Tags

, , , , ,

You have GOT to read this first chapter! Click image to see it.

Welcome back, dear readers, and thanks so much for joining me again for your daily dose of someone awesome. (No, not ME. My guest! LOL!) Today we are joined by P.R. Mason, who really put her heart into this interview. You’re about to take an amazing look at this author, and when you’re finished one of you will get an equally fabulous close up of two of her books. Yep, that’s right — she giving away e-copies of ENTANGLEMENTS *and* FATED HEARTS. Wanna know how to win? Stay tuned!

CONTEST CLOSED! Congratulations to Krista, who was chosen by random.org as the giveaway winner. Thanks to everyone for commenting!

Welcome, P.R. and congratulations on your new release, ENTANGLEMENTS. While stalking you for this interview, I found the inspiration behind this story to be fascinating. Quantum physics? Wow!  Will you please share the story with our readers while I scrape my jaw off the floor?

As an offshoot of string theory, the idea of multiple universes fascinates me. I think what first attracted my attention specifically to the theory of entanglements was Einstein’s quote describing the phenomenon as “Spooky action at a distance.” Scientists had discovered that a particle could be tweaked miles away from another and cause the second particle to react even though there was no discernable or measurable connection between them. The scientists theorized that the two were “entangled” in an alternate dimension or universe, of which they believed there are at least seven.

The idea that scientists actually believe there are other dimensions out there we can’t see shocked me. I always thought that was just something from science fiction. The more I read about the theory of entanglements, the more interesting I found it. For instance, in the world of quantum physics, effect does not always follow cause. Sometimes they’re reversed. I began to wonder what would happen if people or beings were entangled in alternate universes? What if the phenomenon observable with particles were applicable to people and we just don’t know it yet? From these thoughts the plot for the novel ENTANGLEMENTS was born.

I usually insert a quip here, but you know, I’ve got nothing. (Although I want to go look all that up and read about it now, which for those of you who have ever doubted me should serve as proof that I’m a science nerd.) That is just freaking a-maze-ing! And I have to say, I read the first chapter of ENTANGLEMENTS on your website and it sucked me right in. :c) There’s a lot of atmosphere in those words—can you tell how your writing is affected by the city you call home?

For one thing, Savannah is beautiful and has an enormous amount of character. As the 13th colony, it was established in 1733 and therefore has a historic downtown that is architecturally rich and a delight to the conscious senses. But Savannah has strangely wonderful layers underneath the surface that appeal to my love of the unusual. This town is home to a plethora of quirky characters, odd places and weird historic happenings that provide fodder for fictionalization. Even after eleven years here, every day in Savannah feeds my artistic core.

Savannah, for instance, was voted the most haunted city in America by a parapsychology group. Ghosts, as evidenced by orbs, EVPs (electronic voice phenomenon), moving objects and full apparitions, are as plentiful as the Spanish moss here. My sister and I once owned an antique shop built over one of the old burial grounds. We regularly allowed paranormal investigations with fascinating results such as an EVP of a panting ghost dog and a child’s voice saying, “he likes you”.

But there is more to Savannah than just the hauntings. For example, we have a “magic” square in the historic downtown that reportedly grants wishes to those who visit it and use the correct wish-making technique. Vortexes are also plentiful here, allegedly. One of my friends swears he observed a figure pop up out of the ground in the middle of a square. And since my friend isn’t mentally ill, I have to give his personal experience some credence. These are just to name a few of the oddities I love around here.

Savannah has opened my eyes and my imagination in ways no other city could and provides endless inspiration.

Um, road trip? Seriously, I love ghostly happenings. I was sold on that alone, but now I think I want to move there (where I promise not to stalk you) just to breathe that atmosphere. Well, you’ve clearly got a great spot for inspiration, so let’s see how it moved your story. Which scene from ENTAGLEMENTS was the most powerful for you? Why?

I found the first scene and the last scene the most powerful. Without giving too much away about the end of the story, the two scenes are at opposite ends of an emotional spectrum. Like many people, no doubt, my life has been touched by a moment in time I would give anything to change. My heroine Kizzy feels this very keenly with regard to her brother, Adam and what happens to him in the first scene of the novel. Her guilt drives her to do some reckless but brave acts in order to protect others and save them from a similar fate. In Entanglements, I’ve given Kizzy the chance to do things I’d love to be able to do in real life.

I’ll vouch for the first scene. That was really fantastic (see it here) and I do love how you made it come full circle. If a reader is unfamiliar with your work, which of your books would you suggest he or she read first?  Why?

ENTANGLEMENTS is my latest full-length novel and I believe the best thing I’ve written. It is an urban fantasy with a sweet romance thrown in. The novel was written to unfold at a the pace of a thriller but also to have heart. I hope I achieved that.

A thriller with heart — I LOVE that! Which genre are you drawn to as a reader?  Do you prefer to read in the same genre as your WIP or do you mix it up?

My reading is very eclectic. I love paranormal, urban fantasy and steampunk. But I also find myself reading mysteries, romantic suspense, thrillers and mainstream fiction. Lately, I’ve been reading the Game of Thrones series, Stephen King’s new release and Redaction, which is a post apocalyptic romance/thriller by Linda Andrews.

I so love the mystery and suspense genres! ::bonds:: LOL. Looking back over all of the intimate moments you’ve created between characters, which scene would you most like to experience for yourself?  What makes it so alluring?

I would love to personally experience the romance that I created between Rom and Kizzy in Entanglements. It is sweet but powerful. And being able to go back and experience first love would be fantastic.

You’re selling me more on this book with every answer you give me, LOL! (YAY!) Have you ever battled with any of your characters over their personality traits?  If so, who won – you or the character?

Kizzy from Entanglements battled was a challenge. For me, sometimes a story springs from an idea for a character and sometimes it springs from the idea for a plot. As I described above, the idea for the plot of Entanglements came first and then I had to decide what sort of heroine would be caught up in what I’d envisioned. At least five versions of the first 30 pages were written before I felt I had the beginning and the character “right”. The Kizzy of earlier versions had brown hair and was too whiney. She wasn’t bold. She didn’t have courage…and recklessness. Kizzy didn’t fully form into a real person for me until I decided she had extremely curly red hair, which she straightened when trying to conform to societal expectations. Her personality soon followed and became as fiery as her hair. Also, since the novel is an urban fantasy/paranormal romance, I wanted Kizzy, to be engaged in a hobby that reflected the feisty but reckless aspects of her personality. Urban spelunking fit the needs of both the character and the plot.

Urban spelunking! That’s wild! It sounds like you nailed her persona but good! How do you keep track of plot elements or twists?

I’m a firm believer in the three-act structure but in other ways would call myself a pantser when it comes to writing style. I will generally start out with an outline that identifies the major plot points and twists and where they appear in the story. I draw up a chart listing the plot points and the scenes, which will be necessary to set forth those points. Then I draw up a character sketch for the main characters listing their major personality traits as well as their goal, motivation and conflict. That gives me an idea of what will happen in the book from beginning setup to ending climax. The three-act structure also provides the proper pacing in my opinion.

Wow. You ROCK! (And I am once again otherwise speechless). What are you currently working on?

I just released a novella entitled FATED HEARTS, which explores the question of predestination. Here’s the blurb:

EVE has always played by the rules, afraid to take chances. HOLDEN wants to change that. She’s certain they’ve never met before…or have they? Holden seems so familiar, but who is he? What is he? Yesterday her biggest challenge was trying not to bomb on her SATs. Today, paranormal forces have transformed an ordinary high school dance into a test of fate vs. free will and loving Holden could be Eve’s end.

*****I think Fated Hearts is FREE today for download at Amazon.com http://amzn.com/B006XVD53O

(Sarah butting in to say I just got my copy. That’s freaking awesome — I don’t usually get the free score as a hostess! LOL. Thank you so much!)

A sequel to Entanglements is also in the works. RESISTANCE takes up the story of a human freedom fighter who, along with her alchemist/vampire hero, must defeat an army of soul sucking golems.  I expect to release the sequel in March of 2012.

I’m also finalizing another novella entitled THE BANSHEE AND THE LINEBACKER, which is the story of a teen who has a premonition of her boyfriend’s death. How far will she go to change fate? Will she cheat on him with his brother to save his life? This story will be released in February of 2012.

WOW, that sounds intense! Can you email me personally when that comes out? Twit me? Somethin’? Okay, no one needs to see me beg. Let’s take a closer look at ENTANGLEMENTS.

ENTANGLEMENTS | blurb & links

Teen KIZZY TAYLOR is just hoping for an evening of fun when she joins her friends in a spelunking expedition through an under-city tunnel. But fun turns bizarre when Kizzy accidentally opens a vortex and her stepsister is swept through to an evil alternate dimension. The only way to rescue her stepsister is to reopen the vortex and go in after her. But is her new boyfriend, ROM CALIXO, going to help Kizzy or try to stop her? And if she can get past Rom, will she be able to get back home?

MORE INFO & BUY @ SMASHWORDS | AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE

P.R. MASON | bio & links

P.R. Mason writes steamy contemporary and paranormal romance under the name Patricia Mason and young adult paranormal romance and urban fantasy as P.R. Mason. She escaped from the snowy Midwest winters of her youth by moving in 2001 to the strange and wonderful city of Savannah, Georgia to pursue her dream of being a novelist. Pat’s background is eclectic. She was an Assistant District Attorney and for a number of years was the owner of a haunted antique shop. Two relatively benevolent black cat overlords rule her home.

AUTHOR LINKAGE @ WEBSITE | BLOG | AMAZON AUTHOR PAGE | TWITTER | GOODREADS

**Giveaway**

Now that you have all of your stalking in order, it’s time for the deets on the giveaway. If you’d like to score e-copies of ENTANGLEMENTS *and* FATED HEARTS, all you have to do is leave a comment with your email address. And of course you could say something else. Like hi, nice hair day. Somethin’. ;c) Thanks so much for being here today, everyone, and P.R., I’m pretty sure I’m smarter now than when we started. Have I mentioned how awesome you are? *grin*