Tags

, ,

Paradise is just a click away! Grab your ticket by clicking the image above.

If you’ve been dreaming of a tropical getaway, look no further–I’ve got your ticket right here!  My guest today is Angela Aaron, author of the incredibly steamy PLEASURE ISLAND.

Welcome, Angela!  Your debut release PLEASURE ISLAND is HOT HOT HOT!  What are some of your favorite reader or reviewer comments about the story? 

“I could practically smell the salty ocean air and picture the hotties ready to deliver more than just fruity drinks!”

“An Island full of Hunky Beefcakes there to fulfill your every desire? Pinch me! What woman could resist, or would want to?”

“The plot was dripping with sensuality and the characters were oh so lovable.”

People love the relationship between Ryan and Cassie as well as the sultry, fantasy, tropical setting.

Wow, I’d say they do!  That’s some incredible feedback, and it must feel extra good attached to your first foray into publishing.  As a first-time author, what part of the publisher experience came as the biggest surprise?  What was your favorite moment?

Honestly the biggest surprise was then I was offered a contract.  I really didn’t expect it to happen.  Then reality sets in and the work begins.  But my favorite moment is those few minutes of elation that a dream came true.

Boy, I can relate to that one!  I kept waiting for the big “oops” even after my contract was signed, LOL.  Which genre are you drawn to as a reader?  Do you prefer to read in the same genre as your WIP or do you mix it up?

I am drawn to sexy romance stories with happily ever endings.  I love historical and time travel and fantasy.  This is what I love to write as well.  I may try my hand at more erotic stories in the future.

I bet you have quite a few readers who would love for you to repeat in the erotica category!  Looking back over all of the intimate moments you’ve created between characters, which scene would you most like to experience for yourself?  What makes it so alluring?

My favorite scene is from my up coming novel “The Fire of Beltane.”  There is a very intimate moment when my hero confesses to my heroine that he is from the past and that via magic he was made immortal to wait for her to be reincarnated so they could be reunited.   Boy, it takes my breath away when I think of how cool that would be if it were possible.

Wow.  I can only imagine how your heroine might have reacted to that one!  Have you ever battled with any of your characters over their personality traits?  If so, who won – you or the character? 

The character.   I started to make one of my female characters much weaker than she wanted or intended to be.  The more I developed her, the stronger she became and the more I liked her.

Isn’t it amazing how the characters define themselves?  Those are such feel-good moments for authors, to know they created characters so vivid they’ve taken on a life of their own.  On that note, have you ever made big changes in your story because someone – your crit partner, a friend, or beta reader – really didn’t like it?  Are you glad you did (or didn’t)?

I made big changes because of ME!  I was so unsure of something in my heroine’s past that seemed too cliché for my tastes so I edited it all out only to have my editor tell me to put it back in.   I should have followed my first instincts and not second guess myself.  Errrr….so much extra work.

Oh my goodness!  That’s the first I’ve heard of that happening, LOL.  What a great footnote for the story, though.  =c)  How does PLEASURE ISLAND reflect who you are as a writer?

Pleasure Island being my first was a good place to start and get my feet wet.  It gave me the confidence to write the big novel I’m editing now.  I learned so much through the process of writing, editing and publishing P.I. that I am using with my W.I.P.’s.  I gained valuable knowledge and experience but I do know the “should of’s” and “could of’s” are places to improve as a writer, too.  So I move on and learn more each time.

Sounds like you had a fantastic experience!  There’s definitely something to be said for going through the process the first time.  What are you currently working on?  

I have several more stories in various stages. My next is a full length novel as I stated above and is in final edits. This is a contemporary/medieval/immortal love story titled The Fire of Beltane. I hope for a fall release for this.  I also have another novel about two-thirds done which takes place in the Middle Ages and has a tumultuous forbidden relationship. No title on this one yet.  I also have an outline for another Pleasure Island story as well as a fantasy trilogy I am developing with author Heather Peters.  All will be romances with HEA and all will be sizzling.  Guaranteed!

Wowza!  You’ve given readers a lot to look forward to, and I wish a great deal of success with each and every one of those stories.  I particularly like the sound of “tumultuous forbidden relationship” … mmmmm.  That sounds divine!  I expect we’ll hear a lot more from you – PLEASURE ISLAND was the start of something big for Angela Aaron!

Thank you so much Sarah for having me on your blog.  You’ve been very kind to extend me the space and bragging time.  By blog partner Heather and I will be returning the favor on July 22nd when you visit us on Bodacious Babes Book Buds.  I’m looking forward to hearing what you have been up to.   I hope you and all of your readers have a wonderful summer.

Oooh, girl, I’m excited about hanging out with the two of you.  There’s no telling what kind of trouble we’ll cause … sure hope you aren’t expecting to get that security deposit back!  ;c) We’re going to leave readers with the blurb to PLEASURE ISLAND, which is the perfect summer indulgence–especially when paired with a nice cold drink.  Might need to cool off after reading this one, folks!

When Cassie Douglas unknowingly arrives at a sultry tropical island resort where the sole business is to provide the perfect pleasure fantasy, Cassie finds it difficult to overcome her inhibitions and join in the fun.
.
Ryan MacKenna isn’t about to let the feisty red-head disrupt his life or his business. He lives firmly by his set of self-imposed rules which keep business and pleasure very separate. But from the first moment he meets Ms. Douglas, he is in danger of breaking every rule.
.
ANGELA AARON AUTHOR LINKS