Tags

, , , ,

To learn more about Desi's books, click image above.

My pal and fellow Noble Romance author Desi Moon is here today talking about her upcoming release … and she brought goodies! So hang out, get the scoop on ACCIDENTAL INTENT, and stay tuned until the end when Desi opens the *floor* (ahem) for a pretty awesome discussion for her giveaway. (When I answer her question, you guys will laugh me out of blogosphere. Trust me.)

**GIVEAWAY CLOSED** Congrats to Tammy, who was chosen by random.org as the winner!

ACCIDENTAL INTENT is slated for release next month. Since we have to wait, can you whet our appetites a bit and tell us a little something about the story?

My “tag line” for  Accidental Intent is a romantic murder mystery that has gone to the dogs, and some really killer footwear.

(Sarah interrupts to say LOL!)

Lucy is a mild mannered dog trainer who finds her somewhat calm existence thrown for a loop when she gets sucked into a murder investigation by an arrogant albeit handsome detective.

It will be released on March 17th.

Love the tag line, and the book sounds great! Did this plot hit you and demand to be written, or did something else inspire an idea that grew into the story?

Oh gosh, Um, well the story started with a phone call, and blossomed from there. I am a dog trainer, so it was a natural leap for me to make my “heroine” one. Accidental Intent was supposed to be another contemporary romance, but then a dead body emerged, and Nicolai (Lucy’s love interest) stepped forward telling me he just happened to be a homicide detective. It just snowballed from there.

I am SUCH a sucker for romantic suspense, so I happen to love your snowball. *grin* Let’s have some fun with ACCIDENTAL INTENT. What’s the first sentence?

Conversation filled the large meeting hall, glasses clinked, laughter mingled with the perfumed air, and Lucy Lafferty stewed.

Oooh, I love it! What’s your favorite line in the book?

“Seriously? You think he’s capable of murder?”

“Seriously? You think he planted the bomb because flowers are too cliché?”

LMAO! That’s a good one. How about an excerpt … three sentences long! Yep, that’s it. Three!

Lucy ushered Nicolai out the door and closed it behind him.

Her fingers went to her lips, oh he was good.

This could lead to something very, very bad.

Wow, woman, you have a way with words! I love your style. ;c) Which scene of ACCIDENTAL INTENT was most difficult for you to write? Why?

The climax, because it is after all a mystery, I would hate for the reader to invest themselves in the story, get to the climax and be irritated because it made no sense.

That’s an excellent point, and it’s something I have in the back of my mind as I careen toward the finish line of my books, LOL. Okay, Desi, let’s open up the backlist. If a reader is unfamiliar with your work, which of your books would you suggest he or she read first?  Why?

OH Summerland, definitely! One of my favorite authors, Christopher Moore, crosses characters in his books, I like that and decided to do something similar. Summerland characters do get mentioned in Accidental Intent and Accidental Intent characters will be mentioned in my current WIP Hometown Blues. Tis the circle of my warped mind.

Oh, very cool! It’s a great way to get readers to pick up the next book, too. *grin* Let’s dig a little.  Have you ever battled with any of your characters over their personality traits?  If so, who won – you or the character?

Did you just see my eyes roll????

It all goes back to Aunt Genie who made her “introduction” in Summerland. She showed up three chapters early and decided all on her own to throw a pool party. Yes she won, and got the stupid party. And yes, I admit the scene turned out so much better than what I had planned, but still! She does occasionally pop into my head while I am writing to give me her two cents.

Oh, I love her already! LOL!  What are you currently working on? 

I have a short story coming out for Rebel Ink’s Father’s Day Anthology called “For the Love of Mac”.

The story is about a man who is pushed into fatherhood when he “inherits” a four year old girl. Trading adult activities for play dates, Mac realizes love and family are not as bad as he once thought and opens his mind to the possibility of a stable relationship.

Hometown Blues is a contemporary romance. Dylan thought she had it all, lived in New York City, loved her high profile job, dated an incredibly successful man. But as we all know all good things must come to an end. When Dylan’s world crumbles around her she is forced into the decision to go back home, to the place she swore she would never return.

They both sound so good! You’ve got some clever plot bunnies, Desi. Let’s take a closer look at ACCIDENTAL INTENT.

ACCIDENTAL INTENT | blurb

The most exciting thing to happen to Lucy recently is the new flavor of coffee at the Howling Moon Cafe, but when her best friend stumbles upon a dead body, a new coffee is the least of Lucy’s concerns.

The seemingly quiet life that Lucy has grown to love unravels the moment her on again/off again lover begins to imagine a relationship that doesn’t exist. It grows even more complicated when she meets Nicolai Petrovski, a handsome detective who makes her blood boil, her knees weak, and her fingers itch to grab a fistful of jet-black hair.

When Lucy finds her name on the killer’s short list of victims, her first concern is for her furry four- legged family. Her second is for the closely guarded secret hidden in the back of her closet.

Between conference calls and coffee dates with her best friends, Lucy wades through the complicated world of love, honor, betrayal and the allure of a very hot man. But is there enough coffee to keep her one step ahead of the killer and as far away from Nicolai as she can get?

Coming March 17 to Rebel Ink Press

DESI MOON | bio & linkage

I have been a freelance content writer for four years, but a fiction writer since I could hold a pencil. My first story written at the age of seven was a historical piece ala Little House on the Prairie.

I reside in beautiful Boulder, Colorado with my writer/game designer husband, two incredibly energetic children who keep me on my toes, three very entitled cats and one hopelessly neurotic, but none the less lovable dog.

A bit of sweet, a touch of steam and a lot of laughter, my contemporary romances are called “sweet” but they do offer a bit of grit.

When not cajoling or arguing with the voices in my head (ie. my characters)

I work as a dog trainer, am an all around coffee snob and Project Runway junkie. I also love to bake decadent desserts and am a kickboxing addict.

LINKAGE @ BLOG | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | GOODREADS

**GIVEAWAY**

Desi is going to introduce her contest today, so I’m gonna move and stare sheepishly at my feet while I do it.

Well since I suggested that Summerland be read first I would like the opportunity to give away a copy—but since we are talking about Accidental Intent, let’s discuss shoes and favorite shoe designers! I’ll go first, I am a Jimmy Choo fanatic  J