Tags

, , , , ,

A portion of your $2.99 purchase will be donated to the American Breast Cancer Foundation. Please click image to learn more about DEADLY SECRETS.

Y’all know I can’t do anything with a straight face, but today I’d like to step back and take a moment to be serious. Why? Because October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month and my special guest LeeAnn Burke is donating proceeds from October sales of DEADLY SECRETS to the American Breast Cancer Foundation. The ratings for this title are off the charts, so if you’ve ever considered a romantic suspense, NOW is the time to grab this book. You’ll hear more about this in the interview, which is is my honor to share with you.

Welcome, LeeAnn, and congratulations on the publication of DEADLY SECRETS. This story follows a twisting path full of harrowing discoveries, secrets pasts, and a race against time to stop a killer—all exciting, heart-stopping elements of romantic suspense. What drives you to put your characters in such peril?

I’m just a cruel author. LOL Actually I never really thought or planned to put them through so much, it simply happened the way the story was meant to be written.

LOL! Yes, we’re vindictive little things, all hunched over our keyboards in the dark. (I can SO see myself that way, LOL!) Your new release looks intriguing — what can you tell readers about DEADLY SECRETS they won’t find anywhere else?

I based the home of Frederique and his wife on where I grew up in Shawinigan. Also I used nut allergy as the weapon because it’s something I have always known about because my older sister is deadly allergic to nuts.

How cool about the house! I bet that really brought your setting to life. And I’m so sorry about your sister’s allergy — what a terrible thing to live with (albeit a clever weapon!) 

For the month of October, every purchase of DEADLY SECRETS means something special for an important cause. Please tell readers about the donations and what this charity means to you.

My publisher made arrangements to make DEADLY SECRETS a sponsor for the American Breast Cancer Foundation (ABCF.org). They donate a portion of each sale to them. Myself I am donating 100% of my royalties to Breast Cancer Research.

However this year my publisher is doing something more. In honor of Breast Cancer month we are offering DEADLY SECRETS ebook $2.99 & will donate $1 to the American Breast Cancer Foundation

That is FANTASTIC! Readers, I hope you’ll share this with your friends. (<nudge, nudge>)

LeeAnn, rumor has it there’s a sequel in the works. How is it coming along? Without giving too much away, can you share the connection between your DEADLY DESIRES and DEADLY SECRETS?

I am currently working on the sequel. I’m not sure if the title will remain or not only time will tell. The second book is about Vanessa, a waitress at Rock Heaven and Black the PI from DEADLY SECRETS. Someone is obsessed with Vanessa and is killing off her dates. Black gets involved to find the killer before he kills his obsession, Vanessa.

Obsessions are yummy (you know, in the fictional romantic suspense context, LOL.) All of that passion and tension makes for a page-turner! As for your passion, I’ve got to say I’m A-mazed! You wrote for 22 years before you got “the call.” How did you handle the wait, or—better yet—the news of your publishing contract?

For the first 15 years I simply wrote for the pleasure of writing. I had no real intention of getting published, but once I did I realized how hard it was to get published. The way I handled it was celebrate when my fellow writing friends got their call and patiently (or not so patiently at times) waited for mine, because I never doubted it would happen.

You have the patience of a saint! I’m so glad it happened for you, LeeAnn. Your work looks fantastic! Switching gears a bit, which genre are you drawn to as a reader?  Do you prefer to read in the same genre as your WIP or do you mix it up?

I try not to read suspense books while I am writing, but I do have a large selection of books to read. My to be read pile of books is close to 1,500 at the moment. I have mystery, romance, Christian, woman’s fiction and many more genres of book.

Okay, your list obliterates my list. That is INSANE! *Bites nails* Have you ever battled with any of your characters over their personality traits?  If so, who won – you or the character?

I have to say that didn’t happen in DEADLY SECRETS but it is happening with my current work which is a sequel. My hero and heroine are really struggling with my intentions of putting them together. I intend to win in the end because sparks fly whenever they are in the room together.

Yes, sparks!  Have I mentioned how much I love sparks? *Happy sigh* (Okay, now people are looking at me funny . . .) Perhaps as I fan myself I can turn turn your attention to LeeAnn?

I would like to thank Sarah for this wonderful interview and the opportunity she has given me.

It’s my pleasure, LeeAnn! I’m honored to help get the word out about DEADLY SECRETS. Remember, readers, for the month of October $1 of your $2.99 purchase goes to the American Breast Cancer Foundation. Please share this post with a friend . . . truly, every dollar helps!

Below you’ll find the blurb and buy links (<<hint, hint) for DEADLY SECRETS, plus a chance to get to know LeeAnn a bit better. Thanks for joining us!

DEADLY SECRETS
Philippe Lafrance is a well known reclusive writer whose life is suddenly thrown upside down when the grandfather he never knew existed, dies. He investigates the reason and learns that his family has kept secrets from him. Deep, ugly secrets. Worse, a killer is murdering the men in his family. He discovers that his father, then his grandfather, were murdered by someone desperate to keep secrets buried.
8
Bereft, Roxanne St-Clair is left to manage a restaurant when the only person who ever mattered to her, her foster parent and mentor, is murdered. She puts her life on hold to find his killer and bring him to justice.
88
Thrown together by circumstance and a mutual goal, Philippe and Roxanne fight their attraction and team up to find the killer, bring him to justice and unearth the truth. To stay alive, they must keep one step ahead of the assassin in order to prevent him from killing his next target, Philippe.
8
Will they succeed in bringing to justice this killer before Philippe becomes his next victim? Will they be able to deal with the truth behind the deadly secrets?
8
*

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: LEEANN BURKE

WEBSITE | FACEBOOK | TWITTER

At the age of 12 Leeann put pen to paper and created stories. She finished her first and only short story within weeks. She kept on writing through high school, university and her first few dead end jobs. To this day she still has a pen and paper handy.

After 22 years of writing she finally got “the call”. The owner of LBF Books called to let me know she wanted to purchase DEADLY SECRETS. Her dream was finally coming true. She decided to give her dream more purpose by donating funds to the American Breast Cancer Foundation (ABCF) and to a Canadian organization that does Breast Cancer Research. DEADLY SECRETS is also a proud sponsor for ABCF.