Tags

, ,

Click image to see all of Jerri Drennen's available titles.

This week the All Things Romantic Suspense Blog Tour brings us to the company of author Jerri Drennen, who comes bearing news of a brand new release on April 18 (that’s it on the right) with one of the most deliciously sensual covers I’ve seen in a long time.  Is that sexy or what?  *clears throat*  Remember the title UNPLANNED while you’re scoping out a new read this week, and be sure to check out the blurb at the end of the interview!

Welcome, Jerri!  I’ve got to say, I was impressed when I learned your first manuscript was an epic 400 pages!  Was it ever published?  If not, have you pulled any of the scenes or plot lines out for other novels?

God no, but Amy Pierpont, who was an editor at Pocket books, took the time to tell me what was wrong with my writing and even allowed me to send her my next book. That was some 10-plus years ago. I truly hope to work with her some day. As far as scenes go, no to that as well.  I just moved on to the next book.  I have so many ideas, I don’t need to take anything from my other stories.

Your Aztec Security series is getting a lot of buzz.  Where did the idea for the series come from?  What can readers expect from these books?

I wanted to try my hand at writing novellas and I wanted them to run together as a series. My characters are all Aztec Security agents. They work jobs for the government that are done slightly under the radar. I had a great writing this series.  My heroes were totally different, from a computer nerd, a man who just wants to have fun, to a wounded ex-military  guy with a secret he’s had a hard time living with.

Ooooh, I love those “under the radar” bad boys!  *drools*  Which genre are you drawn to as a reader?  Do you prefer to read in the same genre as your WIP or do you mix it up?

Actually, not really. I love historical romance.

That must provide quite a mention break for you!  Looking back over all of the intimate moments you’ve created between characters, which scene would you most like to experience for yourself?  What makes it so alluring?

There’s a scene in Agent in Training that isn’t available right now  in which my hero Nick is following my heroine, Shiloh into an all-night ice cream pallor and let’s just say they enjoy more than ice cream. Out of all my heroes, Nicholas Trent was my favorite.

Wow – tasty!  Have you ever battled with any of your characters over their personality traits?  If so, who won – you or the character?

Yes. Galen, who is in the book that will be out the 18th. I loved him but he was such a hard character to write–a bit of a anti-hero actually. I did have to reign him in, to his dismay.  Sorry, Galen!

I bet your readers won’t be sorry, LOL!  Have you ever made big changes in your story because someone – your crit partner, a friend, or beta reader – really didn’t like it?  Are you glad you did (or didn’t)?

Yes, because an editor didn’t. Again, it was Galen and Dana’s story, Unplanned due for release this month.

I think an editor would definitely get my attention as well!  As a suspense writer, how do you keep track of the clues and plot twists?

I’m really not sure how I do it since I’m a panster writer, but I seem to always make it work somehow.

Which of your novels most reflects who you are as a writer?  Why?

I’d have to say it’s Melanie Sharp from Fire & Ice, since she has a lot of my same insecurities and she’s vegetarian as well.

What are you currently working on?  

I’m working on a paranormal romantic suspense that I just retitled Dark Moon Magic and I’m loving every minute of it.

And of course Jerri’s new book, UNPLANNED, hits the shelves on April 18th.  Here’s the blurb (and since the book isn’t yet available, do we get to call this foreplay?)

Galen Hall wakes in a Ecuadorian jail with a murderous headache, a murder charge, and a memory gap where his alibi should be. How does the jungle guide prove his innocence? His best friend comes to help, only to bring with him the woman whose unplanned love sent him fleeing the Amazon to begin with.

One night of steamy jungle passion has botanist Dana Rutherford carrying a stranger’s baby. While coming to terms with raising a child on her own, she learns of the father’s captivity. In a town where corruption reigns, she unknowingly initiates a jailbreak, and finds herself again face-to-face with the hunky, green-eyed devil who has changed her life forever.

Yowza.  Did she just say green-eyed devil?  *Fans self.*  Wow. I think I need to get myself together.  You, dear readers, can keep up with Jerri by chasing the following links.  It’s a great way to ensure you’re first in line to grab a copy of UNPLANNED!  Thanks so much for joining us, Jerri, and congratulations on your new release!  

Jerri Drennen author links:  WEBSITE | AMAZON AUTHOR PAGE

Available titles:  FIRE & ICE, INVENTING THE ABBOTS | MAUVELOUS | CADDYDID | GRACE UNDER FIRE | UNTOUCHED | UNPLANNED (coming soon)