Tags

, ,

Author S.R. Claridge

I’ve got great news times three today, folks, because not only is it FRIDAY (!!) but stellar suspense author S.R. Claridge is joining us … AND she brought a freebie!  Leave a comment for a chance to win, but first, I’d like to extend a warm welcome and thank you all for being here.  Ms. Claridge has an awesome line of publishing credits – she’s written everything from novels to greeting cards.  I, for one, find her fascinating already!

You have an impressive list of publishing credits dating back over a decade, so you’re no stranger to seeing your name in print.  Still, the news of a contract for your novel NO EASY WAY must have met with quite a bit of emotion.  What do you most remember about that moment?

Shock.  Excitement.  Then a bit of trepidation… wanting to make sure I made the right short-term and long-term decision for my future.  Then more excitement!!  J

Gosh, I hope the feeling of excitement never wears off.  Your words are encouraging!  How have you changed as a writer from the days of writing NO EASY WAY to your new release TETTERBAUM’S TRUTH?

I think I am more at ease now.  The stress that stems from that fear of “will anyone like my work” is gone and I am having more fun writing.  The biggest challenge is in finding a balance between the time I get to write and the time I spend on marketing and promotion.

NOW AVAILABLE! CLICK TO PURCHASE.

I’m having the same challenge with finding balance (heck, it’s practically my last name and I still can’t pull it off, LOL.)  It’s comforting, too, to know the stress of what others think will go away.  I’m going to cling to that!  ;c)  And while we’re talking “cling” (LOL), looking back over all of the intimate moments you’ve created between characters, which scene would you most like to experience for yourself?  What makes it so alluring?

In No Easy Way, Kate and Stephen share some intimate moments and what I like about their interaction is the sexual tension between them.  There’s this unspoken wanting that shouldn’t be there, and yet, it can’t be denied.

Oh, YUM.  Sexual tension gets me every time!  Have you ever battled with any of your characters over their personality traits?  If so, who won – you or the character?

The character always wins.  Even if there is something I try to remove, inevitably it pops back in as the character grows stronger.

Great point.  The strong character ought to win for sure!  Have you ever made big changes in your story because someone – your crit partner, a friend, or beta reader – really didn’t like it?  Are you glad you did (or didn’t)?

Yes.  After receiving 12 critiques of No Easy way, I did a major re-write.  I was pleased with the new manuscript,  which inevitably resulted in a publishing contract.

Hard not to love something resulting in a contract!  As a suspense writer, how do you keep track of the clues and plot twists?

I take notes as I write the story, jotting down relevant details to which I know I will refer back.

NOW AVAILABLE! CLICK TO PURCHASE.

Which of your novels most reflects who you are as a writer?  Why?

They both do, really.  My novels are an “easy read.”  I don’t use big, fancy words and I don’t muddle the story with too much detail.  I try and put the detail in the characterization and let the reader imagine the rest.

Advice of gold, there.  What are you currently working on?

I am currently writing books two and three in the Just Call Me Angel mystery series.  TETTERBAUM’S TRUTH is book one in this series and is now available in ebook and out in print next month.

Congratulations on that new release!  And guess what?  Ms. Claridge is about to rock one reader’s world!  Leave a comment for a chance to win a FREE copy of one of her books.  The randomly chosen winner will have their pick of NO EASY WAY or TETTERBAUM’S TRUTH in either a print or e-copy.  For the rest of you, there’s a whole slew of places to find S.R. Claridge – check ’em out!

Thanks again for joining us, Ms. Claridge, and best of luck with your new series!  Readers, don’t forget to leave a comment for a chance to win!