Tags

, , , , , ,

Click image to Collect this one for yourself!

My guest today is Elizabeth Morgan, and she comes bearing a gift: a free copy of THE COLLECTOR. (Score!!) Your comment is your chance to win*, and I bet you’ll have something to say after you read this revealing guest post! She does a darn good job of introducing herself — and now she’s glaring at me — so I’m just going to get the heck out of her way. Elizabeth? (*contest closed – congrats to Missy on her win!)

Hey there, my name is Elizabeth Morgan and today I have come to talk to you about my new release, The Collector. Well, I decided rather than talk directly about my new release, I would talk about some of my beliefs, all of which helped me create and write this story.

First thing you should know, I believe in angels. *Cue Abba’s – I have a dream* Every time someone says that line, I get that song in my head.

Any way, I do believe in angels. There have been many things that have happened in my life, and in the lives of some of my family that have been unexplainable. Naturally in reading this a few people will come to the conclusion that there is always a logical reason for anything, well, I don’t believe that. I don’t believe that things are so straight forward, and easy.

I believe that spirits walk the earth. I believe in reincarnation, and I believe in fate. These three beliefs helped me create the foundation for my world, my heaven and hell and all its occupants.

I hope you will forgive me, because I now have to split this post in to sections. The reason I am doing this is because I am a quick and deep thinker and it is extremely easy for me to go on and on with myself, and talk everyone in to a knot.

Spirits

They say that children are more sensitive to “otherworldly” possibilities. Personally I believe it is because society hasn’t put its hooks in them yet and told them that such things are impossible, and are not normal. What is normal? We all have an idea about it, but we could totally be wrong. There are plenty of people in the world who are open minded, and they remain sensitive to such things even beyond childhood.

Do I believe in spirits? Yes. Do I believe that they step in to situations sometimes and help us out? Yes. Am I sensitive? Not as sensitive as some, but I have had my fair share of experiences. The first took place when I was three years old. Naturally I can’t remember this event with me being so young, but my mother, aunt and grandmother were all present at the time. And I have asked them all on a multitude of occasions if they are a hundred and twenty percent certain of what they saw, and they have all crossed their hearts and swore blind that it is the truth.

We were all at my grandparents house. My mother and I were coming down the stairs – my mother was already at the bottom talking to my gran and aunt – when I tripped, and went head first, but instead of tumbling down the stairs, I became balanced on one of the steps. From what I have been told, my ribcage was pressed against the edge of the step, my arms were outstretched before me, and I was kicking my legs in the air. A sort of superman pose at a downward angle – if that helps the visual.

Now, naturally, I should have fallen. Slip on a step and you will fall. Even if you land on your butt, you will fall down a step or two. And here I was kicking my legs in the air, balancing on a step, not falling downwards. After a moments of shock in which my mother was certain I was going to break my neck, my gran ran up the stairs and grabbed me. To this day, my grandmother, my mother and my aunt all swear that it happened, and that it looked like someone was holding me in place.

I know how crazy that is going to sound to most of you, but I believe my family. I believe them because it is one of many incidents that have occurred through out my life, and the lives around me.

I believe that our loved ones are still around even after they have passed. I believe that sometimes they can help us in ways. Sometimes they just want us to know they are there still. And I find the idea of them still being with us, extremely comforting.

Reincarnation

I am a huge fan of Egyptian mythology, but I wont get started on that : P I have also read a lot of stories about reincarnation in magazines, but they are not my stories to tell. All I will say is that I believe that in each lifetime we have a lesson to learn, and if we don’t learn it we will come back again, and again, until we do. I believe this because I don’t ever think there is truly an end to anything. Life is a cycle, and death is another.

Fate

I could go on and on about fate, but my views on its dynamics, well, I would need a board and a marker pen so I could explain it properly. So, I will give you the simplified version.

I believe that fate is like a giant road map, and we are all on a journey. Now as you know fate means that everything is planned out for us, do I believe that? Yes, completely. But, in life we are given choices. Surely we have some control? Surely we have to take responsibility for our actions? Yes, we do. So how does having choices fit in with something that is supposedly planned out for us?

You remember I said we are on a journey? Well, what do you do when you’re on a journey? You have to decide which roads to take to get to your destination. You have to decided if you want to go straight, take a short cut, or maybe go the scenic route. Sometimes you stop for a break, get some gas. Sometimes one of your passengers – someone you’re linked to in life – might make a decision or do something that will send you veering down another road… Do you see where I am going with this?

Perhaps an example would help? You’re engaged. The wedding is in a month, but you’re not entirely sure you want to go through with it. Now, you have two choices, you either a) marry the guy/girl and begin your new joint life, or b) call the wedding off.

No matter what option you pick, fate already has everything that follows written out on that big map. You’re just deciding which road to go down. That road could be happy, or it could be sad. A breakup could be on road b, heartbreak, but maybe not. Maybe marriage isn’t for you as a couple, and maybe not getting married is the best thing for the both of you.

Maybe road a will be a long and happy marriage, or maybe divorce is just around the next corner. No matter what option you picked you will end up on the path you were supposed to be.

Does that make sense?

To put it in a nutshell, I just believe that everyone has a purpose in life, and that if there are things we are supposed to do; People we are meant to meet etc. we will get there, because all those roads will lead us there no matter which one we take. Every route we can take is already planned out thanks to fate, but we have the power to decide which way to go.

Angels

Why did I decide to write about an angel in the first place? Why did I decide to write about an angel who dabbles in death? Why didn’t I write about a Guardian angel, or one of the well known archangels?

I’m a little late joining this particular topic. There are many stories out there that star angels. Every author has a different view on these beings, just like they will on any other paranormal creature you can think of. And all of these authors have written amazing stories, and done amazing things with these beings. The battle of good and evil. A fight over a mortals soul. Love through eternity…. Wonderful stories, but I didn’t want to do a huge epic story. I wanted to try something different. I wanted to concentrate on a particular real life story that my mother told me about the final moments of my grandfathers life.

My grandfather was in hospital, and my mother was sat with one of her sisters when my grandfather pointed to the end of the bed and began talking to someone. Well, there was no one at the end of the bed, and my mother couldn’t recognize the surname my grandfather had mentioned, so she thought nothing of it. That night, my grandfather passed away. When my mother finally asked my grandmother about it, she stated that the name was linked to one of the men who fought with my grandfather in World War 2. It was one of his friends who had died.

Now, this isn’t the first time I’ve heard about such experiences. I have been told about other family members who have been on their death beds and held their hands out to someone, and began talking to these “people”. I have also read and even seen TV programmes that have described such moments between someone in passing. Whether someone or something really does come for you when it is your time to pass into the next life… well, we will only know when it our time, won’t we?

That was the story that made me want to write about angels.

I am hoping very much that The Collector is the first in a series, because in regards to what my hero – Kale – does, well in the words of The Carpenters – We’ve only just begun ^_^

THE COLLECTOR

After watching millions die, those human emotions are starting to take effect. Instead of collecting his next spirit from the car accident that is about to kill her, Kale saves her life. His punishment for ruining fate… is mortality.

Samantha hasn’t been able to stop thinking about her beautiful hero. So when she stumbles across him, lying in a hospital bed with a small case of amnesia, she is more than happy to offer him her help. It’s the least she can do to re-pay the man who saved her life.

Though Samantha soon learns that Kale isn’t the guardian angel she thought he was, not to mention how far he has fallen to earn a place in her heart.

BUY LINK: COBBLESTONE PRESS

Sarah here: Now clearly at this point you are all about stalking Elizabeth, so I leave you with her links and a reminder that your comment earns an entry into a drawing for a PDF copy of THE COLLECTOR. Please leave your e-mail address! Elizabeth, with the help of random.org, will choose a winner on Saturday, October 15th at 1:00 p.m. ET.

ELIZABETH MORGAN: BLOG | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | GOODREADS
<<<COMMENT FOR A CHANCE TO WIN A COPY OF “THE COLLECTOR”!>>>