Tags

, ,

Now available from Noble Romance! Click image for excerpt and purchase information.

This week the All Things Romantic Suspense Blog Tour visits with my fellow Noble Romance author Ursula Grey.  She’s here’s to talk about a smokin’ hot historical and has some pretty sage advice for those of us eying her writerly accomplishments, all impressed-like.  (And, okay, with a wee bit of envy). Grab a chair and make her feel welcome, wouldya?

Your fourth release just hit the shelves.  How does the excitement of the process – from the contract to release day – change from the first to the fourth?

It doesn’t. Each book is a new adventure from start to finish. The excitement level is the same. It’s always rewarding to nurture your baby from conception to birth, and then watch with anticipation and hope that he or she will do well in the world! It’s a high of sorts ~ and part of the impetus that moves me forward and onto the next work in progress.

Oh, that is so good to hear!  I’d be glad for some of my nervousness to wear off, but I do LOVE the excitement!  Which genre are you drawn to as a reader?  Do you prefer to read in the same genre as your WIP or do you mix it up?

I’m drawn to reading different genres. I prefer historical fiction with strong female characters that overcome obstacles and succeed in achieving their goals. Also, I’ve always loved books that take place in other countries and cultures. With that being said, I’ll read most any genre if the subject matter attracts me or if it’s an award winning title. I’m all over the place as far as what I tend to read while crafting my WIP. Sometimes it’s nonfiction for research purposes or totally different from the genre I’m writing.

Some of the nonfiction research can become quite fascinating!  I refuse to admit how many hours I’ve read well past what I needed to know just out of curiosity, LOL.  And reading out of genre is a great way to refresh your mind.  (Clearly something is working for you … I’ve read your excerpt and it’s fantastic!)  Any additional advice for those who are still unpublished?

Continue writing and submitting, perfect your craft. One day you’ll get the call or email that will reward all your hard work. It is an accomplishment in itself to complete a novel, remember that. Rejection is hard to take, but you must never give up.

Excellent advice, and so true.  How do you create your plots and characters? Do you use any formula?

I have several books on the craft of writing in my library, and I’ve read every single one of them. Ultimately, I can’t change the way I’m wired ~ I’m just not a plotter. I’ve tried ~ only because I thought that having an outline would save me if I got stuck. It doesn’t work that way for me. I’ll see my characters engaged in a scene and the plot follows when I let the characters have their say. No formulas either. Writing is hard work!

… which makes it all the more rewarding (or so I tell myself when I’m ready to send my manuscript to the big recycle bin in the sky, LOL.)  Have you ever made big changes in your story because someone – your crit partner, a friend, or beta reader – really didn’t like it?  Are you glad you did (or didn’t)?

No. I like to remain true to my story, and the fact that it is mine. If there are problems with the work I know that all the decisions made were my own.

Have you experienced writer’s block? And if so, what did you do to overcome it?

I guess some writers have been blessed with never experiencing the bane of our profession! I’m envious of such prolific creatures;-) and wish I could say I’ve never experienced writer’s block, but I have. What usually works for me is to sleep on it, put it aside for a couple of days, or work on something else. Amazingly, the solution eventually comes to me and I can return to where I left off. I wish it didn’t happen though!

Things certainly came together well for your new erotic novella, ADELAIDE’S ADVENTURE.  Let’s take a look, shall we?

ADELAIDE’S ADVENTURE – BLURB

Adelaide anticipates an uneventful journey—however, the man sharing her stagecoach has other ideas. Will Adelaide acquiesce to the unusual demands placed upon her by the mysterious stranger? She quickly comes to the realization that Mr. Winters wants not only to dominate her time—but her body, as well. Will she have the courage to submit?

ADELAIDE’S ADVENTURE – BUY LINK

Want more Ursula Grey?  Check out her blog or hang out a while on Twitter.

Thanks so much for joining us today, Ursula!  I have a feeling ADELAIDE’S ADVENTURE may show up here again one of these days in the “Spotlight” – *nudge, nudge.*  Readers, go check out that excerpt.  It’s awesome!