Tags

, , ,

For more information on this sexy read, click the image. (You get to pick which part. *grin*)

Please welcome today’s guest, Megan Slayer, who happens to have a stash of cabana boys at her service. And if that doesn’t grab your attention, her giveaway certainly will! Stick around to the end if you want in on the giveaway . . . no sneaking off early! You, my dear friends, are about to be entertained!

Welcome, Megan! We’re here to talk about your new release, PERMANENT, but first things first. Tell us about the hot tub and the cabana boys! And how about that whip collection? Are they for display only, or do you break ’em out every now and then?

The cabana boys? Ahh, Luke, Jeremy, Gerard and Javier are happy to serve. I don’t have to use the whips much now. I’ve got them pretty well trained. Most are for display, but hey, ya gotta do what ya gotta do sometimes. Plus, they like it.  (Insert evil grin)

Anyone else looking for an invite to her next party? Just sayin’ . . . LOL. Okay, seriously, PERMANENT sounds like a powerful story. Can you tell our readers a little bit about it?

River has been through the wringer. He had a very bad experience as a sub and still bears the scars. Tory is happy-go-lucky. Very little gets him down. He and River live together because it was cheaper than having a solo apartment and they get along rather well. One night changes everything. Tory sees River in a different light, but you’ll have to read the book to get the rest of the story! J

Oh, man, are you ever a tease! And this gets pretty intense. From where did you draw the emotional connection as an author to keep these characters both vivid to readers and true to themselves throughout the story?

For River, I talked to quite a few folks in the BDSM scene. I didn’t want to make the scene feel forced and I didn’t want it to seem impossible. To make Tory and River so vivid? Well, I let them do the talking and didn’t force them to do what they weren’t capable of doing. They both shocked me in good ways.

Nothing like a couple of very good, very bad boys. *grin* If a reader is unfamiliar with your work, which of your books would you suggest he or she read first?  Why?

If you want to read the genesis of the Glow books, then start with Fire Woman.  That’s Zac and Atria’s story. I love them because it was the start of what I didn’t plan out as a series, but became one. Otherwise, I’d say just pick one up and enjoy! (Well, I hope you enjoy. J) I write what I feel are realistic and identifiable characters. I want the reader to say, you know, I know people like that. I want the reader to feel like he/she is reading about good friends.

That’s an absolutely wonderful sentiment. :c) Which genre are you drawn to as a reader?  Do you prefer to read in the same genre as your WIP or do you mix it up?

I enjoy reading most genres. I mix it up or I get bored. The one I like the most is contemporary. Doesn’t matter if it’s MF or MM. As long as I can see myself in the situation, I’m good. Now, if it’s a paranormal, or SFF, if I can see myself in the world the characters are in, even better.

I love how you love to relate to your reads — I’m guilty of that as well. :c) Have you ever battled with any of your characters over their personality traits?  If so, who won – you or the character?

I’m right now arguing with a character. She’s very earthy and very hippie-ish. I won’t say it’s culture clash, but I’m having a hard time stepping into her shoes sometimes.

With River and Tory, there were some things River went through that I can’t personally fathom. I know they happen and have seen them, but to actually go through them myself…well, I battled with making it believable.

LOL @ “culture clash!” It sounds as if you identify deeply with your characters as you write — that’s amazing. Have you ever made big changes in your story at the suggestion of someone else?  Are you glad you did (or didn’t)?

The entire first chapter of PERMANENT was something the editor suggested. I’m glad she did. It makes the rest of the story flow so much better. If I had started where I had the story…it wouldn’t have worked so well. We get to understand a little bit more of River in that first chapter. So yeah, I’m glad I did the change.

That’s a big change, but it sure sounds like a good one! How do you keep track of plot elements or twists?

Click for tour dates. Comment for a chance to win a $10 GC!

Notebooks. Seriously. I have a notebook, well about fifteen of them, but I keep whatever story I’m currently working on in that notebook. Unfortunately sometimes I get a new idea and jot it in the midst of a story, but SO FAR I’ve managed to keep everything kosher. I do refer back and make tracked comments in the document to keep things straight as well. Better than having a reader come back and tell me I gave one character blue hair in the first half and red in the second half without explaining why.

LOL! Readers may not recognize just how hard it can be to keep track of those details — even something as seemingly obvious as hair color. (I’m guilty of catching myself in some of those during edits, so I can relate.) Which of your novels most reflects who you are as a writer?  Why?

They all reflect little bits of me. Like tiny little photographs. Okay, in all seriousness, there are things the characters do that are things I might do. For example, River listens to Linkin Park and is singing along with one of the songs early in the story. Most of my books have animals in them. Probably because I love animals, cats in particular. I have a weakness for orange and black cats. In many of my stories, one or more of the characters is artistic. I went to school to be an art teacher so it fits. In The Air I Breathe, Luc makes a necklace for Tay. The fun part about it was I’d taken a jewelry making class in college so except to refer to the book to make sure I’d spelled everything right, it was a walk down memory lane to write that scene.

Your stories really are like little photographs! I love how you can connect each one with a piece of yourself. :c) What are you currently working on? 

I’m working on the third (or is it fourth?) Glow book, about an Earth elemental and the monster truck driving man who drives her crazy. I’m also working on a story about a fallen angel, Fallen.

Here’s a little snippet of Fallen:

“Go home, Brett.”

Livia’s blood turned to fire in her veins. The deep, gravelly voice set her nerve endings on end. Now if the drunken fool would just blow, she could at least see the guy who came to her aid. If he was the dream guy from history class, then even better.

“Butt out, Ty.” Brett smacked his lips. “We were gonna have sex. Me and those lovelies.” He reached out, hands hovering over her chest. “Come to Brett. Again.”

Again? Who was this clown? “I wouldn’t have sex with you if you were the last man alive,” Livia snapped and slapped his hands away. “You spilled beer on me and you’re a pushy jerk.”

“You’d know.” He swayed into her personal space and murmured in a much less slurred tone, “I never forgot you.”

Never forgot her? What the hell was this guy drinking? She stared at the drunken gladiator. Nothing about him really stood out. Still at her age, everything looked a little familiar.  He couldn’t possibly be him. The man from her memory was dead. She saw him die over three centuries before.

“Okay, time for Brett to go home. I don’t want crap on my carpet and she’s not interested.” The owner of the deep voice stepped out from behind Livia and grabbed Brett’s arms. Her jaw dropped. This man was the man. The man. Tyler Wilson embodied her innermost desires, looked like no one she’d ever known and he was right there protecting her.

Lean muscle filled out Ty’s tall frame. Her ***** clenched and liquid heat coated her panties. What would it feel like to have his hands on her body? To run her fingers through his thick dark hair and listen to him murmur dirty things as they explored each other’s bodies, what would it be like? A flash of bodies moving together and the look of sheer lust in his blue eyes filled her mind. Oh good God, it would be almost heaven.

If he felt the heat, too. She couldn’t hope to be so lucky again. The run-in with Brett or whoever he was served as a cold reminder of what she’d fallen for and couldn’t have.

WHEW! That deleted word was mine, y’all. I think it’s about to get REALLY hot in here! Let’s check out the featured book, PERMANENT, then we’ll give the scoop on Megan through her bio.

PERMANENT | blurb & buy links

Sometimes love just ain’t enough…

River Cortland trusted the person he loved. His faith couldn’t protect him from the bitter sting of a cold-hearted Domme. If he’s going to learn to trust again, he’s got to deal with his past.  His roommate and best friend, Tory, has seen the physical damage and hasn’t walked away. Can he deal with the emotional scars as well?

Tory McClellan wanted the carefree life…until one night with River changed everything. There’s more to the shy art teacher and Tory wants to know everything-how he tastes, the scent of his skin, the feel of his body as they make love. What terror lies behind River’s brown eyes? Better yet, how can Tory make the sadness go away and be in River’s life, permanently?

MORE INFO & BUY @ TOTAL E-BOUND

MEGAN SLAYER | bio & links

When she’s not writing the stories in her head, Megan Slayer can be found luxuriating in her hot tub with her two vampire Cabana boys, Luke and Jeremy. She has the tendency to run a tad too far with her muse, so she has to hide in the head of her alter ego, but the boys don’t seem to mind.

When she’s not obsessing over her whip collection, she can be found picking up her kidlet from school.

She enjoys writing in all genres, but writing about men in love suits her fancy best.

Currently hanging out every Wednesday and Friday at the Menagerie Authors site, hunting Hotties for the Saturday posts, and working on the next great story brewing in her head!

The cabana boys are willing to serve, unless she needs them. She always need them. So be nice to Javier, Gerard, Luke and Jeremy or they will bite–on command.

AUTHOR LINKS @ WEBSITE | BLOG | MENAGERIE AUTHORS & BLOG | FACEBOOK | TWITTER

**Giveaway**

As promised, here’s you chance to score! Megan Slayer will be giving away a $10 gift card to Changeling Press at the end of her blog tour. The winner will be chosen from all comments tour wide, so be sure to show Megan some love for your chance to win, then check out the rest of her tour dates for more chances to enter. But hurry! Tour ends January 13th.

Thanks so much for joining us, everyone. Megan, it’s been a pleasure. Now about that hot tub . . . .