Tags

, , ,

Wanna get BETRAYED? Click image!

Hey, y’all! We’re kicking off the weekend in a very good way with today’s guest, Hildie McQueen, and her book DESPERATE BETRAYAL, which was just awarded Readers Favorite Story of January 2012 by Grave Ells. Now if that doesn’t get your attention, how’s this one? You now have a chance to win a copy of your very own in your choice of Kindle or PDF formats. Awesome, right? Entry details follow Hildie’s interview, which starts right now.

Hi, Hildie, and welcome! I loved getting to know you through your bio, and I’d like to bring out some of that for our readers today. I read you’ve traveled extensively. While you were out there “on the road,” how did you decide your next destination? What were some of your favorite spots? Do they appear in your writing?

My friends and I have a ‘bucket list’ of destinations.  We hope to go to as may places on the lists as possible.  Scotland was first, we’re looking at Peru next, Macchu Picchu.  My favorite place without a doubt is Plockton, a small village in the Northwest Highlands of Scotland.  So far only Scotland appears in my writing since the hero is from there, I’m sure other locations I’ve been to will appear in future writings.

Scotland seems to be a beloved place for writers, and everything I’ve seen in pictures is just beautiful. (I need to make a list of my own, methinks!) In your book, DESPERATE BETRAYAL, your hero Cynden is both intrigued and put off by Emma. This makes for a fascinating push and pull as the attraction grows. What about her got under his skin?

He was instantly drawn to her and that made him cautious, he wondered if perhaps she was a witch and used some type of magic on him.  I would like to say Emma’s strength of character is what finally got Cyn, but honestly, he found her hot as hell. *snicker*

LOL! Well, there’s always that. ;c) I love how he was suspicious because of his attraction. Bewitching, indeed! DESPERATE BETRAYAL sounds like an intense read with an intriguing plot. How did the pieces come together for this story? Were all the plot elements your idea, or did the characters themselves have a say in things?

This story was surprisingly easy to write, the characters spoke often and led me through the story every time I sat and wrote. The plot turns caught me by surprise at times.

I love it when stories make their own way. Every time an author says that I gain a whole new level of interest in their story. ;c) Without giving too much away, can you share how DESPERATE BETRAYAL leads into the next book in the series?

It’s obvious in Desperate Betrayal that Kieran, Cyn’s brother and Wendy, Emma’s best friend are attracted, so I knew before the story ended that they’d be the main characters in the sequel.

That’s a great draw for readers to pick up the next title! How about if we put you on the other side of the book? Which genre are you drawn to as a reader?  Do you prefer to read in the same genre as your WIP or do you mix it up?

I read a mixture of genres, contemporary, historical and of course paranormal.  I’ve heard that some writers don’t read what they are writing which worked during my latest WIP (a western romance) since I don’t usually read that genre.  I’m not even sure why I even wrote that story, but it’s a good one.

LOL! They really just take over sometimes, don’t they? Looking back over all of the intimate moments you’ve created between characters, which scene would you most like to experience for yourself?  What makes it so alluring?

Wow, great question.  I wrote a love scene with a hero who was emotionally scarred, the heroine had to move slowly and ensure he was comfortable the entire time.  It turned out to be one of the tenderest scenes I’ve ever written.  I’d love to experience what they had.

That does sound so incredibly … well, I want to use another word but “tender” just seems perfect. And it does sound completely amazing. * happy sigh *While you’re lost in the pages of your WIP, how do you keep track of plot elements or twists?

I’m pretty much a quick outline and then start writing kind of girl.  I don’t keep track of much to be honest.  It just comes together.  Thankfully.

It’s wonderful when it just falls into place! (Maybe your characters can have a little sit-down with mine …?) Which of your novels most reflects who you are as a writer?  Why?

Probably the sequel to this book, Desperate Surrender, because in this story I was able to run the gamut in writing emotions, the heroine, Wendy, who is a lot like me, happy-go-lucky and her opposite, the sullen-tortured hero, which is what Kieran Fraser is.

They sound like a pretty intense pair! What are you currently working on?

Like I said above, I am in the editing process of my western romance, Where the Four Winds Collide.  As soon as I’m done with that, I go back to the Protector Series and the rounding out of the draft for Desperate Possession, the third in the series.

That sounds fabulous, and there’s a lot for readers to look forward to, but fortunately we don’t have to wait for it all. Here’s a look at DESPERATE BETRAYAL.

DESPERATE BETRAYAL | blurb & links

Cynden Frasier (Cyn) is a member of a group of immortal warriors, the Protectors, assigned to protect humans in Atlanta, Georgia, the epicenter of a major uprising in demon activity. When a beautiful woman in a dirty alley approaches Cyn, he is intrigued by the fact that she can see him for what he is, a terrifying demon slayer, and still dares to approach him.

Emma Blake, a half-demon, has to convince Cyn to help rescue her sister from powerful demons. Terrified that the Protector will kill her if he realizes what she is, she still goes against every instinct and approaches Cyn for help. Despite knowing that she is leading them both into territory so wrought with treachery, neither of them may survive.

Can Cyn and Emma overcome betrayal, the ancient rules that prevent Protectors from taking a wife, unless she is his one true mate? And if they do, will it even matter?

MORE INFO & BUY @ CRESCENT MOON PRESS | AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE

HILDE MCQUEEN | bio  & links

Hildie McQueen is a whirlwind who refuses to wear anything but jeans and heels.

She grew up on the San Diego/Mexico border, joined the military at seventeen and never returned. After living in Germany, Texas and Hawaii, she finally settled in the beautiful southern town of Augusta, Georgia.

Biracial, half Mexican and half African-American, Hildie’s native language is Spanish, but English is her favorite way of communicating now.

Her mission in life is to make as many people as possible to feel normal. It’s an easy thing to do, for others to feel normal around her, because she’s anything but.

AUTHOR LINKAGE @ BLOG | TWITTER | GOODREADS

**GIVEAWAY**

As promised, Hildie brought with her a copy of DESPERATE BETRAYAL and one of you will get to take it home! To enter the giveaway, please leave a comment with your email address. Any tweets or other shares of this post would be appreciated but are not required. (Share buttons are just below for your convenience). The winner gets their choice of a PDF or Kindle prc file, so if you want this one in your hot little hands get down there to the comment section and say hello! I’d like to thank you all for being here today. Hildie, it’s been a real pleasure. Congratulations on your debut release, and may it be the first of many successes for you! ;c)