Tags

, ,

AVAILABLE NOW FROM NOBLE ROMANCE! Click image for information or to purchase.

If you’re sitting here in the U.S. shivering your bahonkus off, you’re gonna love this.  I’m about to whisk you away to the great continent of Australia to hang with historical romance author Tamara Gill.  Pack your favorite bikini – it’s HOT down under, ya’ll!

Welcome, Tamara!  I’m going to jump right in and ask the question I’m dying to know (’cause I can’t do it!)  What first drew you to pen romance from another era?

Being pregnant started me on the road to romance, namely a Stephanie Laurens novel. I read for a couple of years and it wasn’t until my second pregnancy that a story started to form and play out in my mind. I decided watching TV one night to write a book and haven’t stopped since. As for the era, I fell in love with the Regency world Stephanie Laurens created, the rest as they say, is history.

AK!  And pregnancy so often ENDS the romance!  *Giggle.*  I’m SO going to have to check out Stephanie Laurens.  Historical romance requires incredible amounts of knowledge in every facet of your character’s lives and minds.  How do you handle – and organize – such thorough research?

I have lots of books in my library on the Regency time period and it’s forever growing. It ranges from fashion in the time, manners of young ladies, what they ate, how women were supposed to act in public, the list is endless.  I’m also a member of RWA’s The Beau Monde, who have brilliant writers and researchers as members, more than willing to help us ‘newbie’s’ out when we get stuck. I also think it comes down to the fact I love this era, the lifestyle and manners associated with it, so I find the research fun and rewarding. Although, I’ll often have to remind myself to step away and get back to the book.

I imagine you’ve GOTTA love it, and that comes through on your pages.  And while we’re in your pages, let’s look back over all of the intimate moments you’ve created between characters. Which scene would you most like to experience for yourself?  What makes it so alluring?

There’s a masquerade ball scene in A Captain’s Order – A Duke’s Command and I suppose I’d like to live that one out of all of them. I’d love to wear a mask, empire style gown and domino and watch the London ton waltz about a ballroom floor, be apart of the early 19th century for just one night.

That does sound SO romantic!  Have you ever battled with any of your characters over their personality traits?  If so, who won – you or the character?

I have and I won…sort of, but this is with a piece of work that hasn’t been published. Although, I must admit, making my hero do something ended up with me writing myself into a corner with nowhere to go. Thus, really he won, because I had to go back and change it all. But don’t tell him that, William, my medieval baron already has a big enough head.😉

AVAILABLE NOW FROM NOBLE ROMANCE! Click image for information or to purchase.

LOL!  William aside, have you ever made big changes in your story because someone – your crit partner, a friend, or beta reader – really didn’t like it?  Are you glad you did (or didn’t)?

I did and I regret it dearly. I was a part of critique group that after the first few crits, I knew wasn’t right for me and I ended up editing my voice and life out of the manuscript. Thus, I’ve left the group, started my own critique group and haven’t looked back. I’m also putting my voice back into that particular story and it’s all the better for it. Beside my critique group, I have a critique partner who I cannot speak highly enough of. Critique partners can work, just beware, you’ll know if it’s right.

I agree, girl. If a writer doesn’t click with a CP or group, it really can take the life right out of the words.  You’ve managed to breath life into some wonderful works, though.  Which of your novels most reflects who you are as a writer?  Why?

I think both To Sin with Scandal and A Captain’s Order – A Duke’s Command does. I feel like I’ve found my voice with these two stories, this is how I write, and you’ll either like it or you won’t. I love the Regency era and I hope people who read both my stories will know it’s written by the same author.

Confidence in your own voice makes for an excellent foundation for an author!  What are you currently working on?

I’m working on an ugly duckling turned swan premise Regency erotic romance for Noble Romance Publishing at the moment. I’m also re-working my Regency single title series to be ready for agent submission later in the year. I intend to keep writing novellas while I write my single titles. I enjoy writing this way; it keeps my mind active and the words flowing. Always a good thing for a writer I think.

You said it!  Thanks so much for visiting, Tamara.  Readers, Ms. Gill has some awesomeness in store for you.  One random commenter will receive a PDF copy of A CAPTAIN’S ORDER – A DUKE’S COMMAND.  The rest of you will have to stalk her on TWITTER, visit her WEBSITE or BLOG, or just go for it – click a book cover and BUY NOW!  Good luck, everyone, and thanks for being here!  **CONTEST CLOSED** – Congrats to our winner, Jen B.!