Tags

, , , ,

A missing boy, government agents, an interdimensional portal... Exciting new YA fantasy from Brinda Berry! Click image for more information.

Today’s guest is the lovely, rambunctious Brinda Berry.  She’s got a brand new YA novel, THE WAITING BOOTH, and a fantastic look at what’s so fab about ebooks.  Shall we?

5 Reasons Why I Love Ebooks – Brinda Berry
First, I’d like to thank Sarah for having me on her blog. I think she’s awesome for her work with charity.  I appreciate it that she’s helping me celebrate the digital release of my debut YA book, The Waiting Booth.  Yes, it’s in digital format.  If you insist upon a print version, you’ll have to be patient. As for me…I’m no longer buying print books. Yes, it’s a personal decision. I’ve made the leap to ebooks, and here are the reasons why. After you read through my reasons, leave a comment letting me know what you think. Commenters are eligible for prizes on my summer blog tour!

#5- Sharing with DH (darling husband) can be good and bad.
We don’t always have the same taste in books. He reads  westerns; I absolutely do not read westerns. He loves Cormac McCarthy. The Road made me cry too hard. I was mad at my husband for recommending it to me.  There are authors that we have in common. We both read Stephen King, Dean Koontz, and a few others.  We can share ebooks with the Kindle app since we share the account. We can read them simultaneously on our separate readers.  In the past if we read from the same book, he would invariably move my bookmark.  He would also “dogear” the pages. Turning down page corners is a criminal act with me.

#4- The book is always available.
Sometimes, I have only a few minutes to read. It’s a sad situation, but one that can’t be helped. My ipad has become a necessary staple for travel. I carry it in the same way I carry a purse. The books on my ipad are available when I’m at the doctor’s office waiting room or in a hotel. I don’t  have to remember to put it in my purse or suitcase.

#3 – No physical bookcase is needed.
I have hardback and paperback books in the attic. I also have two full bookshelves in my office at home. I periodically give books to friends, libraries, book drives, etc. I am out of room.  I’ve seen the show “Hoarders”. My throat closes up at the thought.

#2 – Instant gratification rules.
I admit that I am part of the problem with society today. I want it and want it now. When I drive through the McDonald’s window, I’m put out if they ask me to pull over for a minute to wait for my order. What??!! I don’t want the old food that’s been sitting on the grill, but I do want them to cook it fresh and hand it to me before the next song comes on the radio. When I want a new book, I also want that now. My schedule is hectic, and now I’m able to purchase my book without leaving my house. It’s in my hand the minute I make the decision to read it.

#1 – Selection is amazing.
I love going into my favorite bookstore and browsing through the books. It’s my favorite Saturday activity. I’m alone and drinking a yummy coffee that the barista efficiently prepared. I travel over to the romance,  sci-fi, or even Oprah’s picks aisle. I look for the book of a new author I’ve heard about in the past week. After not finding it, I search for the knowledeable employee. “Let me punch that it our computer,” he says. I wait while sipping my mocha flavored drink. He clicks and moves the mouse around. “We are out of that, but I’ll be happy to order it.” I don’t want to order. That is why I’m IN the bookstore. Well, maybe that’s not the real reason. I do like browsing and drinking coffee.  The selection of books at an ebook reseller will blow your mind. New authors and old favorites are always available. You’ll save money not buying the five buck coffees.

Please don’t think that I’ve given up on print books. Hey, I love the feel and smell of a  book.  I also don’t think that print books will disappear. I hope they don’t. I shudder to think a kid might ask what books looked like when printed on paper.  I was sad when my son said, “So, you listened to music on cassette cartridges? And did you ever listen to the vinyl records?” I answered while he continued to make a music playlist on his smartphone.


About the author: Brinda Berry has always loved reading about the

adventures of others. She also believes there’s a little romance in
every story ever told. Brinda lives in Arkansas with her family and a
couple of terribly spoiled cairn terriers.

Her debut YA novel, The Waiting Booth, released on July 15th, can be
found at various online bookstore links:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Etopia Press

THE WAITING BOOTH | YA Fantasy

A missing boy, government agents, an interdimensional portal…

Mia has one goal for her senior year at Whispering Woods High—find her
missing older brother. But when her science project reveals a portal
into another dimension, she learns that travelers are moving in and
out of her woods in the most alarming way and government agents
Regulus and Arizona are policing their immigration. Mia’s drawn to the
mysterious, aloof Regulus, but it’s no time for a crush. She needs to
find out what they know about her brother, while the agents fight to
save the world from viral contamination. But when Regulus reveals that
he knows Mia’s secrets, she begins to wonder if there’s more going on
than she thought…and if she was wrong to trust him…

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Etopia Press