Tags

, , , ,

For more information about AN ALPHA'S PATH and the rest of the Redwood Pack Series, please click image.

Today I’m really excited to welcome Carrie Anne Ryan, an author I’ve gotten to know through Six Sentence Sunday. Her “six” (six sentence excerpts) always impress me, and I’m betting you guys will love her as much as I do. AN ALPHA’S PATH is the first in a seven book series for Carrie Anne, so let’s settle in and learn about the book, the series, and the author herself. *grin*

Welcome, Carrie Ann! It’s great to have you here. ;c) Congratulations on the release of AN ALPHA’S PATH. Can you tell our readers a little bit about the book?

Thanks so much Sarah! An Alpha’s Path is the first book in the Redwood Pack series and kicks off my werewolf world.  What happens when a lonely chemist goes on a blind date and finds out her date is actually a werewolf – and claims she’s his mate? What does Melanie do? In order to have a HEA sometimes we need to sacrifice.

That is one heck of a predicament (and a great hook), LOL! The Redwood Pack series features seven titles. Did you plan all along for AN ALPHA’S PATH to kick off a series, or did the characters (or readers, LOL) demand it?

When I first started writing it was just a short story – not even a novella and was called The Alpha and the PhD. Then when I went back into it and wrote another scene I added Kade’s family. That’s how the series was born. And boy am I thankful.

I love how it just happens like that sometimes! The tiniest twist of fate and it literally changes your career. ;c) Let’s take a closer look at AN ALPHA’S PATH. What’s your favorite scene from the book? Why?

Kade and his brother Jasper talking about Kade’s date. This is how I met Jasper, the hero of the second book in the series, A Taste for a Mate, out now. Those boys had way more fun than I thought they would and really made me want to write more about the Jamensons. So I did.

Oh, wow. Those characters who walk on set and demand their own books amaze me! Which book in the Redwood Pack series do you most look forward to writing? Why?

Maddox’s story. He isn’t for a while yet and I don’t even have a title. But I know who his mate is. J I feel I love with him the first time I wrote his name on paper and I needed to find out his back story and who he’d fall in love with. I’m sooo excited about it, but I have a few more books to write before I get to him. Since I’m doing two series at once, characters need to wait their turn. J

LOL! I can certainly relate to that. There just aren’t enough hours in the day, and so many great stories and ideas clamoring for attention. ;c) Let’s dig in to your list of stories a bit. If a reader is unfamiliar with your work, which of your books would you suggest he or she read first?  Why?

An Alpha’s Path is the first book I’ve ever released LOL. But it’s the first book in the series and is a novella. A Taste for a Mate is the second book and is a full length novel. The rest of the books in the seven book Redwood Pack series as well as the seven book series Dante’s Circle will have full length novels.

It’s a great idea to open with a novella. Go ahead and hook your readers with a taste and leave them salivating for more! ;c) Let’s put you on the other side of the book. Which genre are you drawn to as a reader?  Do you prefer to read in the same genre as your WIP or do you mix it up?

I actually read all romance. Paranormal, contemporary, sci-fi, western, ménage, gay – all of it. LOL. But paranormal was the first one I read because of Twilight. *sigh* It was my gateway drug LOL.

I think I am the only person on the planet who has yet to read or see anything Twilight, LOL! But what a way to kick things off for you! And on the topic of love at first sight, take a look back over all of the intimate moments you’ve created between characters. Which scene would you most like to experience for yourself?  What makes it so alluring?

Oh my. *blushes* Kade and Mel’s first experience in the hotel room was so sweet and darned hot that I wouldn’t mind. LOL

Carrie Anne, you TEASE! LOL. (I think that’s our cue to go read it for ourselves, LOL.) Have you ever battled with any of your characters over their personality traits?  If so, who won – you or the character?

Melanie. I didn’t realize she’d be so sarcastic until she came across on paper LOL. But I love her.

Some of the most difficult characters manage to become the most endearing. (I wonder if it works that way with children? LOL!) Have you ever made big changes in your story because someone – your crit partner, a friend, or beta reader – really didn’t like it?  Are you glad you did (or didn’t)?

In my second book, A Taste for a Mate I actually went back and fixed up Willow some. I wasn’t happy with her because she hid from me, and my crit partners knew that. So they helped me open her up. I’m very pleased with the result.

Yay for awesome crit partners! That extra eye is invaluable, for sure. How do you keep track of plot elements or twists?

I’m an outline queen. I have color coded spreadsheets and outlines for the characters, worlds, series and books/chapters. J

Gulp. Did you say *color coded*? WOW. *covers my own paper* LOL! Which of your novels most reflects who you are as a writer?  Why?

Trinity Bound. It’s the third book in the series and my first attempt at m/m/f (but not my last *wink*) I really got into my groove and decided what I would do with the overall series arc and how I could work. I’m still finding things new about myself, but I found myself here. And as it turns out, I was the same person in An Alpha’s Path and A Taste for a Mate. Nice.

Ooooh, very nice! Great answer. ;c) Okay, before we break to check out your blurb and bio, give us the scoop on what you’re working on now.

A Taste for a Mate just came out. J I’m in edits on Trinity Bound and that comes out in April. I’m also starting a new series called Dante’s Circle. I’m in the middle of writing the first book, Dust of My Wings now.

SO much fun!

Fun and busy, woman! Let’s check out your book. ;c)

AN ALPHA’S PATH | blurb

Melanie is a twenty-five year old chemist who has spent all of her adult life slaving at school. With her PhD in hand, she’s to start her dream job, but before she does, her friend persuades her to relax and try to live again. A blind date set up through her friends seems like the perfect solution. Melanie can take one night away from the lab and let her inner vixen out on a fixed blind date – a chance to get crazy with a perfect stranger. The gorgeous hunk she’s to meet exceeds her wildest dreams – but he is more than what he appears and Melanie’s analytical mind goes into overdrive.

Kade, a slightly older werewolf (at over one hundred years), needs a night way from the Pack. Too many responsibilities and one near miss with a potential mate made Kade hide in his work, the only peace he can find. His brother convinces him to meet the sexy woman for a one night of fun. What could it hurt? But when he finds this woman could be his mate, can he convince her to leave her orderly, sane world and be with him and his wolf-half, for life?
MORE INFO & BUY @ Amazon | Barnes and Noble
.
CARRIE ANNE RYAN | about

Carrie Ann Ryan is a paranormal and contemporary romance author. After spending too much time behind a lab bench, she decided to dive into the romance world and find her werewolf mate – even if its just in her books. Happy endings are always near – even if you have to get over the challenges of falling in love first.

Her first book, An Alpha’s Path, is the first in her Redwood Pack series. She’s also an avid reader and lover of romance and fiction novels. She love meeting new authors and new worlds. Any recommendations you have are appreciated. Carrie Ann lives in New England with her husband and two kittens.

Carrie Ann loves hearing from readers. You can find her at:

Website | Blog | Facebook Author Page | Facebook Friend | Twitter: @CarrieAnnRyan | Goodreads

Thank you so much for being here, Carrie Ann! I’ve enjoyed getting to know you and your work better today. Readers, as of Feb. 15 AN ALPHA’S PATH is ranked #234 on all of Amazon paid Kindle books and has romance genre rankings of #3 (Fantasy, Futuristic, & Ghost) and #8 (Fantasy & Futuristic). AND it’s only 99 cents, so grab your copy and check it out! Click here, but before you go please welcome Carrie Ann with your comments. Thanks, everyone, and have a great day!