Tags

, , , , ,

To make a little Magic with J.S., click image above.

J.S. Wayne and I have an odd friendship—fully platonic, mind you, yet somehow revolving around biscuits, gravy, and a nameless volcano—but he never fails to make me smile … or perhaps chortle is a better word? (Come to think of it, chortle sounds like a *filthy* word! LOL.) One never knows what the heck is going to come from the mind of J.S., but rest assured one thing will never change: he’s going to make you laugh. (Or, um, chortle.) Ladies, gents, and seekers of grand prize Kindle, please welcome my buddy J.S. Wayne as part of the Noble Blog Tour!

Greetings, J.S.! I’m all about snooping into your back story today, so let’s have it. Have you always wanted to be an author?  Briefly describe your path.

I’ve wanted to write for fully two thirds of my life, but I came to it by some awfully weird byways. A brief stint in the US Air Force, working as a construction materials testing technician, a bar tender, and as a prison guard before I finally realized that my goatee wasn’t getting any redder, and those pale hairs I was starting to notice were NOT blond! I knew then that I had to get to work or forget all about it.

Guess which one I chose?

You were a prison guard? Wow. In my mind you’re somehow more formidable now than you were right after I listened to you read your excerpt (which was totally formidable, I swear). I’m almost afraid to “out” your squishy center (not referring to the abs, folks – I mean his inner softy) but I’d love to know which of your own titles has had the greatest impact on you personally?  As an author?

I think the “Angels” series has really come to define me as an author. The comments and reviews I keep getting to this day are the reason I keep writing. There’s always a pressure to top yourself, but I think I set myself a pretty high bar with the “Angels!”

I’ve read two of the three ANGELS titles and can vouch for the excellence therein! From the highs of writerly greatness (yeah, I’m a buzz kill) to the lows (because it’s fun, lol) … what was your most embarrassing moment?  Details are good!

Oh, God. I don’t even know where to start with this one. I think the most embarrassing recently was when I attended a live poetry reading in the Art District in Las Vegas. Unbeknownst to me, there was a wedding going on at the venue. (The couple had insisted on doing it there so their poetic friends and any random wanderers could step up to the mic.) I showed up with two erotic poems: Interlude in Scarlet and Watcher, both original works of mine . . . and both COMPLETELY inappropriate for children! At the request of the host, I waited until the second set, read “Interlude in Scarlet,” signed it for the couple, and vanished!

I still grimace when I think about it, but they loved it and were extremely cordial about the whole thing.

Oh, wow. I bet you gave them some wedding night fodder!  (Okay, is that weird wondering if they may have been thinking about you? LOL.)  While we’re on memory lane, describe your most vivid childhood memory.  Would you like to revisit that time in your life?

My favorite memory of being a child was my dad rounding up the family and taking us a few miles out of town to go shooting. I fired a .44 Magnum Desert Eagle semiautomatic, a Winchester Model 870 pump-action shotgun, and a .22 Colt revolver that day. He set up milk bottles and filled them with dirt to use as targets, and my first shot with the shotgun from about 25 yards blew the top half off the milk bottle and sprayed dirt and plastic everywhere . . . and almost took me right off my feet! (I was a skinny, geeky kid complete with tortoise shell, thick glasses, just to give you the whole picture.) That day I learned a profound respect for firearms, and the pleasure and challenge of shooting for fun. It’s something I still do to this day when time and money allow.

My childhood wasn’t bad, as childhood goes. I know of a lot of people who had it a lot worse. But for all the great memories, I wouldn’t go back for anything! Puberty, broken hearts, young love . . . gah! Who  wants to go through THAT more than once?

To see this and related "Angel" titles from J.S. Wayne, please click image above.

My husband takes our kids to blow things up. Good to know there will be fond memories to follow, LOL. (LMAO about the kickback!) As for the closing sentiment, I’m with you and I remind myself of that very thing every time I start to feel old. Hey, self, wanna start over? Didn’t think so! But … ah, humble beginnings. When you first moved away from home, what was your place like?

My first place out of my parents’ house was a dump. It was in a constant state of disrepair, and haunted to boot! The first chance I got, I ran out of there like the place was on fire!

Haunted? Oh, man, there’s a story I’d love to hear! But the mental image … hysterical. (Thanks to KevaD’s tighty whitey story here yesterday, I’m somehow seeing this escape taking place with you in your underwear.) Speaking of home, what are your favorite things about writing for Noble Romance?

This is going to sound like shameless sucking up, but I mean all of it sincerely.

First, the people I work with and for are great! Supportive, caring, always willing to help out or extend an “attaboy” to their fellow authors. Then there’s my editor, Bryl Tyne, who makes my writing everything it can be. And of course, Jill Noble, who bends over backwards to help her authors out with projects like this tour.

Last, but certainly not least, are the readers! I’ve had the pleasure of forming relationships with several of them, and each and every of them is great. I think Noble has some of the best and most loyal fans and readers out there, and I appreciate them all!

That’s one thing I love about Noble: every utterance of sincerity sounds like sucking up because they are SO fab! LOL. Tell us about any WIPs, upcoming releases, or … um, cute fuzzy animals you’re about to mutilate. (Just read on, guys).

Oh, man. There’s SO much going on!

Since this is November, I’m also participating in NaNoWriMo, trying to finish off the last installment of the “canonical” Angels series and a WIP entitled Once A Knight’s Enough. After those are done, I’m going to get back to work on a modern paranormal erotic horror story, The Hollow, featuring the Headless Horseman.

I’ve got two upcoming releases: “Dancing on Flames,” which is an m/m paranormal erotic romance featuring werewolves; and “Dead Means Dead,” for the forthcoming Lesbians Vs. Zombies line from Noble Romance.

And after I get all those plot bunnies skinned, I’ve got six more in various stages of development! Plus, I’m working on raising awareness for Writing Out Child Abuse, a coalition of writing professionals dedicated to providing care, comfort, aid and hope to survivors of child abuse worldwide.

So, nah…I don’t do anything much these days!

Uh, yeah. Not much. It all sounds fabulous, but you grabbed me with the erotic horror (I’m a horror fanatic) and the Writing Out Child Abuse coalition. That is DEFINITELY something worth checking out, as is your backlist and the whole slew of upcoming projects. I’ve got a feeling there will be no escaping the J.S. Wayne of the future (OR his biscuits!).

Lovely readers, we leave you with the scoop on the latest from J.S. — including the blurb and trailer — and lots of linkage. Be sure to leave a comment and partake in some friendly stalking as you continue the Noble Blog Tour loop. Remember your comment is a chance to win the Kindle and a host of other fabulous prizes, so show him some adoration, wouldya? Thanks for being here!

Ancient Magic

More than two decades have passed since the Hodans invaded the peaceful kingdom of Jurav. In their zeal for conquest, they have mercilessly rent the Juravian national character asunder, starting with the temples of their gods.

Varath was raised from a young age by his uncle to one day assume his father’s mantle— of the command warden of the Temple of Noradi, the most beloved goddess of the Juravian pantheon and the deity of heart, hearth, and the fires which burn in both.

Melody would have been the High Priestess to Noradi, and her own family has groomed her with equal care against the day when the Hodan hordes would be expelled and she could assume her rightful place as the most powerful figure in the entire nation . . . and as Varath’s bride.

When Varath departed to serve in the Hodan army, Melody saw it as an unconscionable betrayal. Now Varath has returned to take his father’s place as the sole guardian of a temple where no one dares enter, and he has made overtures to claim the other half of his bequest: Melody herself. But can Melody see past the deceptions and lies his rebellion has forced and learn to love the man who seems to have turned his back on his own people?

BUY LINK

J.S. Wayne Linkage

WEBSITE | BLOG | TWITTER | NOBLE AUTHOR PAGE

AMAZON AUTHOR PAGE | GOODREADS | WRITING OUT CHILD ABUSE

NEXT STOP ON THE NOBLE BLOG TOUR LOOP
VISIT BONUS BLOGS FOR MORE PRIZES