Tags

, , , ,

Click image for more on GETTING AHEAD!

Today’s guest is an exceptionally fun author with a wild rodeo contemporary romance *and* a gift card giveaway. I highly recommend you guys check out her links when we’re finished, but don’t go anywhere yet. Why? Because you’re definitely going to want to get to know Emily and her work. Stick with us to the end to find out how you can get your hands on that gift card, but first, get your hands on Emily herself! (Um, not literally.)

**Giveaway Closed** Congrats to Megan, who was chosen by random.org as the winner!

Welcome, Emily, and congratulations on the release of GETTING AHEAD. Before we dive into the story, I have to say I love your “unofficial ” bio. Your sense of humor *really* shines. ;c) You say you went from creative writing to grad school on a course of study that has *nothing* to do with creative writing. I’d love to know what you’re pursuing, but since you didn’t mention it I’ll just ask this: what made you take a different direction?

I’m studying epidemiology (public health) at the moment. After I finished college, I knew I wanted to go on to do something, but I knew it wasn’t writing (at least in terms of schooling). I learned so much in my creative writing program, but I hate all the crap that goes along with it. Since I thought there was no way I could ever make a career out of writing, I chose something completely different. Now I get to do both.

That’s pretty darn cool if you ask me! And what an interesting field of study. (As a suspense writer myself, the “public health” plot wheels are turning already! I bet there’s some inspiration to be had there, LOL.) GETTING AHEAD is the first of a Rodeo Stars series from Breathless Press. What made you decide to write about the wild west?

I was born and raised in Wyoming. Even though I’ve been away for many years now, I still feel like the West is a huge part of me.

I visited Wyoming several years ago and I’ve yet to forget that vast, carefree feeling. It’s AMAZING! And I bet GETTING AHEAD is as well. ;c) Can you tell our readers a bit about the story?

Getting Ahead is about a barrel racer, Amber, who is trying to put her life back together after an accident. She’s completely focused on training and fearful of anything that might get in the way of her climb to the top. While training, she meets Colt, a ranch owner who understands that pain she’s been through. He spend his time trying to help her overcome her fears of riding and hoping she’ll see she can have her competitive life and a love life.

That’s a powerful storyline. What about the series? How will subsequent titles fit together?

They all are going to feature main characters who are involved in rodeo in some way. I have a couple character cross-overs planned, but nothing I’m willing to share. Yet.

I’m loving this series already! ;c) What might readers be surprised to learn about the plot or characters of GETTING AHEAD?

They might be surprised to know that Colt is based on a real person I know. Not so much his back story, but his general attitude and personality. I won’t say who, but if he ever read the book, he’d probably recognize himself.

Oh, that would be fun, recognizing yourself in a book. (Well, says me, as I’m not in any books of which I’m aware, LOL). Let’s have some fun with GETTING AHEAD. What’s the first sentence?

“She certainly didn’t look like any woman he’d seen on the ranch before.”

Sounds like she caught his attention. *waggles eyebrows* What’s your favorite line in the book?

“Well, I’m happy to be your last choice for nightly entertainment.”

*Last* choice — I LOVE it! LOL. How about an excerpt … three sentences long! Yep, that’s it. Three!

“Well then, your highness.” He removed his hat and bowed toward her as he backed away. After a few feet, he righted himself, then turned around, rolling his eyes as he did.

Now that sounds like some good readin’! I love a character with a sense of humor (and a sarcastic streak!) Which scene of GETTING AHEAD was most difficult for you to write? Why?

The first scene. It took me numerous attempts to get a handle on who my characters were and how to actually get them together. Somewhere on my hard drive are at least four different versions of that chapter that didn’t work out quite right.

The first scene is always my nemesis — I know exactly what you’re talking about. On the flip side, which scene of GETTING AHEAD would you most like to experience for yourself? From whose POV?

Hmm…I would have to say the skinny dipping scene. It is currently very warm where I am and I would welcome the opportunity to cool off in a creek.

Oh, that sounds fantastic! What are you currently working on?  

My problem is that I have ADD when it comes to working on things. I’m wrapping up the second book in this series at the moment and working on a couple of contemporaries.

I’m sure your readers are thrilled with your *issues* LOL! Let’s take a closer look at the featured book, shall we?

GETTING AHEAD | blurb & links

Colton is exactly the kind of distraction Amber doesn’t want, but he might be exactly what she needs to get back on track.

Recovering from a bad fall during competition, Amber McDonald decides to spend her last week of training before her next rodeo at a Colorado ranch, away from any and all distractions. It’d be the perfect arrangement—if only her fear wasn’t stopping her from getting back on her horse.

Then Colt Riley steps in. He’s sexy and seems to have incredible insight into her situation, but he’s everything she’s been trying to stay away from.

Colt knows exactly what Amber is going through…because he’s been there before. Forced to give up his riding career after an accident, he sets his mind to helping her get back on track. All that’s easier said than done, especially when she discovers his hidden past. Will his efforts be enough to help her get ahead?

MORE INFO & BUY @ BREATHLESS PRESS | AMAZON | ALL ROMANCE EBOOKS

EMILY CALE | bio & linkage

Emily Cale spent the majority of her childhood as a visitor to the worlds of her favorite authors. With encouragement from her English teachers, she put pen to paper and began imagining her own stories. Preferring the fascinating lives of her characters, she majored in creative writing. When not lost in a manuscript or a good book, she enjoys crocheting, rock climbing, and playing board games. She currently lives in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, with her husband and a very spoiled cat.

AUTHOR LINKS @ BLOG | TWITTER

**GIVEAWAY**

I’m going to let Emily tell you about her giveaway in her own words. Emily?

Ask me a question in the comments and I’ll try to answer all of them plus pick one random winner to receive a $5 Amazon Gift Card.

Is that cool or what? I can’t wait to see what questions you guys come up with! I’m really looking forward to this, and I’d like to thank you all so much for being here. Emily, thanks for such a generous offer and for spending part of your day with us!