Tags

It’s Monday, and that means it’s time for another Spotlight!  Today Ade S. is joining me to share her perspective as a reader – one who is working on her own goal of writing a book, I might add.  I don’t know about you, but I LOVE getting reader feedback, so let’s see what she thinks!

My dream is to write a page turner, so I’m dying to know this.  What kind of story keeps you up all night because you can’t bear to put it down?

I really like historical novels, and I tend towards suspense novels.  I like big, thick books that have a lot of in depth characters and a very long story line, since I tend to come out of a book feeling like I know a character and miss them when they’re gone.

Gosh, I’d love to have my name on one of those one day!  Of course, those big books lose some of their heft in e-ditions.  Some readers have embraced e-books, while others like the feel of the printed pages in their hands.  How do you feel about e-books?

I admit, I’m not one for e-books.  I love the feel of a book, the smell of its old musty pages.  I want to turn the page down, or stick a bookmark in and know that it will be there when I come back.  Plus, I am a serious reader, so I tend to take a book along with me just about everywhere, and there is something cold about lying in bed reading a laptop verses lying in bed reading a printed book.

I can vouch for the bright laptop killing my eyes at night!  I was a bit of an old-fashioned girl myself until Noble published me, I must admit.  Since I am a newbie author myself, I’d love to know what turns you on to a new author.  What most influences your decision to make that first purchase?

It’s a lot of factors, but usually a Title catches my eye first, and then the cover makes me want more, so I read the blurb, and I’m hooked or I put it back.  The vast majority of my book picking time is a 15 minute DASH through the local library, and I have to pick quickly.  Now, once I get into an author, I read everything they have until I’ve sucked it all in if they’re good.  They have to be funny in a dry way, witty, be able to *write* pictures into my head, and have very strong characters.

Oooh, I love that dry humor – especially when it borders on sarcasm.  If a book makes me laugh out loud, I am SOLD, but it’s the cover that normally catches my attention first.  For you, how important is a good cover?  Have you ever made a purchase solely because of an awesome cover?  Have you ever decided NOT to buy a book because the cover didn’t rock your world?

A good cover IS important.  I try not to let it be the only way I decide to read or not to read, though.

That’s good to know, especially since it seems many authors have little control over their book covers.  (Fortunately for me, Noble rocks them!  *Giggle*)  Okay, so the cover and blurb grab  you – do you leave online reviews for the books you read?  Why or why not?

Sometimes – mostly it’s a matter of time.  I like to share what I read though, and I like to give my opinions so if I find some time, I do!

Do you regularly visit any book review sites?  If so, which ones?  How likely are you to purchase a book based on a review?

Nope!

Ah!  More good news for those of us worried about the impact of a bad review … or no reviews at all!  How do you keep up with your favorite authors?

You’re the only author I follow regularly.  Sometimes I will poke around on an author’s website but mostly I just pick and choose by the library or the bookstore.

*Blush!*  Wow, that’s flattering!  Thanks, girl.  Any upcoming releases you’re excited about?

Ah … here’s where I wish I could say, my own!  But, soon, hopefully.  It’s about time for Catherine Coulter’s new one, and I’m ready to see what else she has – I read the FBI series she puts out once each year like a crack addict given the good stuff for free.

Well, on that note, it sounds like something I’ll have to check out for sure!  LOL.  Thanks so much for joining me today, Ade.  I know other authors definitely appreciate you showing us some love – especially on Valentine’s Day!  (Yep, I said it, lol.)

Ade has mad talent, you guys, and I’m betting we’ll see her name on a book sooner rather than later.  It’s been an honor to have you, my friend.  I can’t wait to read your debut novel!