Tags

, , ,

You may have noticed my routine of MWF posting was shot to heck over the last couple of months (and don’t I love you for paying that much attention? LOL!).  I’m happy to report we’re about to get back in the swing of things, but before we do let me catch you up on what’s been going on behind the scenes.

The Noble Authors Blog Tour took over the month of April, and was that a party or was that a PARTY?  Together with our sponsors, the participating Noble authors gave away HUNDREDS of dollars in prizes–$300 in gift certificates alone, plus ebooks, shirts, hats, and much more–and whether you missed the whole thing or didn’t miss a minute, I have great news.  We’re touring again in November with even more blog stops and a whole new pile of prizes!  For the early scoop, click here.

Somewhere in all of the madness that was the NABT, I agreed to write a short story.  Now, this may not seem like a big deal to you guys, but I’ve never written one before.  Add the fine print (no unmarried or graphic sex, profanity, or graphic violence) and ya’ll, I thought in was in TROUBLE.  But I did commit to a submission (you know, back when the May 31 deadline seems LIGHTYEARS away) so I had to follow through.  On May 30 I tamped down enough of the “what was I thinking?” self doubt and jitters to make it possible to hit send.  Ten hours and six minutes later I had a contract offer for the story.  Wow, what?  Details are forthcoming, but for now I am proud to say Astraea Press will release my short story in a few weeks.  For six months it will be exclusively available on their website, will all proceeds donated to Japan disaster relief.  (If you’d like to see what one of my CPs thought of the story, click here.)

In the meantime, I have a LOT going on.  I’m working on a series of romantic suspense novels–you may remember the contest I hosted for the first, UNFORGIVEN–and am also considering a novel to follow the short story Astraea just contracted.  All together, I’ve got three novels and one more short story to finish in 2011, with another one or two novels already planned for 2012.  I do have a page on my website with word count meters for my works-in-progress if you’d like to see status updates.  I try to update these at least once a week (we won’t discuss how woefully out of date those meters have been for the past few weeks) so feel free to look over my shoulder.  If you heckle me, however, I can’t be responsible for my actions. ;c)

Finally, I’d like to thank my recent guests Elaina Lee and Cynthia Justlin for keeping things hopping here while I banged my head against the wall over the short story (because that is just SO conducive to meeting a deadline, LMAO).  Tomorrow debut author Katie Alexander joins me to discuss her brand new release ANOTHER CHANCE, and Monday we’ll heat things up with a spotlight on J. Rose Allister’s CRYSTAL’S COWBOYS. Wednesday I’ll be back with the latest scoop from my neck of the woods, so don’t go far.  Hope to see you all there!