Tags

, ,

Click image for more information on AS ADVERTISED

Joining us today is the multi-talented, multi-published Jaime Samms, author of a whole buncha tasty releases that’ll have you sweating in all the best ways. The summer heat has nothing on Jaime’s tempting fare, so grab something cold and your best pair of shades.  If you want to add a scorcher to your reading list, you couldn’t be in a better spot!

Welcome, Jaime!  I did my research, and whooooaa, you have a impressive list of published work.  I have no idea where I’d begin my exploration of all that is you.  (Wow, did that sound x-rated?  So did not mean it that way, LOL!)  For readers just discovering your work, which title or titles would you suggest they read first?  Why?

I think a lot of people like Moving Day. It’s sweet and a little sexy and all about friends turning to lovers in the most delicious way. In fact, I might read it again myself J

Your words lured me into reading the blurb (clever!) and it does sound a great book, and one with a unique plot as well. (Y’all can click the cover image to on the right to see for yourselves).  I noticed on your website you have some amazing artwork.  Do your drawings or photography pieces ever inspire stories?  If so, is it the mood of a story or the plot itself?

Actually, most of the time, it’s the other way around. My writing inspires me to draw stuff. Other people’s drawings, now, that’s another story. Quite often, they inspire great stories.

And many great stories you have!  Which genre are you drawn to as a reader?  Do you prefer to read in the same genre as your WIP or do you mix it up?

I love my genre. I do read a lot of gay romance and m/m. I also love fantasy and urban fantasy. And if there’s a little m/m tossed in there, great!

Speaking of tossing m/m (*grin*), looking back over all of the intimate moments you’ve created between characters, which scene would you most like to experience for yourself?  What makes it so alluring?

Click image for more information on MOVING DAY.

Oh, gee. I don’t really know. I liked the bathtub scene with Rory and Gabe in Finder’s Keepers. It was sweet and hot at once, and showed how very much Gabe cared about his new sub.

Can you go wrong with a bathtub scene?  I think not!  (Geez, told you it was getting hot in here!)  From hot bods to hot tempers … have you ever battled with any of your characters over their personality traits?  If so, who won – you or the character?

 

No battles. They know who they are and what they want. Who the hell am I to argue? The only time we’re at odds is when I don’t listen, and when it gets really bad, they just leave and come back when I’m in a more receptive frame of mind.

Sounds like a marriage made in heaven!  (No, seriously, spouse-types, listen to her.  Great advice.)  Have you ever made big changes in your story because someone – your crit partner, a friend, or beta reader – really didn’t like it?  Are you glad you did (or didn’t)?

I have. With one story, a beta reader asked if the main character was a “Wimp-ass virgin”. He was. She obviously didn’t like that about him. So I changed that about him. I think what he went through later in the story would have broken him beyond repair if I hadn’t made that change, so while her attitude and reasoning for telling me it didn’t work didn’t really hold water, the main point was. My guy just needed more experience under his belt to survive his own story.

Did you just say “experience under his belt”?  Oh, my.  As far as puns go, that was deliciously naughty!  How do you keep track of the plot twists?

Um…I don’t. I just throw it all out there and hope for the best. Isn’t that how everyone does it?…?

Hmmm…first we’re under the belt and now we’re throwing it all out there.  Anyone else getting distracted?  Wow.  Okay, where we we?  You have a boatload of releases (oh, dear … now we’re talking about “releasing”) … which of your novels most reflects who you are as a writer?  Why?

Oh, that’s impossible to say. Each one reflects a bit of who I was when I wrote it. It changes all the time, or the aspects of myself that a story draws on are different from the last time.

It’s an interesting study, though, isn’t it?  What are you currently working on?  

I just finished edits on a new short story for Dreamspinner. Here’s the blurb:

New Linen: Until now, Drew and Garrett had been playing at the whole dominance thing, but this weekend is different. Drew is already losing himself to the implacable will of his new Master and they have yet to make anything official. That’s what this weekend is supposed to be about – Garrett making Drew his – unless the memories from Garrett’s past are too strong to let him meet Drew’s ultimatum of the real thing or nothing at all.

I’m also working on a few different projects; a spin off of Angel Requiem, and new contemporary romance between two young college guys, one trying to get over a terrible hurt and the other trying to keep his family in one piece. They’ve both got a lot of baggage for such young guys, but maybe they can find peace in each other.

Wow, Jaime, you are SMOKIN’!  No doubt readers will want to catch up with you (assuming we haven’t lost them to the buy links along the way, LOL) so let’s leave them with a few ways to keep in touch, stalk legally, and go to bed hungry … or is it satisfied?  Either way, YUM! (AHEM.  There I go again …). 

AUTHOR JAIME SAMMS

WEBSITE | LIVE JOURNAL | FACEBOOK | TWITTER

AMAZON | DREAMSPINNER PRESS | FREYA’S BOWER | TOTAL E-BOUND

Thanks so much for being here, Jaime!  It’s been a pleasure.  And as for pleasure, everyone, y’all find something to click on your way out, wouldya?  Have a great weekend!  ;c)