Tags

, , ,

One of Elaina's fantastic covers ... and her title for a good cause. Only $3, and all proceeds will benefit Alabama tornado victims. Please click the image for your copy!

Elaina Lee is more than a fabulous author (with what has to be the hottest sex scene EVER in her romantic suspense WRITTEN IN BLOOD) — she’s also an incredibly talented cover artist.  I was totally stoked to learn she had the job for creating a cover for my charity novella HAWTHORNE, and she did a beautiful job on both of our covers.  If you’ve ever wondered what the process is like for a cover artist, you’re in the right place.  Elaina, take the stage!

About the cover art for Hawthorne and To Urn Her Love – by Elaina Lee

I was lucky enough to read Hawthorne before I designed the cover art.  This never happens.  But, Sarah is awesome, and she let me crit it for her, so I knew the story and what was pretty much needed on the cover.  Sarah only had one stipulation.  The house had to be on it.  Well, I couldn’t agree more.  So over the next couple days I scoured stock images for the perfect house.  But how do you find a house that is as unique as the one in Hawthorne?  I was afraid I’d fail, so when Sarah asked if I needed any help, I sent her the links of my top picks.

A few minutes later she came back with a very enthusiastic reply.  In the links I’d sent, I’d found the house she wanted!  I then found a girl that could convey the paranormal aspect of the story and built the cover.  A little nervous, I sent it to her and was overjoyed when she replied with how perfect it was and how much she loved it.  Woohoo!

For To Urn Her Love, the challenge was a little different.  This was for my personal story that I’d written, and designing cover art for yourself is NOT easy.   I knew I’d never be able to find the urn described in the novella, so I had to focus on the characters.  I wanted to do something that conveyed their split, both in their past and in the present with their respective stations in life.  I wasn’t sure how I’d do that, so I just started looking for images that conveyed a split.  The torn sheet of paper popped up and I thought, oh how perfect!

If I could make it work, I could have him on one side and her on the other.  With the space left in the bottom I could accentuate the play on words for the title.  I found the female easily, the male was a little harder.  It’s always more difficult to find the perfect man *wink*.  I was happy with the end result, but my publisher and I went around in circles about the font for URN.  I wanted really loopy, she didn’t.  So after I think five attempts, I finally found one she loved, woohoo! And I had my book cover.  — Elaina Lee

Sarah here again:  Both covers are STUNNING!  Moreover, they absolutely capture the stories.  You did an amazing job, Elaina!

And  now you, dear readers, have GOT to grab her book!  Remember by leaving a comment here you are eligible for this week’s $10 gift card as well as prizes from mine and Elaina’s backlists. We also have FREE joint promo goodies and some REALLY cool stuff if you’ve purchased either TO URN HER LOVE or HAWTHORNE.  Don’t be shy in requesting these items.  In doing so, you’ll help us get the word out and raise money for our charities!  TO URN HER LOVE benefits Alabama tornado relief, while proceeds from HAWTHORNE will be donated to Japan earthquake recovery efforts.

If you’d like to see what I expected from my cover of HAWTHORNE — and what I thought when I saw it — head on over to Elaina’s blog for the scoop.  (Click here).  Not in the mood to budge?  You’re in luck.  Here’s a closer look at TO URN HER LOVE!

Caylie Abrahms bad day gets worse when the teen brother she’s responsible for proudly hands her a gift.  Just wanting to show how much he appreciates all his sister does for him, Kyle steals what he believes is an ornate glass vase.  The gift is anything but however, and now Caylie has to find the owner of an urn.  Worst yet, she has to explain her dear brother stole someone’s loved one.

Against all odds she learns the urn belongs to Rick Marshall, her best friend from college, the man she’d poured her heart out to and been rejected by.  She never thought she’d see him again, let alone have to hand him back his father in glass.  Will her resolve remain strong in his presence, or will she suffer another broken heart?

BUY LINK