Tags

, ,

Available now - click to purchase.

Suspense author Cassie Exline is joining us today from one of the (many, many – brrr) cold, snowy parts of the US of A.  She’s got a cool mystery series on the shelves, with two volumes out now and two more coming soon.  Be sure to visit her website for all the details, but don’t go yet!  First, let’s show her some good old southern hospitality with a welcome warm enough to melt some of that snow.

Welcome!  Your website lists quite a few works in progress.  Are you tackling them in any sort of order, or does your mood – or perhaps your mood – determine what you write?

Submission calls and mood dictates what I write. Right now I’m steadily working on Butterfly Dreams.

You’ve wanted to write for as long as you can remember, but I imagine the call of erotica probably came along sometime after childhood.  ;c)  When did you discover your wild side?  Did you immediately embrace it or was there some initial resistance?

Excellent question. While doing research I stumbled across a site that featured stories and requested the reader to let the author know if they enjoyed the story. I met an author who directed me to Desdmona’s Fishtank, which is a critique workshop/group for writers of erotica. My first step on the wild side. I was surprised that I had a flare for sexy tales, but needed work in other areas. I’ve been a member since 2004.  It was difficult at first to use certain words. I kept waiting for a hand come out and knock me off my chair. But I learned so much about overall writing techniques that the naughty words didn’t bother me. My first stories were published at Ruthie’s Club.

Oh, gosh, I had to laugh about getting knocked off your chair!  I can’t say I’ve ever heard it described quite like that before, but you sure summed it up well, LOL.   As for those moments, looking back over all of the intimate moments you’ve created between characters, which scene would you most like to experience for yourself?  What makes it so alluring?

The man having the woman pressed firmly against the wall. It’s very sexy scene to me.

Available now - click to purchase.

Oh, yum – that’s a favorite of mine as well.  Have you ever battled with any of your characters over their personality traits?  If so,who won – you or the character?

No, my characters run the show.  As you see, my characters won the battle.

Have you ever made big changes in your story because someone – your crit partner, a friend, or beta reader – really didn’t like it?  Are you glad you did (or didn’t)?

My wonderful crit partner suggested a really big change in a Halloween story. It was so far from what I write, I refused. I was very glad I stuck to my guns.  Small changes, yes, I have made. Most times I’m glad and sometimes I switch back.

As a suspense writer, how do you keep track of the clues and plot twists?

A notebook and in my head. I know the basics, but there comes the time when I must write the clues in a notebook.  When I read over the MS, I make notes to keep track of the loose ends or areas that need smoothed.

Coming Soon!

Coming Soon!

What are you currently working on?

Butterfly Dreams which is currently at 23,000 words.

Black Rose Warning, which is a paranormal romantic/suspense story.

Opal’s Disappearance is the third book in the Holmes series. Dragon’s Pearl is the fourth book.  Both under contract and ready for edits. I’m working on the fifth called Curse of Jade’s Bluff.

Wow, you are one busy lady!  I wish you much success with it all.  Readers, if you want more Cassie Exline, you may visit her website or stalk her blog.  Thanks so much for visiting with us today!