Tags

, , , ,

There's no room for reluctance when it comes to grabbing your copy of Nana Malone's exciting new romantic suspense! Click image.

You all know I’m a sucker for romantic suspense, and I love Nana Malone already. She’s got a great sense of humor and a fantastic back story of her own, which naturally I had to ask about, LOL. I think you guys are going to really enjoy this interview, so grab something cold (or hot!) and settle back in your chairs for a few moments with an awesome guest. Shall we?

Welcome, Nana!  I saw in your bio your book started with a borrowed tattered romantic suspense you read in Ghana. Now *that* is a romantic, book-worthy start to a writing career! What about that book grabbed you? Do you remember what book it was? 

HAHA, I’ll have to keep that in mind for a beginning in an upcoming book.  I’ve wanted to work on a book set in Ghana lately.  Alas, I don’t remember the name of the book, but it was one of those Mills and Boons Greek Billionaire types.

I’ll begin by saying that I was thirteen at the time and led a way sheltered life.  And had yet to learn about plucking eyebrows,  so boys and love where nowhere on the horizon.  Lol.

It was a summer of discovery.  In my grandparent’s house, they had shelves of books my grandfather used to encourage me wholeheartedly to read.  The most risqué being Mario Puzo Fools Die. When my cousin gave me the book, it was more my speed.  It gave me access to love and relationships that I could only see from my parents. I devoured it in a couple of hours and a love of romance was born. At that age, I cared more about the fairy tail aspect of love than the love scenes.  That changed as I got older😉

I remember getting a Harlequin every week at the grocery store and I just devoured them. Reading your story takes me right back to those old days and early feelings. *grin* You’re here to promote RELUCTANT PROTECTOR. I LOVE the title! What can you tell us about the book?

Thank You!  That title this one was easy to come up with.  The title for Forsaken Protector was harder for me.

For five years, Cassie Reeser has been her brother’s personal lab rat. Peter’s experiments have made her a stronger, faster, better human. And she’s not the only one.  For five years, escape has eluded her. Until now.

Seth Adams is used to sifting through lies to find the truth. As a former war correspondent he knows what evils lurk in the world. When he finds Cassie hiding out in his car trunk, her story sounds like a fantastical dream. But, before long, he witnesses firsthand the evil she’s running from.

That sounds truly intense! You definitely have my attention. ;c) How does the book tie into The Protectors Series? Will readers meet the same characters or see similar plot lines, or is there another connection?

This is the first in the Protector series so it starts the whole story arc at the beginning. In each book, There will be some cameos from previous characters, but the story will focus on the couple of the book.  In the sequel to Reluctant Protector, we’ll see Cassie and Seth with some changes in their lives.  It’s been pretty fun writing it.

I adore those cameos. It’s just a great way to catch up with favorite characters from earlier books. On a slightly different note, you’ve gotten some fantastic reviews for this book. What have you heard from readers that means the most to you?

I had my first reader email ever about a month ago.  She just said that she really liked my work and I was just so excited to get that email.  I think I cried.  You never know when you write something if you’re on track or not or if anyone will read it.

Then I got another Facebook reader just mention that she really likes my suspense/paranormal stuff and it gave me the motivation to keep going with the series.  Pretty much any comment from an actual reader makes a huge difference.  Even if it’s negative.  It let’s you know what you can keep in mind for the future.

Isn’t it just amazing how much a single comment from a reader can mean to an author? (Readers, y’all paying attention? LOL!) Okay, now that I’m heckling our readers, let’s give them a scoop. What might we be surprised to learn about the plot or characters of RELUCTANT PROTECTOR?

That I had a completely different ending to the book, not one month before I released it.   I wanted to go in a different direction, then the ending that’s there popped into my head.

Wow, one month? Yowza! I love how it just came to you, though. Those “aha” moments are almost as priceless as reader love. *grin* Let’s have some fun with RELUCTANT PROTECTOR. What’s the first sentence?

“Frigid cold settled into Cassie Reeser’s bones.”

Such great atmosphere in just a few words! What’s your favorite line in the book?

“I usually wait until a woman cooks dinner for me before I shoot someone for her.”

LMAO! I LOVE it! Which scene of RELUCTANT PROTECTOR was most difficult for you to write? Why?

The ending.  I had a couple ideas for where I wanted to take the series, but had a hard time deciding.

It sounds like the ending ultimately decided for you! (I think that’s so awesome.) Which scene of RELUCTANT PROTECTOR would you most like to experience for yourself? From whose POV?

Erm….Well, I’d love to wake up with superpowers without any of the burning and pain, lol.  So Seth’s scene when they wake up in the hotel after they’d just … .  Form Cassie’s POV probably.  I think her powers are way cooler.

That’s such a tease for those of us not in the know. (Nice job! LOL.) What are you currently working on?

My next book, Sexy in Stilettos is due out on April 3rd.   It’s a sexy fun contemporary. After that, I’m working on the sequel to RP called Forsaken Protector, due out this summer.  And I’m also working on the sequel to Sexy in Stilettoes now.

You sound incredibly busy! Let’s take a closer look at RELUCTANT PROTECTOR while you put your feet up for a minute. ;c) (I insist!)

RELUCTANT PROTECTOR | blurb and linkage

For five years, Cassie Reeser has been her brother’s personal lab rat. Peter’s experiments have made her a stronger, faster, better human. And she’s not the only one – he’s been experimenting on others as well. For five years, escape has eluded her. Until now. When she finds out he plans to sell her as a human weapon she knows it’s now or never. To make her escape she’ll sacrifice family bonds and leave behind the one person who’s ever helped her. Cassie’s learned to shrink from kindness and to never trust anyone. She knows the day Peter finally captures her will be the day she dies. To elude her brother and save the others, she’ll have to risk her body and her heart. What she doesn’t expect is a chance at a normal life.

Seth Adams is used to sifting through lies to find the truth. As a former war correspondent he knows what evils lurk in the world. When he finds Cassie hiding out in his car trunk, her story sounds like a fantastical dream. But, before long, he witnesses firsthand what she’s talking about when they’re attacked by a group of Peter’s soldiers. As a result, he goes through his own transformation into a super human and realizes the extent of what Cassie is running from. Cassie might not think she needs his protection, but he’ll die before he lets her brother have her back.

MORE INFO & BUY @ AMAZON

NANA MALONE | bio and linkage

Nana’s love of all things romance and adventure started with a tattered romantic suspense she borrowed from her cousin on a sultry summer afternoon in Ghana at a precocious thirteen. She’s been in love with kick butt heroines ever since. With her overactive imagination, and channeling her inner Buffy, it was only a matter a time before she started creating her own characters.

Waiting for her chance at a job as a ninja assassin, Nana, meantime works out her drama, passion and sass with fictional characters every bit as sassy and kick butt as she thinks she is. Though, until that ninja job comes through, you’ll find her acting out scenes for hubby and puppy while catching up on her favorite reality television shows in sunny San Diego.

CONNECT @ WEBSITE | BLOG | AMAZON | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | GOODREADS

Nana, I’d like to thank you for joining me today. I hope you’ll come back to talk about those new releases when they hit the shelves! (And that’s a gorgeous photo, btw.) Readers, thanks for being here. As always, your comments are welcome and I look forward to chatting with you all. ;c)