Tags

, ,

Click image for purchase information. All proceeds benefit Alabama disaster relief.

MATRIMONIAL MAYHEM is an anthology of wedding stories put forth by Astraea Press and six talented authors to support Alabama disaster relief. All proceeds benefit the Governor of Alabama’s Office of Faith-Based and Community Initiatives for the hardest hit areas of the state. Today it’s my honor to offer a glimpse of each story, but first I have a very special guest here to tell you a little more about her contribution to the anthology. Please welcome Kay Springsteen with the inspiration behind CAMP WEDDING (then stay tuned for a FABULOUS giveaway!)

Kay Springsteen: When Heartsight ended, Dan and Trish were married. But I never actually showed their nuptials. In Matrimonial Mayhem, Camp Wedding is the story of Dan and Trish and Bella’s wedding. Some of the Heartsight cast was inspired by many persons and events in my own life. When I knew I would have a military hero, I knew it would be a United States Marine. Why? Because one of my daughters is married to a marine. The little girl in the story has Down syndrome. My own first child had been born with Down syndrome, so I drew on my experience for that character as well. When I decided to invite folks to see the Heartsight Wedding, I had no doubt in my mind that these characters would tie that three-way knot in a military service on the base where Dan was stationed. And that base, Camp Lejeune, just happens to be where until this month my daughter’s husband was stationed. Alas, my daughter and her hot-hot hubby have since left for Okinawa for three years. But during the time I was writing Camp Wedding, I shamelessly picked my daughter and son-in-law’s brains. What would happen if this occurred? How would MPs handle that situation? What does the base look like? I even got her to tell me stories and describe the base, and she told me the story of a sign on Homecoming Fence, which I used in Camp Wedding. When my daughter read Camp Wedding, she admitted the details I had picked from their brains had made the story more authentic. I loved writing the story of Trish and Dan and Bella in Heartsight, and writing Camp Wedding gave me a chance to revisit some of my favorite characters to write about.

Sarah here again: If you’d like a free PDF copy of HEARTSIGHT, leave a comment and you’ll be entered to win! Easy, right? Thanks to Kay for offering such a delish prize and for taking the time to highlight such a great cause. Readers, I hope you’ll check out the rest of the stories in the MATRIMONIAL MAYHEM anthology and consider buying a copy to help the folks of Alabama as they struggle to recover from the devastating tornadoes of this past spring.

MATRIMONIAL MAYHEM

Elaine Cantrell, “It All Started with Cinders Malone’s Dress,” based upon A New Dream. From the wrong dress to a canine disaster with the wedding cake, can anything go right for Matt and Violet on their wedding day?

Therese Gilardi, “Marriage on Sunset,” based upon Matching Wits with Venus.  Before Colin and Amelia, came Amelia’s parents Stella Sweetwater and Gerard Coillard. Maybe not a match made in Heaven, but certainly one arranged by Venus…on Sunset Boulevard.

J.F. Jenkins, “Legend of the Aero Dragon,” based upon The Legend of the Oceina Dragon. When a young dragon falls in love, best not to be standing between him and his chosen mate…especially if his choice doesn’t exactly match the choice of his father.

Kim Bowman, “The Ballad of Brenda and Willard,” based on a true urban legend  Third time was the charm in the wedding tale of this author’s parents, but exactly what date their anniversary should be celebrated on is anybody’s guess.

J. Gunnar Grey, “The Lilies at Laura’s Wedding,” based upon Deal with the Devil. No happy hitching to be found here, but sometimes the better course to take is to say “I don’t.”

Kay Springsteen, “Camp Wedding,” based upon Heartsight. A blind Marine, a nervous bride, and an adorable child who loves them both is an equation for another tug on the heartstrings in the story behind Dan and Trish’s wedding.

ASTRAEA PRESS CHARITY TITLES

For more from Astraea Press–including my novella HAWTHORNE to benefit Japan earthquake victims–please click here. Thanks so much for reading, and don’t forget to leave a comment for a chance to win a PDF copy of HEARTSIGHT, courtesy of author Kay Springsteen! (The ratings are fantastic – this is one you won’t want to miss.)

Cover art collage courtesy of Elaina Lee.