Tags

, , ,

To see the fantastic reader reviews and grab a copy of your own, click the image above! *Coming soon to PRINT!*

You ever start snooping around an author’s website and know right then and there she (or he) belongs on your gotta read list? Yeah, well, I’d like to introduce you to one such author. Anyone who can make a bio side-splitting rocks my world, y’all. But alas, I’ve gotta share her. Get comfy and get your feet off my tables, guys. It’s time to meet Crystal Ward!

Welcome, Crystal. It’s an honor to have you here. In your bio – which is hilarious and a must read  – you go into some fabulous detail about the behind the scenes growth and inspiration of SUPERNOVA.  It sounds like you had a blast, so I’ve got to ask before I end up with an inferiority complex: Did you hit any roadblocks as you wrote?  

Thanks :- )  Honestly, with the four books of the saga, not at all.  I started Supernova, the first book, at the very end of December 2009 and kept going with all four until the middle of December 2010. Took three months for each book. I wrote every chance I could. Yes, even in the bathroom. ;- )  I’ve said it before, and I’ll always believe it, these books were fate. They came to me so naturally.  I never had writer’s block for any of them. :- )

Oh, well, then. *Hmph.* (<<Jealous). Seriously, I’d love to write like that. That’s amazing! You mention SUPERNOVA exists in four books. Can you summarize the plot or development of each one in a single sentence?

Oh, crap. LOL Okay, but I’m not giving away the titles of the last three books yet! ;- )

Supernova – Everyone is born for a purpose, and for Evania Laylen, that vocation is about to make itself known.

Book Two – Having an Equal isn’t always a good thing.

Book Three – Revenge is blind, but change can be deadlier.

Book Four – The ultimate choice brings an unforgettable end.

P.S. That question took the longest to answer! LOL ;- )

MUUAHAHAHA!  Oh, *ahem.* That was a fantastic summary, by the way! Now, if a reader is unfamiliar with your work, which of your books would you suggest he or she read first?  Why?

Supernova of course because it’s the first in the saga.

Which genre are you drawn to as a reader?  Do you prefer to read in the same genre as your WIP or do you mix it up?

I really love the Urban Fantasy and Paranormal genre, but I still like to mix it up.  I’m kind of a horrible author though. LOL Before I started writing, I never read books, EXCEPT for The Twilight Saga. LOL I’ve gotten a LOT better though. I’ve read the Fallen series, the Immortals series, and just finished The Hunger Games. Only the first book though.  Can’t wait to read the next one! :- )

I think once you start writing, reading time comes at a premium! LOL. Looking back over all of the intimate moments you’ve created between characters, which scene would you most like to experience for yourself?  What makes it so alluring?

Oh, my. LOL What’s funny is when I was writing these, the main character, Evania, I didn’t have like an actress or anyone in mind for her (now she’s in my head as Emmy Rossum), so in my head, I was Evania. Weird, I know, but stay with me. ;- ) Intimate as in romance, I’d take a scene in the third book, which I’m not saying anything about to give it away. Let’s just say, it’s a long time coming. ;- )  BUT intimate as in emotional, there’s a chapter in the third book as well that I’d LOVE to be able to do in the movie (I dream big LOL). Evania’s emotions and words are just so heartfelt and powerful.  I read over it all the time.  Whenever I knew I’d be writing a big scene or chapter that day, on my way home from work, I’d talk it out in my car.  No joke.  LOL  So that particular chapter got lots of attention and lots of tears from me as I talked to myself.  I’m goin’ to the looney bin. LOL

I bet that makes for a powerful experience, especially connecting with your character so intimately. (Hmm . . . does that mean you’ll both go to the looney bin together? LOL!) Have you ever battled with any of your characters over their personality traits?  If so, who won – you or the character?

They win. No matter what. I was at their mercy for a year. LOL I remember chatting with my  friend, Megan, on Facebook one day and she was reading each chapter as I wrote them and asked when the next one would be ready. I told her if Evania would ever shut up it’d be done. LOL

LOL! Have you ever made big changes in your story because someone – your crit partner, a friend, or beta reader – really didn’t like it?  Are you glad you did (or didn’t)?

Big changes, no. Something small, yeah there were a few, but nothing like crazy that changed the story. Like in the last book, a few people told me it ends too quickly, and I have to agree, so when I get around to doing my personal edits on it (I’m on the third book right now) I’m probably going to add a lot.  I’m all for suggestions, but there’s really not a lot I’m willing to change in the books.  They were my 2010 year. All of them, especially Supernova, well, they’re my babies. LOL I lost countless hours of sleep because of Evania.  My heart and soul are in those books. No way could I change anything big enough to change the entire story.

Isn’t it funny how we associate books with time? When I think of one of my books, my mind automatically goes to the events in my life as I wrote it. But a whole series as your 2010 – that’s really cool. How do you keep track of plot elements or twists?

I saved all my little notes, ideas, and things like that under a “notebook” file on my computer.  Most of it makes no sense, but it kept me semi-organized.

I’m not even gonna admit how many times I’ve looked back and my notes and wondered what the heck I meant by my made-up shorthand, LOL. What are you currently working on?

Right now, I’m editing the third book in the saga. I started a book called Black Dawn back in January, but I only have a few chapters of it done. I’ve been busy getting Supernova ready to come out :- )

And on that note, let’s give Crystal a big round of applause (careful not to spill your drinks!) and check out the blurb to SUPERNOVA and, you know, click a buy link or somethin.’ Thanks for being here, everyone! Crystal, it’s been a pleasure. ;c)

SUPERNOVA (The Supernova Saga)

Everyone is born for a purpose, and for Evania Laylen, that vocation is about to make itself known.
Guilt ridden after the death of her parents, Evania sinks into a deep depression. Living only for the addiction, and the man who saved her, she gives up on life. That is until the enigmatic Desmond Kane enters and shows her the life she was born to live. Thrust into a secret, action-packed world of good versus evil, Evania must rid her life of the addictive temptation, prepare her body for battle, and learn to embrace the possible in a world of impossible.

Buy Links: AMAZON | B&N | SMASHWORDS | Coming soon to PRINT

CRYSTAL WARD author links: WEB | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | PUBLISHER