Tags

, , ,

To learn more about this amazing story, please click the image above.

Today is it my great honor to welcome best-selling author Margie Church and special guest J. Andrew Lockhart. They’re here to talk about a powerful new release entitled NOPEMING SHORES, and I have to say there are moments in this interview that absolutely stunned me. I hope you’ll join us and hang out until the end, where you have a chance to win a copy of this breathtaking story. (*Contest now closed. Congratulations to winner Krystal Wade!*)

Welcome, Margie, and congratulations on the release of NOPEMING SHORES! You’re a well-known (and bestselling, I might add!) author of erotic romance. What prompted the switch to sensual with this story?

Thank you for having us, Sarah. I think that question is best answered by Andrew!

“Margie doesn’t tell you this, but the reason I banned her from ‘x-rated’ language was the fact that I’m an elementary music teacher. No, it wouldn’t look good at all for my name on something like that. Besides that, I truly think this story stands on itself, not needing that kind of description.”

I will add that once I decided on the poetry as a plot mechanism, and Andrew was onboard with the story, I resigned myself (LOL) to not using any graphic language. Hell and damn are the only swear words, and the love scenes are beautifully erotic and moving without graphic language. I will be honest and say re-tooling my muse wasn’t always easy. LOL

I can imagine how switching gears might have been a challenge, but early reviews indicate you made it unforgettable. (Way to crack that whip, Andrew!) As you mentioned, you worked with J. Andrew Lockhart on NOPEMING SHORES.  Can you tell us a little bit about him and what prompted the collaboration?

We met on Facebook. I loved his work and we struck up a friendship almost immediately. I’d had the idea for Nopeming Shores by that time, but hadn’t really worked through any of the story arc. As we got to know each other, I learned that he’d had a very serious stroke 15 years ago and was “code blue” twice. He had a wife and young child and was beginning his career as a lawyer. The day of his stroke, all that changed. Suddenly the pieces came together, and the story unfolded in my mind. Andrew helped me create the ghost, Gabe. Through our conversations, I was able to understand the emotions Andrew and his wife went through, and draw on those experiences. I added my own tragedies to create Gabe’s wife, Lily, and write the story.

Co-Authors Margie and Andrew

On a personal level, Andrew is very funny. He’s the redneck; I’m the Type A. He’s a true Southern boy and I’m a Northern gal. I even walk too fast for him. LOL Working with him was a breeze (as long as he got his way) and I never had to ask him to rethink any of his work. It came in beautifully appropriate, exactly the way it appears in the book. I couldn’t be more pleased with how my tenth romance turned out.

*Nudges Andrew* Did you catch that? She said you were easy as long as you got your way. *Giggle.* Seriously, though, I’m glad to hear you recovered from what must have been a scary time in your life. (Only to have Margie pick on you, if you can imagine that!) Margie, NOPEMING SHORES promises to be an intense, emotional read. As an author, how did you connect to the story on a personal level?

My father committed suicide. That kind of a shocking, unexpected death really rattles your world. I spent the next year in an emotional fog. And even now, years later, there are times that it hits me hard – especially when someone I know goes through a similar experience. So, I had a tremendous amount of pain and anguish to give Lily as she tries to cope with Gabe’s violent death in Afghanistan. I also had a ton of compassion to give Gabe for what his wife was going through. At times, writing the book was emotionally exhausting. I had a huge impact on Andrew, too. My editor, Mary Harris, went through the emotional ringer with us. The book comes with a tissue alert.

I am so sorry, Margie. I can only imagine what an extraordinary impact that has on you, and especially within the pages of such an emotionally wrenching story. I can’t fathom needing to look further than NOPEMING SHORES, but let’s introduce you to any new readers out there. If someone is unfamiliar with your work, which of your books would you suggest he or she read first?  Why?

Nopeming Shores is a powerful drama and it’s a sensual heterosexual romance. This book really illustrates my writing ability well. If the reader prefers m/m, then Hard as Teak is an obvious choice for the same reasons.

HARD AS TEAK, of course, is pegged at the top of the Amazon charts, so more congratulations are in order–what an amazing accomplishment! Which genre are you drawn to as a reader?  Do you prefer to read in the same genre as your WIP or do you mix it up?

I mix it up and I never read the same sub-genre I’m writing.

Looking back over all of the intimate moments you’ve created between characters, which scene would you most like to experience for yourself?  What makes it so alluring?

In Awakening Allaire, my debut novel, Devon takes Allaire on a romantic sleigh ride and they spend the night in a beautiful lodge. The whole evening is tinged with laughter, romance, and an undercurrent of extreme desire. When they come together, it’s really erotic and beautiful. And I have a thing for Devon. He’s my favorite hero so far.

Seriously, sign me up. That sounds a-maze-ing! Have you ever made big changes in your story because someone – your crit partner, a friend, or beta reader – really didn’t like it?  Are you glad you did (or didn’t)?

I made significant changes to portions of Hard as Teak based on input from beta readers, authors, and my editor who have more experience in this subgenre. I’m very glad I did; Hard as Teak has been on Amazon’s bestselling lesbian/gay romance list for 75 days as of this writing!

Wow! Yep, that’s definitely worthy of some major props. *inhales the same air as you* You’re obviously doing something right, so give us the scoop. How do you keep track of plot elements or twists?

I write a story arc and I keep detailed character and location information.

Yes, there is that. LOL. Which of your novels most reflects who you are as a writer?  Why?

I think Hard as Teak, my gay romance, because writing the book was a huge creative stretch for me. I learned so much about myself and poured it into the story. In many ways, I am Kevin in Hard as Teak.

Wow. Now I am dying to check it out. Way to sell that one, Margie! LOL. What are you currently working on?

I am writing a book titled Krewe Daddy. It’s another gay romance involving Drew from Hard as Teak and the lover he left behind. I hope to have it finished by year-end.

After that will be a sequel to The 18th Floor, my erotic BDSM romance.

Sounds like there’s a lot to which to look forward, and no doubt there will be many best sellers in your future. Congratulations again to you and Andrew on the release of NOPEMING SHORES, and thank you both so much for joining us.

As promised, readers, you can win a copy of your own. Here’s how:

WIN A COPY OF NOPEMING SHORES! One lucky winner will receive an eBook copy of Nopeming Shores when they answer this question: How do you envision the afterlife to be?

NOPEMING SHORES by Margie Church with J. Andrew Lockhart

An IED snuffed out Gabe Holliway’s life, but couldn’t destroy his love. Using his unique gift, Gabe struggles to help his young wife, Lily, rebuild her shattered future.

But when Gabe’s ghost reaches out to her, Lily fears she’s lost her last hold on sanity. Can she trust what she discovers and what her heart says? When she sees Gabe face-to-face, can she believe her eyes?

When love transcends death, the answers are found in Nopeming Shores.

MARGIE CHURCH | AUTHOR LINKS

WEBSITE | BLOG | FACEBOOK | TWITTER

AVAILABLE TITLES

BUY FROM NOBLE ROMANCE | AMAZON

Erotice Romantic Suspense

AWAKENING ALLAIRE | AVENGING ALLAIRE

Erotic Contemporary Romance

WET | LOVE REVISITED: REAGAN & NOAH from WET

Erotic Paranormal Suspense

LOVE BITES (vampires) | LOVE BITES: DANGEROUS LOVE (vampires, shapeshifters)

Erotic Romance

HARD AS TEAK (m/m) | THE 18TH FLOOR (BDSM)

Sensual Paranormal Romance

NOPEMING SHORES

Also Available: FIRST SPRING (Nursery Rhyme written under pen name MARGARET ROSE)