Tags

, ,

Click image to see titles from Clarissa Yip!

 

I have to say I am totally loving this guest blog from Clarissa Yip. I can’t tell you how nice it is to see someone else going through some of the same things with which I struggle, and I mean that in all the best ways, LOL! Clarissa, it’s an honor to have you here today and I’m thrilled to share your words with the world (or my little corner of it, anyway. *grin*). On that note, I’m just going to get the heck out of her way. Shall we?

Clarissa Yip: A Day in the Life of a Writer

I’m Clarissa. I’m a student, editor, writer, author, video gamer, scrapbooker, and cupcake addict.

I’m sure I can find many amusing things to tell you, but more than anything, I’d like to clue you in on the life of a writer. My other roles could be saved for another day.

What do you think when you hear someone say, “I’m a writer?” Of course, your ears perk and you wonder what genre and if they’re published.

I write romance. Contemporary romance, to be specific. I’ve dabbled in other genres but find that my heart lies with present day romances. (Probably because I’m waiting for my Prince Charming to come sweep me off my feet.)

Being a writer isn’t easy. Every day is an adventure. An adventure into the unknown. I am practically ruled by my muse (who is on strike since I’ve moved back to the mainland. She’s not a happy camper.)

Every morning, I wake up, brush my teeth, wash my face, and put on my work clothes (sweatpants and T-shirt), then I trudge downstairs and curse at my Keurig machine as it takes it times and spews me a delicious cup of coffee which I finish in fifteen minutes anyway and have to come back downstairs to work the machine again.

By my second cup of coffee, I’m determined to keep a clean inbox, but the emails for my author-me keeps pouring in. I’ll take care of business, read blogs, visit websites I always check, do some social networking, then bam! Three hours gone. It’s not easy having so many roles.

Next think you know, the dog needs attention, wants a walk, or you have to cook dinner, and the day is almost gone. Your eyes are ready to droop but you’re determined to put in a few thousand words down before you even eye your bed.

So I’ll sit down and BICHOK. My hands are posed over the keyboard, I reread the last scene I’ve worked on, and I’ll curse my muse into submission and start cranking out crap. Yes, I said crap. Half the time I end up deleting it anyway.

Then OMG, it’s 3 in the morning. I stare at my word count and try to go for goal and then allow myself to get into bed. But the next morning, I get up all ready to work on my manuscript, go through the same ritual, only to find out some calamity has happened and my day disappears, my book is still sitting there waiting for me.

It’s not easy being a writer. Everyday changes depending on what life brings you.

Ideas are never easy, but sometimes you get the calling and you know you have to get it down on paper. Those are great moments but rarely happen for me.

Writing is a great dream—one I would never let go off. I believe I’ll be writing till the day I die…at least until my muse decides to send me to the psych ward.

So tell me, what is your writing process? And what does your day as a write look like?

Check out more of Clarissa’s work by visiting her website. Click here.