Tags

, ,

Week two of the Noble Romance Authors Blog Tour kicks off with J.S. Wayne, who is in the enviable (hey, who snickered?) position of hanging out with eight lovely ladies for the duration of the tour.  Wanna know why we all love him so much?  Check out this interview!

Welcome, J.S.!  I do believe you are my first testosterone-laden guest EVER.  (Hey, wait!  Where are you going?  Get back in that chair!)  Okay – AHEM – what was the craziest story idea you’ve ever considered?  Did you end up writing a version of the story?

My first “real” novel idea came to me when I was fourteen.  It was thoroughly god-awful, but from two fourteen-year-old boys, it wasn’t bad as a first attempt.

You know, you have my mind going in all sorts of directions and none of them are printable.  I can only imagine what that was like, LOL.  Looking back to the beginning of your writing career, what was the plot of the first story you wrote?  Whatever happened to the manuscript?

The first “grown-up” novel I wrote was initially entitled Nightfires.  Over time, the plot and characters evolved until my first novel, Shadowphoenix: Requiem, was completed 15 years later.  The plot started off with a man who’d lost his wife and was now seeking revenge.  It ended up as an urban fantasy/erotic horror story about a vampire magician going to war with a cult of devil worshippers and the ruling vampire council.

Wow, that’s intense!  How do you feel about your first published book?  Do you feel you’ve improved since it hit the shelves?

I’m very proud that I managed to complete Requiem.  It proved to me that I really could start a project of that magnitude and see it through.   But, perhaps inevitably, I’ve improved visibly since then in my writing style and ability.

That first milestone is a big one, indeed.  Thinking back over all the sexy scenes you’ve created between characters, which one would you most like to experience for yourself?  Why?

This is a tough one.  I don’t write what I can’t imagine or haven’t experienced, and I prefer to be able to say both.  That being said, I think that one of my favorites ever is the first love scene between Markus Latimore and Michelle Delacroix in Requiem.  It was tender, passionate, and probably one of the first scenes I ever wrote that I could genuinely say was truly erotic.

Way to sell us on the backlist.  *Grin.*  Which of your releases most reflects who you are as a writer?  What gives it that distinction?

Honestly, there isn’t one.  All of my stories, poems, and novels showcase different sides and facets of my nature and my abilities.  Who knows what the next piece I turn out will reveal?

That’s a great point, and a heckuva way to keep us all attuned to see what you’ll write next. ;c)  Which of your characters reigns as your favorite?  Why, and where do readers find this character?

As with the previous question, I really don’t have one.  Just about all of my characters are aspects of me, and they all have things that I love, and hate, about them.  But if I have to pick one, I would have to say Markus Latimore, the vampire magician and maverick.  He can be found in the Shadowphoenix Trilogy, of which I’m preparing to start the second novel as of press time.

If you could change one thing about your writing career and accomplishments, what would it be?

I would have taken it much more seriously years earlier.  I should have been here ten years ago, but I guess I wasn’t ready or hungry enough at that time.  There’s no substitute for experience.

Let’s take a look at “Angels Would Fall.”  How did the idea come about?  How long did it take you to write the story after the plot first came to you?

“Angels Would Fall” started as a lark, to be honest.  I had an idea for an online contest that I had entered once before and won; but I wanted to do something that was as far away from my usual supernatural fare as possible, while still bearing my own stamp.  I went out to make a caffeine run, and on the way home, the Melissa Etheridge song of the same title came on.  When I got back, I sat down and listened to the song, start to finish, three times.  By the time I was done, I had the basis of a story.  It took me about two hours to write; the editing and formatting took longer than the actual writing did!

Man!  Why can’t my writing go like that?  Did you face any specific roadblocks as you wrote it, or did the words come easily?

The words came very easily.  My single biggest problem was getting to the final sex scene, because I was trying not to use the more, er, vulgar words for certain anatomical bits, so coming up with euphemisms that weren’t horrendously overdone was a real challenge.

I totally feel you on that.  (Wow, is that a poor choice of words for a mention of sex or what?) What made you decide to submit this story to Noble?

“Angels Would Fall” split first prize in the contest I entered, and after my wife learned about it, she said I should consider publication.  I thought she was out of her mind; who would want to read a story about an angel of death falling in love with one of his victims?  After I did a little research, I found Noble and sent it off, admittedly not holding out a snowball’s chance in Hell that it would actually go.  Much to my delight, I was wrong…and have rarely been so pleased to BE wrong!

The plot is brilliant – what a great storyline!  What is your favorite part about “Angels Would Fall?”

I think the fact that both the main characters are strong in their own right, coupled with the fact that it’s (to my knowledge) unusual subject manner in this realm, is the part I like the best about “Angels.”

What do readers most often comment about in “Angels Would Fall?”

The most repeated comment I get on this one is that they love the description and interplay between Moradiel and Ariel.  They especially seem to enjoy the scene where Moradiel is watching Ariel as she gets ready for her bath, unbeknownst to her.  As one beta reader said, “You make peeping seem almost safe.”

Well, on that  note, who doesn’t wanna keep up with J.S.?  And I bet he’ll have some stories to tell after hanging out with us girls for the rest of the month!  Readers, check out the links below to stay in touch.

AUTHOR J.S. WAYNE: WEBSITE | BLOG | FACEBOOK | TWITTER

Don’t forget to leave a comment for a chance to win prizes and enter for the grand prize drawing of $100 for EDEN FANTASYS!  Then – and ONLY then (buaahaha!) – click the blog tour button to head to your next destination, which just happens to be H.C. Brown’s visit with Cherie De Sues.