Tags

, , , , ,

Bring a little MISHAP AND CHAOS to your life! Click image to get your print copy today.

If you’re in the winterish part of the world right now, you’re going to love today’s guest. Why? Because M.M. Shelley is here to whisk us away to the hot islands of Hawaii to tell us about her new YA paranormal release, MISHAP AND CHAOS. Even better, she brought a copy of her book to give away (ebook or paperback, winner’s choice). Settle in and think warm, guys. We’re in for a treat!

Welcome, and congratulations on the success of MISHAP AND CHAOS!  I love your timing, as this story whisks readers off to the Hawaiian Islands, which sound absolutely wonderful as we sit in the throes of January. :c) Have you spent much time there? What aspects of experience or research do you rely on most to bring the setting to life for your readers?

I have not spent as much time as I’d prefer, but the time I have spent there has been magical. I describe it as magical because the islands are what gave me the inspiration for my books.

Oh, I can imagine! I’m inspired just thinking about it, LOL. As a fan of mythology, what myths do you feel have most influenced your work? What about MISHAP AND CHAOS in particular?

The Odyssey, the idea of an epic journey is what led me into writing Fantasy and Sci-fi. In my story, one of the places that my characters travel to is a place called the Odyssey. It’s a perfect place for different races of magical beings to come together safely.

That’s a great parallel for your work. :c) Which of the secondary characters in MISHAP AND CHAOS is your favorite? Why? How does his or her role interact with that of the main character?

That would be Pele; she is a strong and vibrant character in mythology and has many secrets. She despises twins Grasiella and Tatiana and wants them gone from her islands.  She feels justified in how she treats them.

That feud sounds positively intriguing! If a reader is unfamiliar with your work, which of your books would you suggest he or she read first?  Why?

I have another series that are Novella’s, they would give you an idea of my writing style and how I like to make a common told story into my own. It’s about zombies and magic.

That’s an interesting pairing! What a cool concept. Now let’s put you on the other side of the book. Which genre are you drawn to as a reader?  Do you prefer to read in the same genre as your WIP or do you mix it up?

I do like to mix it up, I read a lot of everything, I love books with a good mystery and I like to see if I can figure it out before the end.

Oh, me too! (I love writing those twists as well. *Giggle*) Have you ever battled with any of your characters over their personality traits?  If so, who won – you or the character?

I let my characters develop on their own and see where the story takes me; I found a lot of the time that they tend to write themselves.

That’s a sign of really great writing! Have you ever made big changes in your story because someone – your crit partner, a friend, or beta reader – really didn’t like it?  Are you glad you did (or didn’t)?

Yes, and I’m glad I listened. Sometimes as a writer, you are just to close and its nice to hear different viewpoints sometimes those different viewpoints make sense.

I totally agree! How do you keep track of plot elements or twists?

I have a spreadsheet that I use to keep track of things; I found that this way works best for me.

They’re great for organization. (I am such a spreadsheet junkie, but I can’t seem to make them work for writing. GAH.) Which of your novels most reflects who you are as a writer?  Why?

I think each of my stories reflect who I am.

As authors, we definitely leave a little bit of ourselves on every page. :c) What’s next for you? 

I am working on the final book in my Mishap trilogy: Mishap & Retribution and I have already started research on my next project that is set in New Orleans, La.

Oh, I absolutely LOVE books set in New Orleans! I don’t know why — they just seem to have such great atmosphere. :c) And speaking of atmosphere, let’s take a closer look at MISHAP AND CHAOS and get to know you a little better before we tell readers how to enter that fabulous giveaway. ;c)

MISHAP AND CHAOS | blurb

Twins Grasiella & Tatiana are hated and feared by the magical race to which they belong.

Deep within the Hawaiian Islands is a hidden danger an island witch who wants nothing more then to end the line of Pele, the fire goddess. Her influence has breached Pele’s inner circle.

The twins must face the consequences of a freed Mnemosyne who no longer stands alone and wants nothing more than to destroy them. Others from Mnemosyne’s world have traveled to earth with unclear intentions.

Grasiella and Tatiana’s only focus is to find their missing grandmother. Risking everything, not knowing if she is dead or alive…

MORE INFO & BUY @ Amazon | Barnes & Noble

M.M. SHELLEY | bio & links

M.M. Shelley is a storyteller, word smith and dreamer. MISHAP AND MAYHEM, a captivating story of faerie’s and magic, is her debut novel. She has traveled the world extensively in search of the magic which is often overlooked in everyday life. M.M. Shelley is a native of southern California, and a student of mythology from which she gets much inspiration.

AUTHOR LINKS @ WEBSITE | BLOG | AMAZON AUTHOR PAGE

As promised, here’s the scoop on the giveaway, and it’s coming from M.M. Shelley herself. Thank you so very much for playing with us today. It’s been fabulous, and so is this prize, y’all. M.M., take it away!

**GIVEAWAY**

Thanks again to Sarah for letting me share with you all today, as a Thank You; I am offering a copy of Mishap & Chaos either an e-copy or paperback winner’s choice! Please leave a comment with your e-mail address to be considered in the drawing.