Tags

, , , ,

Get caught up in Louisa's sizzling, seductive world ... click the image for more about The Heist!

I’ve had such a great time getting to know Luisa Luigi over the last couple of weeks that I almost don’t want to share her with you guys. She’s entirely fabulous in all the best ways, and y’all, she is a RISK TAKER when she gets hungry! (Okay, how rude was that inside joke? Luisa and I are laughing right now, and none of you are in on it. Bad blog hostess … BAD!) Oh, but if you want bad, you’ve GOT to check out THE HEIST. Talk about YUM! And, well, Luisa is here. We should probably talk about her, no?

Luisa, welcome! You’re kind of new in these parts, so I have to ask: how have things changed for you since the release of your debut story, THE HEIST?

I was introduced into the publishing world at a whirlwind pace! It is a fascinating world to work and play in, but the biggest surprise to me, was how hard authors work to promote their books. I foolishly thought my work was done once I turned in the final, edited manuscript, ha!

I was also surprised to find such a welcoming family of writers, who support each other – that has been the biggest pleasure of this whole experience – and I consider it a privilege to be part of Noble Romance’s writing team.

I have to agree on both counts. The work really does start AFTER you write the darn book, and Noble freaking ROCKS. But in terms of delightful places to be? You sure know how to pick ’em! THE HEIST is set within the ranks of Europe’s elite. That must have been the best research gig ever! *sighs and dreams of castles* How did you nail down those “insider” aspects of the plot?

You are right, Sarah! This was a fun project to research. The story is set in the Burgundy Wine Country in France, where many of the Chateau’s have endured throughout the centuries. Most of my research came from the internet, where I was able to take virtual tours and view pictures of Grand Staircases in these architectural marvels.

And to be honest with you, any movies or books involving diamonds, secret passageways and the Tango has always intrigued me – these are things romance can be easily built around.

I’m impressed, Louisa! When I read THE HEIST, I felt like I was standing right there with them…considerably under dressed, but there all the same. You did a fabulous job with the setting! If a reader is unfamiliar with your work, which of your books would you suggest he or she read first?  Why?

The Heist is my first story, but stay tuned!

You can bet on it! (That was HAWT, y’all!) Which genre are you drawn to as a reader?  Do you prefer to read in the same genre as your WIP or do you mix it up?

I have always enjoyed historical romance.  I love reading about another time period – the way they dressed, talked, social structure and customs of the day. But I have been drawn to any book that offers an escape!

I think it’s always a good idea to read outside the genre you write in. You never know what you may learn to make one’s self a better story teller.

I have to agree with you there. A fresh perspective can certainly strengthen individual author voice and style. (Well, that and it’s just plain refreshing, lol.) Looking back over all of the intimate moments you’ve created between characters, which scene would you most like to experience for yourself?  What makes it so alluring?

The Heist begins in a ballroom that is described as opulent, from the gilded ceiling to the marble floor.  Champagne flows freely, guests dressed to the nine’s, The Tango in the background, intimate glances between would-be lovers – I would love to experience a scenario like that!  Who knows – maybe someday!

Oooh, yes. I’ll have what she’s having! (Ahem). Now, from love to war: Have you ever battled with any of your characters over their personality traits?  If so, who won – you or the character?

The main character in The Heist, Juliette, has no fear. She is not worried about getting caught, or the consequences of how she lives her life.  Since this is a foreign concept to most of us, who play by the rules, it was difficult to let go as a writer and throw caution to the wind. But once I really got into the story and slowly realized – it is a story, and I can write this however I want – then her character became the adventurous spirit the story needed, in order to be told.

That it did! How do you keep track of plot elements or twists?

I’m a mad genius.

Best. Answer. Ever. LOL! What are you currently working on?

My next novella, Alice in Wonderment will be released 11/21. This book is based on Lewis Carroll’s novel, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. I tried to incorporate a lot of Carroll’s allegory into my story, and I am excited to see how this book will be received.

Currently, I am writing articles on my blog, Louisaluigi.wordpress.com. The first article, in a three-part series on “Erotica throughout the Ages,” has been posted to my blog, titled “Erotica in the Eighteenth Century.” I will host a contest and prize for the following articles, Erotic Art, and Bordello’s in the Nineteenth Century.  Stop by – should be lots of fun!

What a fantastic idea! And how can that be anything BUT fun? I just love hearing the dirty little secrets of the past, and on the 18th Century Erotica post that picture, ZOMG, is craaazy! I feel so naughty for watching them. *giggle* Okay, before I lose my composure, I’d like to thank Louisa for visiting and—even more impressive—not running away screaming. I DO, however, think she’s edging for the door, so let me give her the floor before she makes her escape so you can get the scoop on THE HEIST. Thanks for being here, everyone!

THE HEIST

Juliette O’Conner is no stranger to the glamorous lifestyle of Europe’s aristocracy. She has made a good living as a jewel thief, preying upon the European rich. But sparks fly when a beautiful acquaintance sets her eyes on the same nine carat diamond during a black-tie charity event. They will need to join forces to escape being caught.

      LOUISA LUIGI | LINKS

      BLOG | LOUISALUIGI.WORDPRESS.COM

      THE HEIST | @NOBLE ROMANCE | @AMAZON KINDLE | @B&N NOOK