Tags

, , ,

To add UNDER A PRAIRIE MOON to your Kindle, click image.

Today our guest is Krista Kedrick, who comes with her new romance UNDER A PRAIRIE MOON. The readers over at Amazon are raving about this one, lauding the beautiful descriptions and an immediate connection with characters. With a build-up like that, I’d say we are extremely fortunate to have Krista join us today. *cheers and applause!*

Hi, Krista, and welcome!  I read your bio and came to a screeching halt at one thing: you spent some of your early childhood on the banks of the Stinkin’ Water Creek. Can I just say I LOVE that? And may I ask if the water did, indeed, stink?

Hi Sarah!  It’s so nice of you to have me on your site.

Lol.  I know it’s such a funny name because it’s a beautiful place with all the lush grass, clutches of tree stands and diverse wildlife wandering about.  My family’s first house was there and the story behind it is pretty incredible.  It was named by the Sioux Indians who lived there.  One winter the land was piled with snowed and bitterly cold and a herd of buffalo had been crossing the iced over creek freely until it started to thaw.  The herd were migrating across and fell through.  The water was deep and the banks were still snowed over making it impossible for them to get out.  There they were in their watery grave on the curve of the creek when the heat of summer set in creating a reeking odor of death so the Sioux dubbed it the Stinkin water creek and the name stuck. Today there is a den of beavers who live there creating problems for the Game and Parks with their dams flooding farmland.

I want to say that’s a fabulous story, but those poor buffalo! And judging by the stink a mere ‘possum can conjure over here in the South, I dare imagine the stench of those waters. (I’m guessing the beavers got a great deal on that land, LOL!) Creek water aside—or perhaps not, LOL—UNDER A PRAIRIE MOON is set over a lot of the same ground you’ve called home for much of your life. Such an intimate knowledge must help you paint a vivid picture. What are some of your favorite backdrops for the story?

It truly is a bountiful spring for vivid descriptions.  The land is so diverse, from blowing sand dunes to rolling meadows to red rock bluffs cropping up throughout the landscape and flat farm ground rowed in corn, wheat, and sunflowers and dotted with cattle.  It’s hard to pick just one place.  I myself get to look on the farm ground everyday being married to a farmer, but I make frequent excursions north to the Sandhills. I love my home state.  We’re actually rated the second happiest state in the union.

I’ve been fortunate enough to roam under those wide western skies and I have to agree it’s simply stunning. What a beautiful, peaceful way to greet each day! That peace, however, is sometimes hard earned for your characters. It seems they find themselves in a bit of a love triangle. Without giving too much away, can you share with our readers what attracted your heroine, Andy, to each man?

Andy indeed found herself in quite a pickle.  Josh is her ex-boyfriend who glamorized her with his charm and good looks in her youth, but his darker side and rogue ways drove her away.  When she met his younger brother Jason she assumed the two were the same, but he proved to be Josh’s polar opposite.  Jason is a true cowboy.  Which means he is the strong, silent type.  He uses actions rather than words to assert his feelings and thoughts.  Which, unless you’re used to it, can be extremely frustrating and drives some women away while drawing in others who want to figure them out and be the one he gives his heart to.  When a cowboy/country boy gives his heart, which is usually made of pure gold and full of love, to a woman, it’s completely.  So being a cowboy, he also judges others by their actions as well, holding them to his standard, which means heartache for Andy who runs from him after an encounter with Josh.  But love and life lead them barreling down the rail on a crash course back to each other, with much the same results.

Wow, that’s great character insight! And it sounds like a heart-wrenching dilemma, at least at first. (I love my country boy, LOL, and your “whole heart” description is spot on. <<throws that in there for any urban skeptics out there. *grin*) If a reader is unfamiliar with your work, which of your books would you suggest he or she read first?  Why?

Well this is actually my debut novel.  So I would recommend it to anyone who loves wonderful descriptions of ranch land and fun dialog with a strong willed woman and a hard headed cowboy.

Yup, that’s me! (Not that I’m at all strong-willed, mind you. *looks around to see if anyone is laughing*) Which genre are you drawn to as a reader?  Do you prefer to read in the same genre as your WIP or do you mix it up?

I don’t really pigeonhole my reading preferences.  I read just about anything, even biographies and history books.  But romance is my all time favorite.  I love a happy ending it gives balance to a crazy world.

I’m with you on that last point! LOL. Looking back over all of the intimate moments you’ve created between characters, which scene would you most like to experience for yourself?  What makes it so alluring?

Who says I’m not writing from experience?  Have you seen my husband he lifts hay bales on a daily basis?  Lol, okay, seriously I love the spontaneous combustion scenes.  You know, where it’s like they can’t control it, they just have to be with each other right then and there, clothes flying, objects crashing to the floor.  That’s what does it for me.

Those are some of my favorite moments as well. Sooo yummy! (Gotta love a man who can move hay bales, too.) Have you ever battled with any of your characters over their personality traits?  If so, who won – you or the character?

You know, I would have to say it’s sometimes hard to write the female characters.  I myself have a quick temper when things don’t go my way, but it quickly fizzles out and I’m often looking around wondering what everyone else is still mad at me for. And I have a sarcastic sense of humor that not everyone appreciates (my sister) It’s hard for me not to interject myself into the character and what I would do instead of what she would do.  The character I hope always wins.

OMG! Me, too! I have that same humor streak and it certainly makes life interesting sometimes, LOL. But it also sounds as if you know your characters quite well. Have you ever made big changes in your story because someone – your crit partner, a friend, or beta reader – really didn’t like it?  Are you glad you did (or didn’t)?

I’ve been lucky so far on that note.  I work really hard on trying to keep the thread of the story consistent with the characters behaviors and personalities so it will flow and be believable.  It’s worked out for me.  I have lots of wonderful feedback on my stories.

Can’t beat that! How do you keep track of plot elements or twists?

I have a cork board full of note cards and I add to it all the time as the story goes.  It makes it easier to keep track and make sure there is a payoff for every set-up and just who did what in which scene.  And names of secondary characters which I find hard to remember.

It must be so nice to have it all organized at a glance! Which of your novels most reflects who you are as a writer?  Why?

I would have to say the one I’m working on now called Family Ties.  Since I turned down a traditional publisher and decided to self-publish I’m writing for myself and the way I think the story should be instead of writing a story for a publishing house who can often be narrow minded in their acquisitions.  It’s completely freeing, I’m not second guessing myself, I’m just going for it – all out.

Wow, it’s not often I meet someone who turned down a traditional publisher! I’m sure the freedom of writing your stories as they demand to be written is a wonderful feeling, though. What are you currently working on?

My release date for my second novel is March 26, 2011.  So mark it on your calendars or make it easy and go sign up on my website to get updates!  Also there is some pretty funny Western Slang on there and pictures of good-looking cowboys in the Cowboy Candy section!

One more thing- I am one of the featured authors at The Romance Reviews and they are having a game and fun Q&A at their site www.theromancereviews.com all through the month of Nov.  They have book giveaways and giftcards and all sorts of stuff you can win so pop over there everyday to win some pretty cool stuff from me and a bunch of other authors.

Thank you so much for having me here today Sarah, you have fantastic questions.  I had a blast answering them!

It has been my pleasure! I’m now thinking about those big skies, sweeping prairies, and some good-lovin’ romance in the hay. (Which is itchy, but *high five* to all of you who already knew that, LOL.) While I go take a cold shower, you guys check out the backstory on our guest, and don’t forget to say hello to Krista! (Y’all know it gets a little wild in here sometimes. Don’t go scarin’ her off!)

UNDER A PRAIRIE MOON

Lincoln photographer Andrea Jameson finds passion and much more in the arms of a young cowboy, who just happens to be the brother of her traitorous ex-boyfriend.  Will they accept the life changing journey and realize the love they captured one night, under a praire moon?  Or will doubt and circumstance drive them apart?

Buy Links: AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | CREATESPACE

KRISTA KEDRICK – About the Author

Linkage: WEBSITE | FACEBOOK | ROMANCE REVIEWS

Krista was born and raised in Nebraska.  Her first years were spent on a ranch near the Stinkin’ Water Creek in Chase County with her family raising cattle, lambs and chickens and stirring up trouble.  After spending several childhood years in Colorado and Kansas her family returned to make Nebraska their home.

She graduating from high school in 1998 she went on to Northeastern Junior College where she played volleyball and earned a degree in Horticulture.

Second only to volleyball is her love of plants and the outdoors. She is forever working in her yard, which explains her vivid descriptions of settings in her novels.

She has many interests, enjoys many activities, and finds it almost impossible to remain idle for more than an hour.  Krista has tried her hat at a wide range of occupations from landscaper to pet store owner, not to mention several in-home businesses, but continued to pursue writing during all those years, taking courses, writing whenever possible and researching topics and the business.

It has been Krista’s ambition to become a published author since her freshman year of high school when a literature class changed how she looked at writing.  She discovered it could be more than an outlet for feelings or simply a hobby.

She married her high-school sweetheart in 2000. He has been a wealth of information for her western/agriculture style novels.  And living in small communities has given her the inside view of small town people -their wholesomeness, kindness and appreciation of the little things in life.  These one-of-a-kind people are the heart of her characters.

Her  light-hearted take on the world splashes the pages of her novel creating a wonderful mix of seriousness and humor.

Krista makes her home in Nebraska with her husband, two daughters and basset hound.

Her debut novel Under a Prairie Moon by Krista Kedrick is available in both paperback and ebook on www.createspace.com, www.amazon.com, www.smashwords.com and for the nook at www.barnesandnoble.com.

Website / Facebook