscripts, one is a sequel to Some Like it in Handcuffs, featuring Sunny’s brother Derek.  The title is Some Like it on the Run.

I also have a second book coming out this year with The Wild Rose Press titled Two-Timing the Boss and another book tentatively titled Blind Date Billionaire coming out with Entangled Publishing, The Indulgence Line with Lori Wilde.  I don’t have a release date yet for either, but feel free to visit my blog or follow me on facebook and twitter to stay tuned J

I love how you threw that in there. And I am so, so proud of you for that accomplishment. What a huge compliment to your writing skills! And speaking of accomplishments, let’s learn a bit more about your debut release. ;c)

SOME LIKE IT IN HANDCUFFS | blurb & links

Sunny Kennedy, the only female in a family of blue blood male detectives, is determined to prove testosterone isn’t the only qualification required to solve a cold case. Handcuffed while undercover then taken to the precinct by an attractive detective, her domineering family demands she work with Detective Judson Blackwolf, or she’s off the case.

Judson Blackwolf thinks women in law enforcement should work behind the scenes. The prospect of working with his Captain’s sexy daughter doesn’t thrill him. He only agrees in hopes of solving the murder of his one time mentor’s daughter. Once the case is over, he’s moving to Montana to heal his wounds from the loss of his last partner.

But when their investigation takes a dangerous turn, Sunny and Jud soon realize their feelings for each other cannot be denied.

Available in print and digital format @ THE WILD ROSE PRESS | AMAZON | B&N

CHRISTINE WARNER | bio & linkage

Christine Warner is living her dream in rural Michigan along with her husband, three children, one laptop and a much loved assortment of furry friends.

Besides laughing and a good round of humor, she enjoys spending time with her family, cooking, reading, writing but no arithmitic.  A confessed people watcher, she finds inspiration for her stories in everyday activities.  She loves to read and write about strong heroes and determined, sometimes sassy, heroines.

A girl gone wild, at least where social media is concerned, she enjoys meeting other avid readers and writers on facebook, twitter and her website at christine-warner.com.

And you can find me at:

My blog/website:  http://christine-warner.com/

Twitter under ChristinesWords: https://twitter.com/#!/ChristinesWords

My Facebook page…stop by and give it a LIKE to keep up on what I have coming up: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Christine-Warner/143430882396013

I love to hear from readers and other authors J

Christine, I can’t tell you how happy I am to be a part of your debut release. It will be the first of many, many successes for you, no doubt. (SQUEEE again!) Readers, thank you for being here for Christine’s first day as a published author. As always, your comments are welcome and I hope your day is as *fan*tastic as Christine’s is bound to be. ;c)