Tags

, , ,

Grab your copy right now! Click image.

You guys are going to have a blast today because my guest Avery Flynn is a character in herself. So much so that I’m pretty sure she and I have already bonded, and you guys know me so that oughta tell you something. HA! So those of you not backing away slowly, hang on. You’re in for a treat, and heck, one of you is even in for a free book! Details follow the sit-down, so stay with us. In the meantime, say hello to Avery!

**GIVEAWAY CLOSED** Congratulations to Joanne B, who was chosen by random.org as our winner!

Welcome, Avery, and congratulations on your release! A DRY CREEK BED is the second book in the Dry Creek series. Without giving too much away, can you catch readers up on what happened in book one? How do the two books tie together?

OK, everyone got their seatbelt on? Let’s blaze a trail. In Up a Dry Creek Claire Layton is taking out the trash when she finds a dead body and the killer forces her to look for the victim’s phone and flashdrive or he’ll harm Claire’s family. Then, it gets worse, like house-trashing, psycho killer worse. Enter super hottie private eye Jake Warrick. There’s danger, there’s adventure and there’s smokin’ hot sexual tension. The heroine in Up a Dry Creek is the connecting wire between the hero and heroine in A Dry Creek Bed. Beth Martinez is Claire’s best friend and she is in serious denial about a lifelong crush she’s had on Claire’s eldest brother, Dry Creek Sheriff Hank Layton. While you can read the two books as standalone, I think it’s more fun to read them together.

How incredible does that sound? I think you’ve sold me already! LOL. There’s a totally awesome line (one of many) in your blurb: Hank can’t stop thinking about Beth to the point where he’s afraid of becoming permanently bowlegged. I love this description! I’ve got to ask . . . what’s going on to make him bow-legged? *grin*

Poor Hank. He has it so bad for Beth and she just refuses to admit her crush on him. Sure, she has her reasons but since she isn’t sharing those with Hank, he is in an uncomfortable place. Of course, all that sexual tension does boil over a few times and then you just need to step back because those two are drawn together like magnets.

An uncomfortable place — I love that! (I bet he’s even “blue” – LMAO!) What’s your favorite scene from A DRY CREEK BED? Why?

Man that one’s hard because there are so many that I love. I can narrow it down to three:

  1. When Beth wakes up in a panic thinking she and Hank got married.
  2. Any time Beth and Claire interact because they are so funny together. They are the type of friends who finish each other’s sentences and know exactly what the other is thinking with out the lift of a waxed eyebrow.
  3. The scene when the villain gets just desserts – it is a fitting end for a real baddie.

I did a double take over the first one. What a way to wake up! LOL. Which genre are you drawn to as a reader?  Do you prefer to read in the same genre as your WIP or do you mix it up?

I read everything. There is not a genre (fiction or not) that I won’t read. My goal is to read 100 books this year as part of The Book Vixen’s reading challenge. You can check out what I’ve read/am reading here: http://averyflynn.com/amreading/

Holy moley, woman. I’d have to give up writing (or motherhood) to read that many books, LOL!  Have you ever battled with any of your characters over their personality traits?  If so, who won – you or the character? 

Not about personality traits but definately about plot twists. I wish I could say I won those battles, but I would be lying.🙂

Ah, yes. I am a bit too familiar, LOL. (And as a side note, I’m still thinking of poor Hank and his bowlegs, LOL.) Have you ever made big changes in your story because someone – your crit partner, a friend, or beta reader – really didn’t like it?  Are you glad you did (or didn’t)?

Great question. I’ve rewritten and made huge changes but those usually happen because my gut keeps telling me the stories not right. I’ve learned to listen to my stomach twitches.

OMG, I do the same thing! Something just doesn’t feel right and it nags me until I figure it out, then all the sudden the writing is SO much easier! Yay-it’s-not-just-me! LOL. (Although that’s a really cool radar – I love it.) How do you keep track of plot elements or twists?

Most of it is in my head, but thanks to technology I can do a quick electronic search whenever needed.

Yes. That is me. I wonder if we’re related? *grin* Which of your novels most reflects who you are as a writer?  Why?

Man, there’se pieces of me in all of them. I don’t think it’s any one thing in a specific book so much as the humor that threads through the Dry Creek series.

I love it when there’s humor mixed in. (You’re not about to get a restraining order on me, are you? Frankly, I’m starting to worry myself, lol.) Okay, let’s have it. What are you currently working on?

I’m hard at working writing Sam Layton’s story. And let me tell you, he’s really met his match in Josie Winarsky, a tall, platinum blonde, tattooed painter who is hell bent on finding a long-buried treasure. With Sam at her side and a Las Vegas loan shark’s muscle hot on her trail, the treasure she finds turns out to be much more valuable than emeralds and rubies.

Well, can you say *hook*? LOL! Okay, let’s get back to A DRY CREEK BED since we can grab it right now. Y’all stay tuned to find out how you can win it!

A DRY CREEK BED | blurb & links

“I do believe I can arrest you for looking at someone like that. You’ve got to be breaking some indecency laws.”

Taking a deep breath, Beth recovered her bearings. Mostly. “You’re out of your jurisdiction sheriff.”

Dry Creek County Sheriff Hank Layton is the stuff of dreams. Nasty, steamy, delicious fantasies that leave Beth Martinez weak-kneed and desperately wanting the man she can never have.

Hank can’t stop thinking about Beth to the point where he’s afraid of becoming permanently bowlegged. And even though the sexual tension between them is thick enough to trip over, she runs every time he chases.

But when a mysterious developer forces her neighbors off their land, Beth becomes the one person standing between the scoundrel and millions of dollars. Only Hank can help her uncover the truth. Together they risk their lives exposing decades-old secrets and learn that everything is not as it seems in their rural Nebraska town.

MORE INFO & BUY @ EVERNIGHT PUBLISHING | AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE

AVERY FLYNN | bio & linkage

The name Avery Flynn is a pseudonym for the author who, at least for now, prefers to remain behind the scenes.  She believes having Avery as her alter ego is a very good thing because, as she says, “Pen name Avery is way cooler than me. Her favorite color is hot pink. She drinks single malt scotch on the rocks. She loves the Argentinean tango and stays at Iceland’s Ice Hotel.”

Author Avery has been writing since she was a child and her father gave her a baby blue Brother typewriter. She couldn’t read but nonetheless wrote numerous stories about her stuffed animals in gibberish. She hasn’t stopped since, though she maintains that her spelling has gotten much better and she now prefers to write in English.

Today she’s enjoying her own happily ever after with her dashing husband, three crazy kids and two arthritic dogs.  She dreams of one day having a floor-to-ceiling library à la Beauty and the Beast and is working to perfect the coffee IV drip.

LINKAGE @ WEBSITE & BLOG | EVERNIGHT PUBLISHING | AMAZON | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | GOODREADS

**Giveaway**

Yep, that’s right — you can win it! Avery has been kind enough to offer a digital copy of A DRY CREEK BED to one lucky reader, and here’s how you can take it home. First, please consider liking Avery’s FB page or following her on Twitter, and while you’re here go ahead and make good use of those share buttons at the bottom of this post. BUT, none of that is required. To enter, just leave a comment with your email address and you’re in! Thank you all so much for being here, and I hope you’ve all enjoyed your visit with Avery today. I know I have!