Tags

, ,

To learn more about Leanne Dyck's THE SWEATER CURSE, click the image above.

Today it’s my pleasure to welcome THE SWEATER CURSE author Leanne Dyck as part of the All Things Romantic Suspense tour.  Her thriller has received rave reviews, and after chatting with Leanne I have to say success couldn’t have gone to a nicer person.  Shall we?

Leanne, welcome!  I come from a long line of knitters and needlepoint mavens, so I have to say I love how you merged your love of knitting into your novel THE SWEATER CURSE.  How did the plot for the novel come about?

It slowly evolved over five years. During this time I did work on other projects but I kept coming back to this book.

Those are the best projects … the ones that keep calling. ;c)  You have an amazing bio and list of credits!  What bits of your personal backstory do you think played the biggest part in your becoming an author?

“Amazing”-really? Thank you, Sarah.

What part? I’m dyslexia and though it may sound strange, to some, I think, this ability played the biggest part in my becoming an author. Dyslexics are driven to be creative. As an author, this drive is very helpful.

What a fantastic outlook!  I have to admit, anything spurring creativity is a winner – I’ve spent enough time staring at an unmoving cursor to understand what you mean by that, LOL.  Which genre are you drawn to as a reader?  Do you prefer to read in the same genre as your WIP or do you mix it up?

I’m a cross-genre reader. However, I do like to emerge myself in the genre that I’m currently writing.

Oooh, speaking of immersion (*grin*), looking back over all of the intimate moments you’ve created between characters, which scene would you most like to experience for yourself?  

Gwen, the lead character of The Sweater Curse, spends her teenage years in a gated community among the affluent. I think I’d like to try that lifestyle—for a day.

That sure doesn’t sound like a bad way to spend an afternoon, LOL.  Why is it alluring?

It’s a human flaw to grave what you don’t have. My life has always been full of other things besides money.

Have you ever battled with any of your characters over their personality traits?  If so, who won – you or the character?

I have. They won. It is, after all, their story.

That’s so true … and don’t some of them know it!  LOL!  Have you ever made big changes in your story because someone – your crit partner, a friend, or beta reader – really didn’t like it?  Are you glad you did (or didn’t)?

Yes, I have. Early in my writing career, I self-published three short story collections. The last collection is an audio book. Every time I hear one of the stories I cringe because the story isn’t mine. It started out as mine but my friend changed it so much during the editing stage that it became hers. This loss of story happened once—and if I can help it—it will never happen again.

Wow – that’s a profound example.  Thank you for sharing that.  As a suspense writer, how do you keep track of the clues and plot twists?

I keep detailed notes and refer to them often.

Which of your novels most reflects who you are as a writer?  Why?

The one I’m currently writing—Turning. Even though it isn’t about my relationship with my muse, you can see the relationship starting to form.

That an incredible feeling when you can look at your own writing and see a transformation!  What are you currently working on? 

Turning is a coming of age adventure.

Struggling with dyslexia and raised by overprotective parents, nineteen-year-old Lyndi longs for a boyfriend, an adventure, a life. Hoping to fulfill her dreams, she enlists in a youth group.

This story is loosely based on my experiences as a Katimavik volunteer.

You’ve got a really inspiring story in the works, Leanne!  We’re going to show off your current release, but before we lose everyone to that buy link down there I’d like to thank you for joining me and sharing your backstory.  And without further ado, here’s the scoop on THE SWEATER CURSE!

THE SWEATER CURSE BLURB

Aspiring knitwear designer Gwen Bjarnson is stuck in Purgatory. To escape, she must re-examine her life, journey through her past and right a wrong. But which wrong?

Young and in love, she works to establish her career, except fate has different plans. One rash act and she loses everything. Never resting, always seeking, and yearning for what she can no longer have, Gwen faces the truth:  if she remains, others are destined to die.

How will she solve the mystery before it is too late?

BUY LINKS:  DECADENT PUBLISHING | AMAZON | SMASHWORDS | SONY’S READER STORE

PROLOGUE TO THE SWEATER CURSE

This isn’t Heaven. It isn’t Hell. And I’m not alive.

Picture this:  a bus stop, tons of people packed into the same small space all waiting to continue their journey. Many buses stop here. Some passengers get off, others get on. Young children with sickly white complexions huddle together in the shelter. Teenagers with rope burns around their necks get off the bus. Old men with bullet holes climb on.

Throughout this confusion, the only constant is me. I remain alone.

Why?

I don’t know, but I must find the reason. I must examine my life to discover the momentary lapse. The wrong I’ve committed. The task I’ve neglected. It’s my only means of escape.

BUY LINKS:  DECADENT PUBLISHING | AMAZON | SMASHWORDS | SONY’S READER STORE

Leanne Dyck

LEARN MORE ABOUT AUTHOR LEANNE DYCK

LINKS:  BLOG | WEBSITE | TWITTER @lustfulgraces @thesweatercurse

REVIEWS:

‘Stitch by colorful stitch, Leanne Dyck knits a tale of intrigue with The Sweater Curse-Laurie Buchanan

‘Leanne Dyck has crafted a tale as exotic and existential as Danish author Isak Dinesen’s…. This book defies genre definitions as it finds its unique place on the fiction shelves. Here’s hoping Leanne Dyck returns many times to the intriguing roots of her family’s past.  -Mystery author Lou Allin

‘Go out and pick this one up, you’ll find yourself immersed as well.’   -Deborah Warner, reviewer for By the Book

READ MORE – click here