Tags

, ,

EMBRACE this exciting new paranormal romance from Rebecca Royce! Click image.

It’s Friday and it’s no longer February (the month just SOUNDS cold) . . . that’s a great way to start any weekend, LOL! But we’ll do one better and spend some time with Rebecca Royce today. She’s here to talk about her new book, EMBRACED, so grab your beverage of choice and behave yourselves. (Okay, not so much on the behavior but someone has to be the voice of reason, right?) Let’s “embrace” Rebecca, shall we?

Welcome, Rebecca! EMBRACED is book two in a series you call The Conditioned. Before we dig into EMBRACED, can you tell us a little about the series? How does EMBRACED fit in?

Embraced is the next book in the Conditioned series.  It is the second story and it continues the journey, telling the readers about these amazing people and their fight for freedom.

One part of the blurb for EMBRACED really stands out for me: there is a haunting in hero Benedicte Lavelle’s neighborhood. *rubs hands together with glee* Without giving too much away, what can you tell us about the haunting?

Strange things have started to happen to poor Ben and his neighbors.  Noises, things flying across the room, smashing mirrors…that kind of thing.  They’re really not sure what to do about it and Ben gets elected by his neighbors to handle the task.

Okay, I am SO hooked already. I love strange happenings! What might readers be surprised to learn about the plot or characters of EMBRACED?

The characters are really good people placed into a really difficult situation and sometimes what we do when the cards are down is not what we thought we would do.  Sometimes being tested makes us become the people we should be—even if that’s not who they thought they would be.

Well said, Rebecca. Let’s have some fun with EMBRACED. What’s the first sentence?

Every damn news outlet covered the Addison Wade-Spencer Lewis debacle.

Good one! What’s your favorite line in the book?

“But does it make you want to lock him up?”

I know this seems random but its kind of pivotal to the books. Does knowing that someone can do something that you can’t do, something potentially dangerous make you want to lock them up away from you?

That’s really interesting, and certainly a great premise for a book (or series!). How about an excerpt … three sentences long! Yep, that’s it. Three!

“I had no heart until I met you, Ben. I was dead inside. I love you.”

Aw, that’s incredibly sweet! Which scene of EMBRACED was most difficult for you to write? Why?

There are a few scenes where one of the characters has had something happen to him, a Conditioned person has done something to him and he’s different.  The way he behaves…it was hard for me to write. Because I loved him. He’s such a good, strong character and to see him like that was difficult for me.

This sounds more and more intriguing as we go along. ;c) Which scene of EMBRACED would you most like to experience for yourself? From whose POV?

I can’t really answer this question without giving it away but it has to do with someone finally getting what they deserved.

Can’t beat that for a happy ending! What are you currently working on? 

Well, I have two releases coming out Love Beyond Sight and Darkest Wolf. I’m currently writing the next Outsider book.

And with that, we’ll take a closer look at EMBRACE!

EMBRACED | blurb

Benedicte Lavelle is a single father raising two small daughters. When his neighbors put him in charge of handling the haunting that plagues their neighborhood, he has no choice but to use disreputable means in order to bring in a Conditioned ghost hunter to help with their problem. He doesn’t expect to be drawn to the young woman who arrives at his house in chains. He doesn’t expect to have his entire life thrown into upheaval when she is snatched away.

Conditioned prisoner Seven-Two-Four has never had a name. She cannot read, and is scheduled to die as soon as she is returned to the Institution. The Conditioned are not considered human, but Seven can see ghost energy and she can love Ben like no one ever has before.

When fate takes Seven from Ben’s arms, can he move on and find a new purpose in life or will he be forever trapped by the need to rescue those like his lost love?

Buy Link

REBECCA ROYCE | bio & links

As a teenager, I would hide in my room to read my favorite romance novels when I was supposed to be doing my homework.  I hope, these days, that my parents think it was worth it.

I am the mother of three adorable boys and I am fortunate to be married to my best friend.  We live in northern New Jersey and try not to freeze too badly during the winter months.

I am in love with science fiction, fantasy, and the paranormal and try to use all of these elements in my writing.  I’ve been told I’m a little bloodthirsty so I hope that when you read my work you’ll enjoy the action packed ride that always ends in romance. I love to write series because I love to see characters develop over time and it always makes me happy to see my favorite characters make guest appearances in other books.

In my world anything is possible, anything can happen, and you should suspect that it will.

I’d love to hear from you!

Website | Facebook | Facebook Fan Page

I’d like to thank you all for visiting today. Your comments are welcome. ;c) Rebecca, it’s been a pleasure. Happy Friday, everyone!