Tags

, ,

WIN a copy of SECRET DREAMS and a Secret Dreams gift basket by answering the following question: Where does Secret Dreams take place? First correct comment wins! Click cover image to learn more about the book.

Okay, so I know you’re all giddy because it’s Friday, but we’re about to up the ante a little. My guest today, Heather Peters, not only gives great interview, but she also comes bearing fantastic prizes. What’s that, I say? Yes, prizes. And this one is available to the first person to comment with the correct response, so hitch yer britches and hang on tight. Someone is about to win an e-copy of SECRET DREAMS plus a Secret Dreams gift basket. Just, wow.

Heather, welcome!

First of all, Sarah, I’d like to thank you so much for having me as a guest on your blog!

Hey, girl, it’s my pleasure!  I have met some of the most dig-worthy people this way.  Case in point:  In the process of scoping you out for this interview, I discovered two things which fascinate me.  One, you like iced coffee.  Does iced coffee not ROCK?  People around here think I’m crazy for my iced coffee addiction, so thank you for the backup, LOL. The other, you remember the name of the first romance novel  you ever read?  How the heck do you manage that after what has probably been a good year or two?  (*wink*)

Sarah, I got your back! Yes, my iced coffee addiction knows no bounds!  Dunkin Donuts and I have a very intimate relationship, Lol… and yes, it has been a few decades, er, years since I read The Flame and the Flower by the incomparable, legendary, and pioneer of the romance genre,  Kathleen Woodiwiss.  I’ve read this book so many times, I took the name of the heroine of the Flame and the Flower  as not only my pen name, but I named my daughter Heather.  She paved the way for every romance author by having been one of the first romance writers to have actual, explicit love scenes in her books.  She is my hero, simple as that.

Okay, yeah, I’d totally remember explicit love scenes.  And ooooh, what a tasty way to pioneer the field: sex!  (Might even be tastier than iced coffee, but that’s debatable, lol.)  Okay, from the great Ms. Woodiwiss to the great Ms. Peters.  *grin*  Which of your heroines would you most like to be for a day? Why? 

I would love to be my heroine, Anna Maria (Annie) in Secret Dreams because I adore music in any form, but especially music from the 80’s ~ I once was thisclose to getting involved in music production, but once my family came along, my plans swerved in another direction.

Mega hot SURRENDER is just a click away....

Music production, at minimum, would be fascinating.  80’s music production would be a party that did not STOP.  (Except, maybe, to relift that 80’s hair tease.  Yeah, I rocked it!)  Now that I’m doing a mental jam session, here’s another one for you.  If a reader is unfamiliar with your work, which title would you suggest he or she start with?  Why?

I would recommend, Surrender, my erotic romance, which is based on the Beauty and the Beast theme, which is also my favorite all time fairy tale.  I love scarred heroes, especially tortured, brooding men who are transformed by the love of a good woman.

Oh, girl, I love me a tortured, brooding man!  (That’s my husband on both counts, and, well, can you blame him?  LMAO!)  Which genre are you drawn to as a reader?  Do you prefer to read in the same genre as your WIP or do you mix it up?

I think mixing up genres keeps things exciting. I’ll read a Harlequin on the heels of an erotic ménage, then enjoy a sensual series, or fantasy.  I love ’em all.

I hear ya on that!  (I adore Harlequin Intrigues!)  Looking back over all of the intimate moments you’ve created between characters, which scene would you most like to experience for yourself?  What makes it so alluring? 

The scene where Dane is singing the tune he wrote for Annie in Secret Dreams.  What woman wouldn’t love to have a man write a song for them, then sing it to them, focusing only on you as the love of his life?  ~sigh~

Inspired by a true story. (No, really! Click the image and see for yourself!)

Oh, yeah.  It’s getting hot in here now!  And while we’re all sweaty (ahem), have you ever battled with any of your characters over their personality traits?  If so, who won – you or the character?

My heroine featured in my younger man/older woman erotic novella, With a Twist, Ava Denotti. When I first created her, she was not as strong as she turned out in the final draft.  She kept whispering in my ear:  I’m not a cry baby – let me take the reins and control this situation!  I did, and the result was a very hot, sexy, 40-year old woman who I grew to admired greatly, and who became my friend.

Oh, is it ever rewarding when they take over like that!  Have you ever made big changes in your story because someone – your crit partner, a friend, or beta reader – really didn’t like it?  Are you glad you did (or didn’t)? 

I have an awesome critique partner, (Angela Aaron) who I trust implicitly with my work, so if she suggests something that will enrich my story, I’m very open to her critiquing talent. I’m lucky because she is very open and honest with me.

Oh, yes, an honest CP is definitely an essential key to producing quality work!  Angela is so sweet … I’m trying to picture her with a critting cleaver, LOL!  Which of your novels most reflects who you are as a writer?  Why? 

Secret Dreams has gone through the mill for the past fifteen years,  updated, rejected, written over, edited, polished until I thought it was finally time to submit it again.  Now that it’s finally seen the light of day as a pubbed e-book, this is the story that reflects my personality as a writer.  This is the book of my heart.

Click image for some BEST LAID PLANS of your own.

How it must feel to see that one on the shelves!  What are you currently working on?

I’ve recently created a blog with my critique partner, Angie Aaron, which is in its infancy, and in early Fall, we are excited to be collaborating on an erotic fantasy trilogy, tentatively called, “The Shadowstone Chronicles”.  Stay tuned for more about that project.

That promises to be a good one!  And while we’re tuned in, dear readers, remember our giveaway?  The first person to comment with the correct answer to the following question wins a gift basket and an e-copy of SECRET DREAMS.  Good, yes? 

Where does SECRET DREAMS take place?

Give that one a good ponder while you check out the blurb, click a bit of buy linkage, and indulge in the world of Heather Peters.  Thanks so much for joining us, everyone!

SECRET DREAMS

Annie DeRosa is a savvy, brilliant, music producer who lives and works in the Lower East Side of Manhattan. She is the best at what she does and devotes her waking hours to her work.

Music icon and 80s superstar Dane Franklyn, a fiercely independent musician, is extremely possessive of his material. His music company has given him literally hours to write a title song for his upcoming album. He’s never allowed anyone to share the load, until now. Finding himself in a bind, he’s come to the conclusion he needs help. But when that help comes in the petite fiery form of the sexy, smart Annie, the sparks start to fly.

The sexual tension crackles from their first meeting and gradually elevates into an all-out inferno by the time they begin working together in the studio. Being stubborn individuals, their personalities soon clash, and Dane and Annie agree to disagree. But music creates a language and sexuality all its own, driving them both to discover a passion and desire neither have ever known.

BUY LINK

HEATHER PETERS LINKAGE

BLOG | EMAIL: heatherpetersauthor@yahoo.com

SECRET DREAMS (sensual romance)

erotic romances

BEST LAID PLANS | SURRENDER | OZ | WITH A TWIST | TOY WITH ME